We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food can be outstanding, but what's with the promised gourmet pizza??” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brian's

Brian's
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Food can be outstanding, but what's with the promised gourmet pizza??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Of our three recent visits, twice Brian's imposing pizza oven was turned off - despite the upscale eatery's featuring a gourmet pizza section on its dinner menu. Not a big deal, but if management's intent is simply to "up sell" all of its customers to more expensive apps and entrees during crowded times, at least be forthcoming about it! Otherwise we found the fare at Brian's to be generally well above average, some even outstanding, with fresh ingredients, and courses being both well-prepared and professionally served.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Choices lmited but what we had was excellentMushroom soup superb
Reservation system leaves a lot to be desired

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckscountyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Best meal out in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Seriously this was the best meal I have had At a fine dining restaurant in quite a long time. Usually when my husband and I go to restaurants of this caliber in new hope or lambertville the appetizers are usually very good but then the entrees dissappoint. That happens all the time.

In this case the atmosphere , nice food, nice music ,excellent server ,and delicious food were just making this an amazing experience. We each ordered 1 appetizer and 1 entree but we wanted to share all 4 items. The server offered that they could split them for us back in the kitchen and serve it to us in 4 courses. It was so lovely! Basically like our own little tasting menu.

I will come to this restaurant again and order the exact same way. I love when the kitchen will split it for us.

We ordered the salad with goat cheese and walnuts, the scallop and risotto appetizer, the goat cheese and pork ravioli, and the loup der mer fish in a saffron broth. Seriously they were all so good I was practically liking my plate. Hope the restaurant can maintain this caliber of food and be successful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank NewYorkBebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
702 reviews
500 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Lambertville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nicely decorated storefront with nice atmoshpere on Kline's Court, just off the main street two blocks from the bridge to PA. Delicious food and friendly and efficient service. Plus, it is a BYOW, so how good is that? We started with appetizers of mushroom soup with truffle oil and headcheese with mustard and cornichons, both of which were excellent. Then pappardelle bolognese and an excellent roast chicken with potatoes and veggies which I likened to a really tasty open chicken pot pie. Wonderful Bananas Foster dessert. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visited Brian's for the first time last night to celebrate a special birthday with a group of our friends. Everything from the cozy atmosphere to the service was wonderful - a special mention to our server Patricia. She was the best!!!

Oh, but the food! The food was fantastic! My appetizer (scallops ceviche) and main course (veal) were swoon worthy and the dessert was the icing on the cake. By far one of the best meals I've had outside of New Orleans. Everyone in our party of 12 cleaned their plates!

Hey, Brian!! We will definitely be back...and soon. Yum!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bizzeemamanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brian's also viewed

 

Been to Brian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing