We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best, but reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Trying to find a hotel in the Union NJ area is tough when I only have the internet to go by. Last trip to the Union Travelodge was a nightmare..(review on tripadvisor). This time I opted for the Kenilworth Inn.

I was on a business/work trip, and when I travel alone, I am not looking for luxury...just adequate...especially since my company is pretty tight about expenses for the rank and file employees. The Kenilworth was fine in this regards, although I would not take my wife and family there on vacation...

The hotel shows it's age, but is not run down....just not sparkling and shiny. Some maintenance issues in the room, but nothing which negatively affected my stay. Even though the room was non-smoking, it apparently was at some point, or else the previous occupant disregarded...there was the smell of old smoke lingering. (not an issue for me...I am a smoker..but would certainly be an issue for a non-smoker).

The continental breakfast was budget class, in keeping with the price point of the hotel....basically coffee, pastries, bagels, and juice were set out each morning. Nothing fancy.

The staff were all very pleasant. It is easy to get to, being right off the GSP and close to Liberty Airport.

There are a couple of restaurants up the street, some very good, some not so much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald_K_12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 603 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from Newark Airport but make sure you book it in advance and agree a pick-up point. We went to the "hotel shuttle" pick-up and the minibus went to the terminal! The hotel is an average US travellers' hotel with a decent complimentary breakfast. The room met all of our needs. In the morning the shuttle was happy to drop us at the nearby railway station so that we could get the train into New York City.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found the front desk manager, Bob, and the breakfast attendant to be our favorite parts of the stay. Our original room had a plumbing issue, but we were switched quickly to another room. Although it was perfectly fine, it could have used some updates. The hotel is in the midst of renovations, so we look forward to seeing what is there on our next visit. We were disappointed that we were unable to connect our iPad to the internet at all - even with the assistance of staff. They said it was an Apple issue - do hope it is resolved!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tina56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay in this area often for business and would not stay anywhere else! I must admit I was a bit reluctant my first stay after reading some of the negative reviews but I am so glad I took a chance, and I have been staying here at least twice a month for years! It is like coming home, I can't wait to see my friends Lynne and Nicole at the desk, who are more than accomidating to my every need. They are renovating now so it will just get better as time goes on. My only problem is I spend about a half hour upon arrival chatting with the friendly staff, they make me feel welcome and important, but I am always late for my meetings! Just last week I was pleasantly surprised to find a new flat screen t.v. in the room. Now I look forward to seeing the upgrades being done every time I stay. There is no place like home but if you have to travel, the Kenilworth Inn is the next best thing. My personal thanks to Lynne and Nicole and also Anthony the manager who always has a smile and a nice word, you guys are the best, to me that means more than the carpet or wallpaper!! See you next week!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank ld20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel pool was closed (half empty and dirty) and it was august so surely it should be open during this summer month.
The 'fitness center' was also dire. It was an old smoky room with 3 machines, 2 of which were faulty and the final one was really old fashioned and also barely worked.
The fire alarm was going off for 25 minutes throughout the evening, which was very annoying.
The wireless intenet did not work in my room.
Room was clean and of a good size. Airport shuttle is a good facility.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitten_kitten1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonali M, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We’re very sorry our swimming pool was closed during your stay in August but we had an unexpected electrical problem that caused us to close the pool for a few weeks. Our fitness room is scheduled to be renovated and the machines fixed/changed. Also, as of August 2012 the hotel is now “Smoke Free”. We hope you give us a second chance to do a better job of making your next stay a much more Comfortable and Enjoyable Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

When visiting North Jersey, we always stay at the Kenilwoth Inn. As opposed to the more glitzy, cold, larger chain hotels, we find the Kenilworth Inn charming and homey. More often than not, we are greeted by smiling faces, (Lynne, Sharon, et al) welcoming us back. The hotel's manager, Anthony Longano is terrific. He seems to have boundless energy and uses it to ensure we (and other guests) are having a wonderful stay, satisfied with the conditions of our room, making sure we are in need of nothing. Can't say I've ever stayed at another hotel where I actually know who the manager is. Everyone is most accomodating at the Kenilworth Inn. And that keeps us coming back. The hotel is very convenient to everything, especially Newark Airport. I find it cleaned well and cared for...to me more important than modernized. All the modern conveniences are available in any case.

When we had to evacuate South Jersey last year due to the approaching hurricane, we called the Kenilworth Inn. They again accomodated us on short notice. The hotel lost electricity for many hours as a result of the storm. Once again, the manager, Mr. Longano, did a great job under extreme conditions. He made sure we had light, food,and coffee! He kept us updated as to where and what was open and passable so as to facilitate our return home. He was doing the same for the remaining guests as well.

All in all, a great team, team leader, and hotel. I recommend this hotel to people looking for a good, reasonably priced, comfortable, and accomodating place to stay in North Jersey. Veedy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

They were very friendly and we felt welcome. Things that didn't work or were broken (e.g. lights) were fixed immediately. We changed room once which was no problem at all. Room looked a bit run down, but renovations are still going on. So, one can see that something is being done. What's important is that the rooms are cleaned properly.There is a fridge and a coffee maker in each room. Complimentary breakfast is sufficient and good. Especially Lynne, at the reception desk, and her team are very friendly and helpful.
An affordable place located very conveniently with shops and restaurants in walking distance.
We will definitely stay there again whenever we will be in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
5.3 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
495 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 60 S 31st St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: $78 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is a beautifully designed boutique hotel set in bucolic Northern New Jersey, just a short distance to the action in New York City and close to Newark International airport. The Kenilworth's exceptional service, affordable rates, and convenient location make our hotel the perfect spot for business, vacations and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing