We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very quaint and relaxing stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This estate is set on top of a hill, among lush greenery and is characterized by beautiful old buildings, such as the barn and the guest house. We had a suite, with its own fireplace and a separate bedroom. It was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The Alpaca is a very short walk away. Beautiful and historic Lambertville is down the hill, s short drive to Main Street, but walkable as well. Some great restaurants there, such as El Tule.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    39
    26
    14
    20
See reviews for
15
192
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'll start by saying our weekend at Chimney Hill started late afternoon Friday October 25th. We were met by the Inn keepers who were in an office area near the kitchen. A brief introduction followed by key issue and a code to be used to enter the Inn's front door..presumably after hours.
We found our room in the Barn (#2) to be poorly lit but managed that...the dated bathroom was not up to standard for what's believed to be a step above...one redeeming factor was the bed, a very good nights sleep.....With only 20 + guests, one would think the staff would be more attentive. Sunday morning was disappointing with breakfast not ready and coffee service a bust....when we finally accessed the main house we and other guests stood by not acknowledged by the kitchen staff.....we enjoyed New Hope and Lambertville but Chimney Hill's got to do better....

Room Tip: Check the New Hope properties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgh527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My fiance & I were at Chimney Hill October 20, 2013 to celebrate our anniversary and oh my geez...what a beautiful wonderful place! When I placed the reservation, Deb was extremely helpful and gave us a great rate. She also provided us information on a discount gift certificate for purchase for dinner that evening (which turned out to be excellent as well).

Upon check in, we were greeted by a delightful young lady who was very helpful and also provided us with FREE alpaca feed (and a good amount too). We located our room (Barn Suite #4) and once we walked in, we felt like we were in a different world. The room was absolutely divine-very antique and cozy feeling. There was a tv in the room, however we did not utilize it at all because the atmosphere alone embraced and entertained you. Our room had a dual fireplace, lovely shower, very comfortable bed, spiral staircase and more. We will definitely be back for sure! We truly enjoyed every bit of it.

Just a tip-if you are looking for a modern bed & breakfast, this is not your place to be. This place seems to pride itself on being unique and having an antique feel to it; which is what makes it so quality!

Room Tip: Barn Suite #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful anniversary stay. Staff was so friendly and accommodating! Had an issue with the heat and called the innkeeper and he was up within seconds to fix it! Thanks Rich! He even made sure to put a heater outside our room to keep is warm! We loved the alpacas and everyone was so nice. A bit overpriced if you don't have a LS or groupon deal. Breakfast was not good. Burned French toast soufflés and warm yogurt parfait. Other than the bad food and the out of date bathroom it was perfect! Bed so comfy and people so nice. Thanks for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRH1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the barn Suite #3. I had higher expectations, as I know Chimney Hill was on the Select Registry list in the past. There were holes in the towels, the pillows were old and worn and the bed was very uncomfortable. We think the most important part to update would be the bathroom, the shower has seen better days, the door was broken on the shower. So disappointed with the room. We find it hard to believe that the going price without a groupon was 425.00 a nite. We enjoyed our time in Lambertville and new Hope. Please, please make updates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiffeofRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatenIsland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have just returned from a girls trip to the Chimney Hill Estate and I was so pleasantly surprised! First of all I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast or in Lambertville before. I'm a New Hope/Peddlers Village person, but I was sooo happy that we did! You drive up this little dirt road (Goat Hill Rd) to come upon a beautiful setting of the Chimney Hill Inn. We were welcomed for an early check in by Terri and Rich who gave us the key and our wine vouchers for the local winery. We could not actually go to the room (it wasn't ready) but it was such a pleasure to receive all of our information so we can take our time around town. The house is charming! Beautiful, spotless and all the comforts of home and THEN SOME! We stayed in the Barn Suite #1 which was fabulous. There is a living room with a small sofa, table and chairs, fireplace and TV. terrific...the bathroom is modern and spotless! The bedroom was after that, very comfortable bed, another TV, a cute chair and a terrace out back with a table and chair. I was nervous after seeing reviews about cleanliness, but this is NOT the case, so please don't listen to negative reviews! Amenities included: a microwave, small refrigerator, blow dryer, coffee maker with china cups and dishes. Everything that you could need, so don't worry about bringing coolers with water (you have the refrigerator) blow dryer (they have a good one!) or anything else. Everything is provided. Breakfast the next day consisted of a fresh homemade fruit cup with strawberries and fresh mint! very nice touch...The second course were delicious homemade potatoes, eggs and a slice of fresh ham! My friend who is a vegetarian had her needs met as well. no meat on the plate, etc. they put little candy corn on the plate for decoration, another nice touch! and last but not least were the Alpacas! A bag of food per person is included in your stay for the Alpacas. What beautiful gentle animals! I had a blast...Please do not listen to negative reviews. I can't wait to go back with my husband! Clean, Beautiful property with lovely owners!! Everyone we met all felt the same! Thank you Terri and Rich! I will see you soon!

Room Tip: Barn Suite #1 was very nice, clean and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent the weekend in New Hope/Lambertville and stayed at Chimney Hill. The place was immaculate and our accommodations were top notch. We recommend it and plan to return in the future. it was referred to us by an experienced B&B fan who lists it as her favorite. Our only regret is we didn't stay an additional night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.8 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
1.0 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
194 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Property: Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing