We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kenilworth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$149
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Westfield Inn(Westfield)(Great Value!)
$146
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Linden(Linden)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Budget Inn(Elizabeth)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
335
195
80
45
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
195
80
45
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorfront deskthe garden state parkwaycontinental breakfastnew jerseyfamily eventtrain stationthe shuttle drivercomfortable bedsfridge and microwavefirst flooreasy accessconvenient locationbagelslate checkbusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 696 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent the night at the Kenilworth Inn on August 24, 2013. The location was suggested on the invitation to a family event because of proximity. Construction debris was everywhere. One of the major hallways was lined with huge bales of insulation for the remodeling currently in progress. Our room reeked of cigarette smoke, down to the bath towels. Our threadbare bedspread had huge holes in it. All the hallways and main areas smelled. We called the management to tell them how much our room smelled, and was told that they could send a machine up, but that it "would make a lot of noise". The bathtub was very dirty. I had a packet of disinfecting wipes that I'd been carrying in my suitcase for a long time. I'd practically forgotten they were there. At the Kenilworth they got opened and used!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonali M, Manager at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable insights regarding your stay with us. I am sadden to learn that your experience with us was not up to our standards.

As you saw, we are working diligently at refurbishing all of our rooms and are actually almost done with room renovations. I would love to have you return and experience an entire new stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are ever in the Kenilworth New Jersey area again.

Attentively,

Jose Mojica
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Check in 7/24, out 7/28.
1. Dead bolt didn't work, next afternoon to get fixed
2.Each day card key had to be reset
3. Carpet filthy, white socks black
4.Shower head on hand held cord lays on floor, broken can not mount to hardware so it can hang. Shower mat not removed, slime under it!
5. Smoking at side entrance beside door....walling through smoke..yuck
6. Cheap continental breakfast, no fresh fruit, no waffles,staff nags you to eat at 9:45 am waiting for you to finish.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chersc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonali M, Manager at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the cleanliness and maintenance issues and are in the process of redesigning our breakfast experience for our guests. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and would love to have you back to experience a whole new stay with us.

If you are ever in the area and in need of accommodations, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and offer you an experience that will surpass your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Attentively,

Jose A. Mojica
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The new upgraded rooms were nice, they still had some finishing to do but were overall comfortable and clean. Front desk was nice, Ice machine worked good. I hope they continue to renovate. I know its a pain and must cost a lot of money but I know I liked and noticed the change

Room Tip: ask for a new room! Pay the extra 10 bucks
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonali M, Manager at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your response and your comments.

We are definitely working diligently on renovating this property and paying attention to every small detail to insure that our guests are completely satisfied with their stay. We are very excited about where we're headed and even more excited now that you've noticed.

We look forward to having you with us again .

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Kenilworth Inn as it was a great location for our needs since it was right across the street from the cemetery. When we made our reservations in January, there was no mention of the construction, which was significant and appeared to be throughout most of the hotel. It was not a pleasant atmosphere. The renovated rooms we were given reeked of toxic fumes. The staff were nice about showing us other rooms that did not smell as badly and we relocated, but there was still a strong odor in the rooms. We would have stayed else where, had we known about the construction - I'm glad we only needed to be there for one night.
They also promote a continental breakfast buffet, which consisted of donuts and pastries with beverages - hardly a buffet. We ended up going to Manhattan Bagels a few blocks away.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay, ask to see the room first to determine if you can handle the smell. There did not appear to be any room area that was no undergoing construction.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Kenilworth Inn was a great location for our purposes, as we were coming into town for a funeral. The room was clean and bright but there were a number of problems during our one night stay. The mattress was uncomfortable despite the fact that the front desk clerk said they were fairly new. For some reason the television was connected to a light switch so each time we accidentally turned off that particular switch the TV went out. We had to call the front desk for a service man to come and reset the TV. The front desk told us that this was a known issue but they had no solution for it. After the second time it happened we finally figured out how to reset the TV ourselves. Finally, the light switch in the bathroom would not turn off. The heat generated from the light was incredibly intense - it seemed like a heat lamp although I'm not sure it was. We did not sample the continental breakfast the next day, opting instead to eat at the local diner. The staff was friendly and serviced us promptly, but I would be unlikely to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KipHartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews