We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely go back if we lived closer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant

El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The love of family, friends and great food is a tradition for the Egoavils.Having relocated to the United States from Peru in 1992, they sought the opportunities their new home offered. They have now realized their family dream of owning and operating their own restaurant. El Tule was previously the home of another restaurant offering Mexican fare. The Egoavil Family has infused the eatery with a vibe all its own. El-Tule’s Mexican-Latin fusion includes traditional Mexican offerings as well as the addition of Peruvian menu items. Peruvian food has been gaining momentum among foodies across the nation, and prior to El Tule was extremely hard to find in the Delaware Valley. El Tule offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Guests may bring their own wine or alcohol of choice. Our patio is dog friendly.Subpages
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back if we lived closer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited El Tule for lunch shortly after Labor Day. Definitely get the ceviche!! Unbelievable flavors; 3 different ceviches to enjoy. We also had the cubano sandwiche; HUGE! We had one other dish that was a special that day; shrimp and quinoa. The food does take time but well worth it. BYOB. Didn't have dinner that night. At lunch, they have a brunch menu and some specials. Wish you could order smaller portions of their dinner menu for lunch. If we lived closer, we would certainly go back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enjoy4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    125
    41
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small restaurant...HUGE in taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food was incredible...all meals made individually and worth the wait. I'm a fussy eater but I ate everything on my plate. Prices range to about $24 for the dinner specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food at this restaurant is good. However, service is so slow you just want to pick up and leave. It seems the cook gets overwhelmed when the restaurant is full, or close to.
The bad part is the corn chips they serve with the different salsas as you wait and wait and wait for your food to arrive. Surely a restaurant that charges between $25 and $30 for an entree can invest in better tasting chips. Theirs are close to stale. I've been to El Tule many times because I like their twist on mexican and peruvian dishes. But please, please, get some decent chips !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great freshly made food and good service, though a little on the slower side. We followed the recommendation of the waiter who suggested the sampler, and were happy that we got that. He suggested that 2 dishes would be more than enough for three of us and he was correct. So the portions were generous. We will go back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnK187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Peruvian and Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a "must" visit in Lambertville NJ, specially if you are looking for real "Ceviches Peruanos" (fresh fish appetizer) and other Mexican Delicatessen. I've been here for at least in three occasions (lunch and dinner) the food is awesome and the service over the median of any US restaurant, even that it is really a small restaurant. They have Peruvian and Mexican sodas and the desserts.......amazing, you should try it. Note; is a BYOW, so bring your cold beer or wine for the fish.
My recommendations (I tried all) ceviche Peruano, ceviche de camarones, fish tacos and do not leave the place without a nice piece of "Flan". I'm a Mexican with certain experience with Peruvian cuisine, they really prepare the ceviches (tiraditos) very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant also viewed

 
Lambertville, NJ
 

Been to El Tule Authentic Mexican & Peruvian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing