We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We spent 3 days at the Inn. Everything was in good order. Polite and friendly staff.
Clean and attractive
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    183
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
279
136
40
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I spent two night on business in early January at the HGI. The hotel is located in a commercial strip - restaurants and Starbucks nearby within walking distance.

Pleasant lobby, front desk staff helpful. Similar to most hotels of this niche, the elevators are painfully slow and inefficient.

Breakfast is somewhat expensive, but service is good.

Room very comfortable, the sleep adjustable bed was excellent.

Every thing about the hotel was top notch until I visited the Pavilion Pantry adjacent to the front desk.

Eating dinner at one of the nearby restaurants, I elected to pass on the overpriced desert and decided to settle for a candy bar from the hotel. I thought I would be saving money and saving on calories. Well I did save on calories, but I would have been better off ordering the cheesecake, cake or pie at the restaurant from a value perspective.

I purchased a regular size Kit Kat bar (the kind thats $0.60 at Walmart) and a 20 ounce bottle of Dasani water (no more than $1 in vending machines). The total - $5.08. Nothing is priced in the Pantry and I can see why - the price gouging is ridiculous for the middle of strip mall heaven in central New Jersey - it isn't Manhattan.

Do yourself a favor and don't forget any toiletries that you might need to purchase - I can only imagine what a $0.99 cent travel can of shaving cream would have cost me?

As a Hilton Honors Silver member I strongly question whether I will stay at this hotel upon my return to the area on business. It isn't the $3 or so that I was overcharged - its the principle of price gouging that always upsets me. If I can buy it cheaper at the airport (and I did when I got back to Philly airport), you are charging too much.

I am grudgingly recommending the hotel - just don't buy anything at the Pantry.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ysuindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rika357
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2009

In over 25 years of booking and managing meetings nationwide, I can honestly tell you that I have never come across a hotel that has such a wonderful facility and incredible hotel staff as the team that truly understands and delivers superior customer service as the HGI Lakewood. Let me give you some specifics: Karen Kraig and Hanna greet you at the front desk and are such a pleasure to visit with as they check you in and are always willing and eager to assist you. Camille is a joy to visit with at the bar and is always looking for how she can help you during your stay, weather it be ordering room service for you as your way to the hotel so your meal is awaiting as you are starving from your trip, to providing stellar service during meetings. Shirley is most accommodating at breakfast and a pleasure to see her smiling face and desire to provide such great customer service insuring a wonderful breakfast experience and again providing stellar service during meetings. Debbie Pizzola is always helpful in with setting up meetings and providing outstanding customer service from the planning through the execution of our meetings covering each and every detail perfectly. Debbie is a true gem and her customer service mentality encourages us to return to the hotel for future meetings. Please know that this hotel "team" is one in a million, and should be an example to the entire hospitality business of what customer service truly is! Addiitionally the facility is impecably clean and well maintained. As always, we had an great experience, because of the outstanding HGI Lakewood team and top notch facility! Thank you

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rika357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

staff was very rude, no customer service skills here..........overpriced small rooms,mattress and boxspring had stains, if you want breakfast they charge you extra??????????

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honda1800vtxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyGirl166, Marketing Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
We are very sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your recent stay. As you can see from our other reviews on Trip Advisor, the typical guest experience at our hotel is very positive. We are proud that all of our guest reviews on Trip Advisor have included perfect 5 out of 5 ratings since January 2009, and our average guest rating is 4.5 stars out of 5. We sincerely hope that you will return to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood in the future and that our management and staff will "wow" you with excellent service and excellent accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesepeake Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This hotel blows my mind every time i stay there. I have a 5, 7, and 13 year old and its just amazing everytime. I have family in the area and there are no other good hotels around. The staff is super nice and helpfull. The location is PERFECT for my needs. The Rooms are very nice. The service is good too. Finally for the money it is COMPLETELY worth it. My kids love coming here. We come about twice a year too. Finally YOU SHOULD STAY HERE IT IS AMAZING......

i wish all hotels were like this

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

11 day business stay in a beautiful new hotel.Front desk very knowlegable and friendly.They make you feel like family.Beautiful clean spacious rooms.Very quiet and close to reataurants next door a Ruby Tuesdays,Long Horn and Charlie Browns. Breakfast buffet with omelets etc cooked to order and other food items hot not cold like some others hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetpianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed here for an unpleasant business trip but the hotel was excellent. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the service was outstanding. Great location to the Jersey shore for vacationers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvdawgsWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
0.5 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
3.1 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,211 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
151 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Address: 1885 Highway 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701-7394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood – conveniently located near Exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway on Route 70 – features an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, and 24-hour business center. Premier guest room amenities include 32” LCD TVs, generous work desks with ergonomic Herman Miller chairs, and self-adjusting beds. Enjoy a brand new Ruby Tuesday restaurant, LongHorn Steakhouse® and Starbucks® next door. Complimentary WiFi access is available throughout the hotel. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing