We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth of July at the Jersey Shore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Lakewood, United States
1 review
“Fourth of July at the Jersey Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staff really went out of their way. We were there for the long weekend.Late risers the staff got us breakfast long after it ended.Maids actually serviced the room twice the first day because we were allowed to check in very early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mike Z,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we thrive on providing superior service to all of our guests and on behalf of our entire staff we are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and hope to serve you in the future. Thank you for choosing Best Western Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    44
    51
    22
    34
See reviews for
81
49
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Shokan, NY, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is an older Best Western that has been somewhat refurbished after the hurricane. The staff is friendly and accommodating. There are several restaurants in the area, all of which require a few minutes drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Robert H.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our staff is friendly and accommodating and our hotel is in a great location! Should your travels bring you back to the Jersey Shore area, we hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel has NOT been renovated in years, unlike what one review said. If you dont mind duck tape on the carpet on stairs and in hallways...many places...if you don't mind a really strong stinky mildew smell....if you don't mind a cheap motel for one night, by all means stay here. The price was right, I'll say that. But Expedia sold us 2 King beds and a photo of a rather large room. Hotel mgmt says they are fighting with Expedia to no avail. I felt cheated though. The worst aspect for me: the atrocious smell in the Non-smoking room. It was beyond stale, and it had been Febreezed so much it made us sneeze. I looked for a solution: cleaning the pop up filters in the window a/c. They were FILFTHY. The filfth almost clogged the bathtub drain. I wasn't happy to have to do this, but it was slightly better after I did. The continental breakfast is minimal and not very good. The line was so long for the waffles, we went to Starbucks across the street. The bathroom was adequate and the place is relatively clean. It is very close to nice beaches! And a lot less expensive than beach motels! That's the good news. More than a one night stay, you likely wouldn't want to do.

Room Tip: lower floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear jan h,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Leisure Inn. I am glad that you were happy with the value and location of our hotel. I a sorry to learn your stay with us failed to meet your expectation. Neither a manager nor our front desk team was aware of any problems that you experienced. If we would have know, we could have rectified the problem, or have moved you to another room. We will be renovating our hotel by year end. I hope you would consider giving us another chance in the future. Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakewood hotels

New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend because we were seeing a show in Asbury Park, and figured to make a weekend of it with outlet shopping. This is a basic hotel so I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers were expecting. The room was clean, the ac, fridge, microwave and flat-screen tv all worked. Yes, the rooms are a little old and the smoking rooms are probably worse than the non-smoking rooms, but overall it was perfectly fine. We had a little extra time and went to the outside pool. It was very clean. Many chairs, loungers and tables. The water was cold for me, but others stayed in the water and enjoyed it.

Tips: 1 - the housekeeping staff is very good, so if you want to sleep late, put your do not disturb sign out. 2 - At night the sign is only viewable from one side, which makes it impossible to find the hotel using gps. It was quite frustrating to find the hotel coming in at night. This is mostly due to no left turns allowed anywhere on the main highway, but it would have been helpful to see the sign from both sides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate52396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kate,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay and you gave us such a good review! It is refreshing to find our guests noticing the small details we offer and take the time in mentioning them. Hope to see you the next time you are at the Jersey Shore.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went to a wedding at the Vanity Fare which is connected to this hotel and had a great time. Took a room for the night, the room was a little old but very clean, had a microwave in the room as well as a refrigerator. The staff was very nice and the pool very clean. I would stay here again. The continental breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Lynn L. Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. We work very hard to make each guest feel welcomed and comfortable. We are thrilled to hear we made your visit to our hotel a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is an older facility that needs some updating. Major problem with electric keys not working, wouldn't allow access to outside doors and then to room door. Four tries and the desk clerk using the master key finally got us into the room. Seems like other guest were experiencing same problem. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Staff was responsive to needs. Best Western breakfast was ample. Outdoor sign was not lit at night made it difficult to find facility on return from family visit. Didn't realize there was a Hilton across the street but that's how we were able to locate the BW in the dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Katherine L.
Thank you for your recent review of the Best Western in Lakewood. We are happy that you were satisfied with your room and our staff.

We apologize that you were not satisfied your room key not working properly. We did have a defective batch of keys. We are receiving new locks and they will all be replaced in the next couple of months. Our sign has been repaired by our sign company and we will be renovating our hotel within the calendar year.

We hope you consider staying with us again, and we hope to receive a more positive review in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
2.7 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
6.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Address: 1600 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leisure Hotel Lakewood
Best Western Lakewood
Lakewood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing