We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Storm haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Storm haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn became a de-facto town meeting place for many people made homeless by Superstorm Sandy. Instead of just the breakfast (which is all the kitchen's really equipped to do), they put out three meals a day. While the rooms were beyond sold out, the lobby became a place for people to escape the weather and monitor developments. Karen and her staff made it happen for guests and drop-ins alike.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Rich J,

Thank you for your 5-star review! I am glad to hear that we kept the same level of customer service for people staying with us and others who just needed a place to relax following the devastation of Hurricane Sandy. We know how stressful it has been for so many, and we want to do all we can to make people comfortable.

We greatly appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    162
    35
    18
    8
See reviews for
238
118
37
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We checked in to hotel after Sandy (storm) hit our area & damaged our home. The hotel was full of capacity and chaotic, but the entire staff maintained composure especially the manager Karen and the girls working the front desk. The girls working the front desk were young, one would think very little experience, but they handled themselves with utmost professionalism, I was amazed. This was consistent throughout our stay, and because of the impact of the storm they showed empathy to all guests. It felt as if the staff never went home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Kudo's to Karen and her staff!!! They turned a catastrophic event into a positive experience and made people forget about their losses while enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Michael S,

I would first like to say that we are glad you and your family were safe during Hurricane Sandy. We know what a devastating time it was for so many people and we are glad we could help make your stay a pleasant one.

We appreciate your wonderful review, and I will share your comments with the entire staff! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Lakewood NJ during Hurricane Sandy. Even though the hotel was booked solid, every want to be guest that came in was offered a cup of coffee and a place to sit while the storm was coming in. Hotel management put all staff on over time to make sure everything was taken of. The customer service has been above and beyond any I witnessed in a long time. I highly recommend this hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear obehappy,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood!

During Hurricane Sandy, we wanted to help out in any way we could, and we are glad to hear that the staff went above and beyond your expectations.

Again, thank you for a wonderful review!

From the staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

One nice thing about Hilton Hotel properties are their consistency. The Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood is no exception. This motel is typical of what I expect from a Hilton Garden Inn, Clean, spacious rooms and good service. Breakfast is a combination of Buffett and cooked to order. Service and food were good; however, it is not free unless you are a Diamond Member. The exercise room had a good assortment of equipment and it was in good working order. The staff was efficient and courteous. The only problem I had was the entrance. It is a bit tricky thanks to the New Jersey street system where you have to turn right and do a loop around in order to turn left or make a U turn. Not the fault of the Motel, but a sign by the driveway would be helpful to see where it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The group of people at this hotel is absolutely amazing. From the GM Michael to the Assistant GM Karen to Jessica at the front desk to the always amazing Louie, they made weathering "Sandy" warm, comfortable and couldn't have been more accommodating. The hotel is wonderful, clean, great rooms, it was like being at home with this group.
Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi NJGolfVac,

We greatly appreciate your 5-star review of the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood!

This past week's hurricane has been devastating for so many people. We are glad we could accommodate you and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We are glad you were safe and warm!


From all of us at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A group of us has been staying here for the past nine months on and off for a project in the area. The Hilton Garden Inn has always accommodated last minute itinerary changes and have always made our group a priority. It's very appreciated as long stays from home always take a toll and having a stable place to come "home" to at the end of a 16 hour days has really made a difference in my efforts to complete a difficult project.

The front desk always greats us with a bottle of water, a smile, and if we aren't arriving too late in the day there is always cookie treat or some freshly made green tea. Most mornings/afternoons/evenings we share a laugh too. I know if that if any colleague of mine wanders into the hotel in need of some assistance I know they will take care of them!

Breakfast has a variety of food, and it's all very good and well presented. The rooms are clean, modern and good enough size to continue to get some work done even when you feel the day should have been over hours ago.

The entire staff is outstanding, and I will always stay at this hotel whenever I am in the area. Keep up the great establishment, and again thank you for being so accommodating.

Room Tip: I've stayed on every floor and all have been good. Although the 4th floor on facing the backsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Paul W,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are very pleased to hear you had such a positive experience staying with us at The Hilton Garden Inn.

I will definitely share your review with the entire staff!

Thanks again!


Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have the pleasure of staying at this Hilton garden inn regularly. The front desk staff is amazing! Very friendly! In fact I feel like family when I come here. Karen Kraig, Camille Passalacqua, Alexia, the red head young girl are the greatest! I received some fresh made hot chocolate while passing by. They always address me by name. No matter how busy they are they stop and greet everyone. This just the front desk staff. The team that cleans the rooms are so friendly. They are into every detail. This location goes above and beyond. If your in the area your crazy if you don't book at this location. One great thing I like as well is the staff doesn't change. So that means they love what they do and they care. As always room was clean, bed was comfortable, and you have longhorn for dinner and Starbucks on the way out in the morning. You also can have breakfast at the hotel which they do a fantastic job as well. I love it here!!

Room Tip: Stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
3.1 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
7.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Address: 1885 Highway 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701-7394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood – conveniently located near Exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway on Route 70 – features an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, and 24-hour business center. Premier guest room amenities include 32” LCD TVs, generous work desks with ergonomic Herman Miller chairs, and self-adjusting beds. Enjoy a brand new Ruby Tuesday restaurant, LongHorn Steakhouse® and Starbucks® next door. Complimentary WiFi access is available throughout the hotel. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing