We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France or New Jersey?”
Review of Manon

Manon
Reserve with OpenTable
Manon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“France or New Jersey?”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's hard to say. Manon has a doorway that opens to Provence. The small, crowded dining room is dimly lit and appointed in eclectic fashion. The back booth is covered in French postcards and labels of French products. The wall is covered with cicadas of different shapes, sizes, and materials. The food is very good and authentic. Not great, but very good. The mussels appetizer is overflowing with shellfish, and they are large, plump, and meaty. Sunchoke and Kale soup was a little bland, and the Bouilabase was satisfactory. My wife's salad was tasty and the Scallops Provencal was excellent. A bottle of Unionville Vineyards Pheasant Hill Chardonnay elevated the experience to Burgundy and beyond. The service was friendly, but I felt their appearance could use a refurbishment. Worth a visit in a town that has much to offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Joyeux Anniversaire! Perfect Restaurant to Celebrate a Special Occasion or Just to Enjoy A Great Meal...”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I just absolutely love this restaurant! A touch of France in quaint Lambertville...cozy restaurant with consistently excellent food and service..an overall lovely place for dinner..my husband surprised me with a small birthday dinner party and the Christmas tree and decor added to the festive ambience...our one guest said the scallop special was the best scallops he has probably ever had..the bouillabaisse is delicious and special thanks to Chris who was just perfect in attitude, service and organizing a custom birthday cake...FYI byob cash or check only

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devildoggiemama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manon Restaurant, Lambertville”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is great, the atmosphere even better plus the chef also makes his own pottery which can be purchased! The food is southern French/Cuisine Provencale. THe chef cooks what is in season and fresh. The specials are always good. Not pricey and worth the visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank augustnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food but not a great experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a small party of 6 people. Our meals were wonderful and well presented. Unfortunately, the overall experience was just average.
The dining area is very small and overcrowded. We were crowded around a table and had to move our chairs for the table next of us to be served. For most of the evening we were ignored by the staff. When they needed the table for the next sitting, we were rushed and not offered coffee after dinner.
This is a BYOB with is fine with us. We were lucky my wife asked about credit cards because they only take cash. In summary, the food was very good, but Lambertville has many places with the same quality meals and a more pleasant environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j2bfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Our last few visits, which were a few years ago were disappointing so we stayed away. We decided to give it another try and were happily surprised!
The first impression was not promising; the dining room lacks a reception area of any type and you stumble onto the poor folks stuck at the first table.
Our table was fine, the service was efficient if not particularly warm. But the food was great. My lamb arrived perfectly cooked and sauced, ditto my husbands duck. The pâté and mushroom appetizers were both really good. Our dining companions had the steak and a scallop special and were also pleased. Don't forget to bring your own wine and cash.... They don't take credit cards. Four of us ate really well, including 2 deserts for $196 before gratuity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosetwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manon also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Manon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing