We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Peruvian west of Peru!”

El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The love of family, friends and great food is a tradition for the Egoavils.Having relocated to the United States from Peru in 1992, they sought the opportunities their new home offered. El Tule was previously the home of another restaurant offering Mexican fare. The Egoavil Family has infused the eatery with a vibe all its own. El-Tule’s Mexican-Latin fusion includes traditional Mexican offerings as well as the addition of Peruvian menu items. Peruvian food has been gaining momentum among foodies across the nation, and prior to El Tule was extremely hard to find in the Delaware Valley. El Tule offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Guests may bring their own wine or alcohol of choice. Our patio is dog friendly. *Taco Tuesdays* $3 Tacos Mix & Match ... Pollo, carne asada, al pastor, chorizo, sudadero, vegetable ... Add $1 for shrimp and red snapper tacos - minimum of 2 for offer. ... *Local Wednesday* Ask for our Prix fixe three course $25
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We come here every Sunday and the food is consistently tasty, fresh and well presented. You must try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kfrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduarpsu, Owner at El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear patron:

We appreciate your comments, thank you for your time. We hope see you soon again!

Cordially,

Jack Egoavil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 532 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food, the waitstaff, the atmosphere -- all excellent for this store-front type restaurant. Been there 3 times for lunch and no complaints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduarpsu, Owner at El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear patron:

We appreciate your comments, thank you for your time. We hope see you soon again!

Cordially,

Jack Egoavil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was in a party of four on a Wednesday night. The place was full (even with the outdoor dining it's tiny).
We shared three apps... the tamale, a chicken quesadilla, and guacamole. They came out in that order. Not a big problem since our intent was to share so we passed each and ate it and then the next one came. But it would have been awkward if we each really wanted our own app as most people would. And why was the guac last? That's the easiest, just dish some out in a bowl and get a place of chips.
Entrees came out the same way... sequentially .. one, then another, then a long wait, then the other two. Very awkward and the first dishes were getting cold. So the kitchen needs to work on tightening up the timing.
The food was actually very good. The tamale was interesting, the chicken quesadilla app was huge... too much for an app for one person, it could have been an entree. Guac was perfect.
I had a relleno..with beef, which you don't see that often. My wife had a crab and spinach enchilada. Others had a peruvian stew and the steak tacu tacu. Everyone liked their dinner... very tasty and generous portions.
Waitstaff was energetic and cheerful. It's not their fault.
You really want to like this place, it's great to have some different cuisine. Just come when you can deal with the delays, adjust your expectations, and... bring extra wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduarpsu, General Manager at El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear patron:

We appreciate your comments, thank you for your time. We hope see you soon again!

Cordially,

Jack Egoavil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

When El Tule first opened in Lambertville, they provided delicious, interesting food with decent service at a good price. I enjoyed going there and often recommended them. The last time I went I wasn't quite as thrilled but thought it might have been an 'Off' Night for them. Today I went back for lunch and can honestly say I have never received such bad service. The restaurant was less than half full. The waitress was not trained well enough to handle the job. After being told that they were out of most of the things on the menu that I wanted, we waited a full hour (60 minutes) for our food to come with only some chips and salsa to tide us over. The appetizer we ordered came after our meals.
The meal itself was disappointing and did not match the description on the menu. When I questioned the waitress she said that it was correct but she did not seem very knowledgeable. I felt sorry for her but shame on the management for putting such and incompetent person at the Front of the House. I will not return and will not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank frenchimpressionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Ate there this evening for the first time. We were not disappointed. The food was fantastic and the wait staff were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely go again.

Thank Mattrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduarpsu, Owner at El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear patron:

We appreciate your comments, thank you for your time. We hope see you soon again!

Cordially,

Jack Egoavil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
Lambertville, NJ
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing