We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Floret Restaurant

D'Floret Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
D'Floret Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This restaurant is outstanding. You might not guess it when you arrive--there is nothing pretentious about it, and it is a little off the beaten path in Lambertville. But Chef Dennis Foy cannot be surpassed when it comes to searching out the best ingredients and then making something truly wonderful out of them. Something as basic as a cassoulet becomes a heavenly experience. The same for a simple pureed vegetable soup. This place belongs on your must-visit list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    28
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We ate there on a rainy Thursday night and had a wonderful meal, arguably one of the best in the New Hope/Lamberville area. The food is fresh and well prepared, the service is paced and professional, the prices (given the quality of the food) are reasonable, and it is a BYOB. The gnocchi and pasta bolognaise were outstanding. The chef made a terrific entree for my vegetarian wife that was not on the menu. This is a small, intimate restaurant where you should not expect fast service or a quiet time. The tables are close and the noise level may be high, but the overall experience make it very worthwhile.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carversvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the New Hope/Lambertville Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I are locals and have eaten at d’floret many times. It is a place to which we enjoy bringing family and friends. Owner/Chef Dennis Foy prepares relatively simple, straight-forward American cuisine at his small bistro-like BYO restaurant. The dishes emerging from the kitchen are generally well-executed and delicious, although there are occasional inconsistencies in their preparation. Particularly good on the current menu are the gnocchi appetizer, the wild Alaskan salmon, the diver scallops with parsnip puree, and the slow roasted Amish chicken for two. The dining room itself is simple, bright, and pleasant. Because the space is small and includes an open kitchen, however, we have left with our clothes smelling of cooking odors on occasion. Chef Foy’s partner and wife, Estella, is a gracious hostess. The waitstaff has generally provided good service. Since we make a habit of avoiding local restaurants during weekends, I cannot comment on noise levels or the quality of the service when the restaurant might be crowded. Arguably the best restaurant in New Hope or Lambertville at present, d’floret should be at the top of your list when selecting an area restaurant at which to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We ate there a few weeks ago, and I have to say I was really surprised by Janet P's comments. So, being local, I stopped by to ask. It turns out that, as so often happens, there was more to the story. I think her comments can be discounted.

We enjoyed our meals very much - thought they were first-rate. The service was pleasant and attentive. And the hosts are welcoming and charming. We highly recommend D'Floret/

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snilesdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Let me start with the good... The food was fine... not outstanding, but fine. Now for the bad. We arrived late (10 minutes) but called ahead and was told that it would be fine. When we arrived we were told that we had to order right away because we were late. OK, we understood that and ordered right away. We got our salad and main course. Our main course plates were not cleared for 20 mins because the restaurant was busy. We were then informed that we could not be offered dessert or coffee because the table was booked. We were shocked at how we were treated. Expect to be rushed out ad treated like you are doing them a favor by eating at their restaurant!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Floret Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D'Floret Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing