We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rapidy decaying hotel that needs major over-haul & was at one time a excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia,Pa
1 review
“A rapidy decaying hotel that needs major over-haul & was at one time a excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This hotel is virtually falling apart. Apparently under new ownership/management, it leaves alot to be desired. Besides being greatly overpriced,the rooms are old,dingy,and most things are in poor workig condition. Major money needs to be spent to bring this place back to where it was years ago.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank football1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management08031, Manager at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
We thank you for your review on your stay at our hotel. Your reviews and information that you provide is extremely useful to us in already enhancing our guest experience. We apologize that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. Our hotel is currently the best price and value in the area and we have maintained this position for many years - as is evidenced by our Trip Advisor Rating. We personally invite you back so you can experience us again and we guarantee that you will leave fully satisfied - call us personally to book your reservation and we will make it a special one.


Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    158
    66
    38
    31
See reviews for
185
109
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My husband travels for his work and this is the second time we've been in this area and stayed at the Kenilworth Inn. When he told me that we'd be back in the Rochelle/Newark area, I went on line immediately and booked our room at the Kenilworth Inn. It is wonderfully located with easy on/off access to the NJ Garden State Parkway. The Inn is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. When we first checked in on this visit, our room was on the second floor and we perfer the first floor. The Front Desk Manager was a women named Edeline Chouloute but is referred to as Lynn. SHE IS WONDERFUL!!!!! She found us a room on the first floor, got us extra pillows and was very accommodating and exceptionally friendly. I called her every night to ask for a wake up call, but really just wanted to say hi!! She has a calm, soothing and friendly voice. The rooms are very clean and the beds are like sleeping on clouds!! My husband uses his truck for work, therefore, I have no means of transportation. Everything is within walking distance. The A&P grocery store, resturants, small shops, laundrymat, etc. One issue I had was the fact that my husband doesn't get done work until 3:30 and check out time is 11-12. Again LYNN to the rescue!! She allowed me to stay in the room until 2pm!!! Most places have me check out and I wait in the lobby until my husband arrives. This was very nice of her and I truly appreciate it!!! I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!!! I am looking forward to coming back, hopefully in the near future. I can't wait for warm weather so that I can access the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatty071014895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

If your business is in the Newark metropolitan area there is no need to limit your choices to those in and around Newark Airport. The location, pricing and service makes it an ideal choice and a great value.

While the accommodations are just typical of most hotels, the staff is what kicks it above typical.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2010

I found the hotel's staff to be extremly gracious and very accomodating and hospitable. They go out of their way to make your stay as close to home as possible. Rooms are always clean and temputure just right. Food is very good, noise level is at a very minumum. Location and price are always a factor, but this hotel has both. Would defintly stay there again and will always recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I travel frequently with my career and I always stay at the Kenilworth Inn when I am in the vicinity of this hotel. I truly appreciate the kindness and warmth of the entire staff of this hotel. Every person from Isabel who serves breakfast to the ladies who clean the rooms are nice and accomodating. Especially excellent are Joe Golden, the manager and Edeline Chouloute, the front desk manager , who always make me feel that no request is too great and who truly go out of their way to make my stay comfortable and pleasant. I rate this hotel, both in its operation and in the effort that the staff puts forth,as one of the truly better hotels in the Country. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who appreciates kindness, efficiency and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

have been comming here for over 10 years now love the people here anthony joe lynn sharon i am a sales rep clothing am here at least 4 times a year and wouldnt go any other place its convinient for my customers the rooms are a great size for my business working with my customers i like the location i like a bar and resturant at the hotels i stay as i park and dont move

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The Kenilworth Inn is always a pleasant place to come back to. As a sales rep in apparel we set up our sample lines in our generously sized rooms and our retailers come to work us here. It is a convenient location for those that we need to see with good access to all major roadways. Also, ample parking is always available. The staff at the hotel is always helpful and happy from front desk to housekeeping.
I will definately come back again for the next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGREP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
5.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
476 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 60 S 31st St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033-1302
Location: United States > New Jersey > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is a beautifully designed boutique hotel set in bucolic Northern New Jersey, just a short distance to the action in New York City and close to Newark International airport. The Kenilworth's exceptional service, affordable rates, and convenient location make our hotel the perfect spot for business, vacations and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing