We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are You Kidding Me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton's Grill Room

Hamilton's Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamilton's Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Union Street
Description: Garden seating inside and out. Catering on and off site: Weddings, Cocktail Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal / Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Graduations, Fundraisers, Birthdays, Christening / Confirmations, Bar / Bat Mitzvahs, Holiday Celebrations, Business Events, Corporate Meetings, Team Building -Cooking Classes. Established in 1986. Canal side, nestled in the European charm of a courtyard near the Delaware River and surrounded by quaint antique shops and art galleries, it is the remarkable creation and signature of award winning Broadway set designer and restaurateur Jim Hamilton, & reflects his one-of-a-kind signature style. Warm, soulful and sophisticated, the Grill Room remains one of the most romantic & unique places to dine in the Northeast. As owner of the popular Hamilton's Grill Room in Lambertville-NJ, Jim Hamilton is well-known in the restaurant and arts community, and his years as a theater set designer gained him a reputation on Broadway and beyond.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Are You Kidding Me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant many times both with my husband and friends. This night was a special occasion,a 60th birthday celebration. A friend made the reservation and informed the restaurant of the occasion. It was a very hot steamy night and the restaurant was busy. The air conditioning was barely working in the room that we were seated. The hostess moved us to another room in the back. Still the room was very warm and at times very uncomfortable. We had a party of seven .After placing our orders ,we opened gifts . We were soon advised that our party "must be mindful of the other guest in the close quarters of the room". I would think that would be the restaurants problem, not ours! We had to tell the guest of honor and the fellow diners that the laughing and talking that is usually found at a very special celebration had to be contained. Well may a say that this request not only was inappropriate, considering that the restaurant knew of the birthday celebration, but also knew that we were a large party. Really, what would you want your patrons to do? Not enjoy a celebration? Isn't this a service profession and an established restaurant that should know how to handle larger parties? Quickly the atmosphere changed and we felt we had to accommodate the restaurant rather then the other way around. Food was adequate. Service mediocre.Pricing still high considering the apps of fig and prosciutto , 3 slices of fig, NJ tomato app with the same skimpy presentation. I heard of this type of treatment of larger parties here, but my friend who made the reservation thought we give it another try. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    83
    66
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out of this world delicious!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I had an excellent dinner. Everything about this place was awesome! I highly recommend starting off with cocktails at the boathouse next door (so romantic!!!). The grill is byob so be sure to bring a bottle of your favorite wine too. We ordered the fig and proscuitto app and a butter salad. They were soooo good. The waitress was excellent and offered amazing suggestions. Fresh warmed bread came with rosemary olive oil and the was great! For our entree we shared the porterhouse steak for two. This came with mashed potatoes and broccoli rabe. It was to die for. We could have had the mashed potatoes for dessert they were so good. The steak was scrumptious! 5 stars all the way. We usually don't order dessert, but we could hardly wait to try something here. The server recommended the flourless chocolate torte and it was excellent. Outstanding!!!!!! We could not have been happier!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hamilton Grille, Lambertville,NJ......Charm and Substance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The twin towns of New Hope ,Pa and Lambertville, NJ not far from the historic Washington Crossing,makes for the ideal combination of history in a bucolic setting.While restaurants abound, there are few with the ability to maintain a quality of consistent excellence. One such is the BYOB Hamilton Grille. This eatery serves up a seasonal changing menu of a variety of dishes including fish ,meats and fowl in a setting that includes an outdoor marquee, and various quirky interior rooms that will satisfy differing tastes from formal to informal.....the high quality of the dishes, a variety of specials,and delectable desserts makes for a satisfying culinary experience......a nearby historic canal apparently stocked with trout (as a handbill nailed to a trunk proclaimed), a nature trail and the harmonious outdoors is a bonus.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 198MJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe we got lucky?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have to say that I probably wouldn't have gone here if I had read the below reviews first, but I'm glad I did. The outdoor courtyard was odd but charming, and the grilled oyster appetizer was fabulous. I got grilled salmon for my entree, and the dill sauce was lovely and the asparagus were perfectly cooked. My husband had the citrus and crab salad, and he loved it. Our server seemed a little snotty at first but loosened up after a bit, and he was definitely on top of things, always there when we needed him. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChubbyPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently had a wonderful meal at Hamilton's Grill Room. We were able to sit outside and enjoyed the lovely courtyard and twinkling lights. The shrimp appetizer in the anchovy butter was delicious, the only thing that would have made it better would have been shelled shrimp. My lamb was perfectly prepared as was my boyfriends steak. We will most definitley return when we are back in New Hope!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton's Grill Room also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Hamilton's Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing