We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
kfar vradim, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed December 13, 2008

my husband and i stayed here for 5 nights recently.
our main purpose was to see nyc - but we did not want to pay the high room rates there.
i think this hotel is a perfect choice since it's much cheaper, and by using the PATH which is a 5 min walk , you are in manhatten in no time.
after you spend the day in the busy city you can come back to a quite and safe surronding , where you can find restaurants , coffee shops and a great mall ( tax free) just minutes from the hotel
the rooms are big , clean and fresh , the bed was comfy and the staff was helpfull and attentive. all this made our stay a real pleasure, and we highly recommend the hotel.
if you do choose to stay here you should try to arrive via newark airport and not jfk , since it's closer and costs less to travel. the hotel can arrange a ride to or from jfk and the rate is 90$ + 8 $ tolls.
another tip - if you book via the hotel website, choose a room with partly views of manhatten , which is the lower rate. after you book you can ask for extras/other options and you can upgrade your room to a full view by adding less $ to your bill.

  • Liked — rooms , location and price
  • Disliked — having to pay for internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ilanitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    456
    163
    61
    35
See reviews for
548
239
58
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Not only does Jersey City have a nice view of New York City, it is so easy to get to New York City from the hotel. It's just a quick 2 block walk to the train! The best part though, was the hotel staff. The were extremely friendly and accommodating. We had lots of questions, and they answered every one with a smile and great attitude.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeschoolmomPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We chose the Doubletree as we had previously enjoyed a stay in Washington DC.

The position is fantastic, close to the PATH to Manhatton Island, with a supermarket next door, and a shopping centre a couple of minutes walk away.

The staff were fine, and rooms well equiped with two t.v. sets, a fridge and microwave, as well as coffe maker.

There is free wifi in the hotel reception area, it is a shame this is not extended to the rooms.

Well worth a visit if you are looking to stay in the New York area.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank williams.pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I would put the Doubletree as one of the top hotels to stay at if wanting a very close location to NYC and yet without paying NYC hotel prices. I've stayed at all but one of the hotels in Jersey City, and I'd say the Doubletree offers some advantages over the other choices available.

First, each room has a mini-fridge/microwave, a sitting area, and outstanding bedding for a comfortable stay/sleep all-around.

Second, valet parking at the Doubletree is about half the price of what the Hyatt at Exchange Place will charge you.

Third, you have a short walking distance to the PATH station (Pavonia/Newport) that will take you into Manhattan all the way up to 33rd St (take the 33rd train) which puts you right around the Empire State Building, then within walking distance to other midtown typical tourist attractions. Returning from the city is another easy commute taking the PATH JSQ train. I actually prefer using the PATH over riding the bus into Manhattan from Jersey, so such is why I prefer staying in one of the Jersey City hotels with close access to the PATH.

However, I would say that the decor of the Doubletree rooms was a little dated despite recent renovations albeit quite functional. I'm comparing it to the decor to be found at both the Courtyard as well as the Hyatt there in Jersey City. If such matters to you, you might want to spend a little more and book a room at the Hyatt. (or see if you get a $99 bid accepted on Priceline for a 4-star hotel in Jersey City which has historically been the Hyatt)

Further, if you are looking for the best hotel view of Manhattan to be had from the Jersey side, you'll want to stay at the Hyatt in Exchange Place. The views from the Doubletree do not compare to those from the rooms at the Hyatt. I would also say the overall decor at the Hyatt is more aesthetically pleasing from lobby to restaurant to individual room. However, note that while you do have a PATH station right next door to the Hyatt, it is on the NWK/WTC line, so if you take the WTC (World Trade Center) train into Manhattan, you are going into lower Manhattan. If lower Manhattan is your desired destination, then this is an excellent commute (only a matter of a few minutes!). However, if you wish to commute further uptown, I would strongly suggest staying at the Doubletree which is close to the Pavonia/Newport PATH station as described above. If staying in Exchange Place and wanting to take the PATH further uptown in Manhattan, you will need to take the NWK train to Grove, then switch to the 33rd from there. Not a big deal but notable nonetheless. Yet also note you can always take the NYC subway to get further uptown if taking the PATH WTC train.

Anyway, all in all the Doubletree in Jersey City is an excellent , value-based choice for very nice accommodations putting you within an easy commute into NYC. I would chose it especially if travelling with children, as you get a suite with a little extra room to be had. If you happen to be a Hilton Honors member, I think the redemption rate for using your points here is also a bargain when compared to that required for Hilton chain hotels in Manhattan.

If you do stay at the Doubletree in Jersey City, make sure to fly into Newark Liberty and not LaGuardia or JFK to save both your time and money. Cab fees exponentially rise when crossing from NY over into Jersey. Further, you will obviously have a much shorter cab ride from JC to EWR than the other metro area airports!

  • Liked — mini fridge/micro, location, business services, cleanliness
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jerzeegirl803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

I have just returned from my 6 night stay at the Doubletree, Jersey City with my parents any two younger brothers 18 and 15.

We had two double rooms on the 9th floor, overlooking the car park. We werent particuarly bothered about the view.

Arriving 31st July - Checking out 7th August.

We flew in via Continental @ Newark Airport. We had to make our own way to the hotel though, which SHOULD be 10 minutes. NOTE: via Taxi at $59 + TIPs, however the yellow cab driver at Newark Airport tried to rip us off by charging us toll fees and the journey took 20 minutes. Our return journey was booked via the hotel's reception via their driver Luis. Cannot compliment the chap enough. $65 for a 5 seat Dodge 'Hemi' and got us there in 10 minutes. He said it would be ok to forward his number: 201-658-4228. You will see him in the Lobby most days.

Location: The hotel is situated on Washington Boulevard, Newport, Jersey City. The location is EXCELLENT. It is a 5 minute walk to the rear of the hotel to a supermarket which is open til 11pm. The Newport Mall (which is extensive in itself: Macy's, JC Penney, Sears, Hollister, Eagle Outfitters, Champs, Footlocker as well as a cinema multiplex and food court) is a 5 minute walk. The Newport PATH station is a 5 minute walk where a single train journey costs $1.30 per ride and has two routes into NYC, the first ends at 33rd street which is across the road from the Empire State Building the 2nd ends at the World Trade Centre. I cant fault either service.

The Hotel: Unfortunately i am not a HHonours Diamond member, if i was i would have recieved free internet access in my room. HOWEVER, you do get free wireless internet via your laptop or mobile in the main reception and waiting area where there are comfy sofas to lounge and socialise with other guests.

The hotel houses a Harsimus Cove, which is a restaurant and bar. The food seemed a little pricey hence we didnt eat there. Although i had a few drinks in the bar: Its a hotel so expect to pay premium rates. A white russian set me back $11 and a remy martin VSOP $14. HOWEVER happy hours are between 5pm and 7pm every day apart from at the weekend and you can buy yourself a cocktail from as little as $2 where I enjoyed several $2 cosmopolitans! (the barman didnt hold back on the measures either!) The bar is very well stocked and has international beers inc. Guiness, Amstel, Heinekken, Coors etc etc.

There is also a gym located on the ground floor which is free to all guests and is open 24 hours a day. It houses a cross trainer as well as 2 tread mills, free weights and medicine balls. air con,plasma tv and mirrored as expected too.

The Room(s): We had originally requested penthouse after reading all the reviews but the hotel was fully booked, the view wasnt too important either way. We were given two adjacent rooms 911 and 913 overlooking the car park and the adjacent New York Bank of Mellon Office Tower and a decent view of the Insurance company clock tower (cant remember the name) in New York City as well as the new york sky line from an angle.

As soon as open the door you walk into the spacious open plan living area, with a double sofa bed and two single sofas to one side of the room and a coffee table.

On the opposite side of the room is a desk and desk chair that has a lamp and dataport connection.

To the side of this unit (room 911) is the sink area, there are cupboard units abover and below the sink. fitted underneath the top unit is a microwave. below this you will find your icebox and tea/coffee maker. The tea and coffee maker uses Wolfgang Puck pod for tea and coffee(decaf. too). There is an undercounter fridge with small freezer compartment too.

Adjacted to the lounge area you will find that...

Each room has two luxiorious double beds. An amazing mattress with a memory foam top layer as well as 4 duck feather pillows! AMAZING! I slept like a baby each night.

The bedroom area has a large chest of draws unit with a lamp and mirror on the wall. A 28" 4:3 television with remote offering a good selection of 50 Cable TV Channels and PPV movies.

There is an airconditioning unit in the room below the window which is very good too. However, no remote which can be a pain when you're feeling too hot and put it on the coldest setting and the last thing you want to do is get out of your snug and cosy bed!

The bedroom area has a seperate door leading into the bathroom. Double bathtub with oval shower rail, very powerful gravity showerhead unit with medium rainforest and 'thrust' modes. There is a basin and standard toilet. Nice extra finishes include: Hairdryer, vanity mirror style lighting around the mirror, neutrogena products (shampoo, conditioner, face scrub, body moisturiser, face SPF15 moisturiser). Towels are provided too. We didnt need it but there was a built-in wall heater.

There is also a radio/alarm clock in the bedroom area too. A good steam iron and ironing board in the double floor length mirrored cupboard in the lounge area!

Service: I really cannot fault the service of the staff at this hotel. Whether you are returning or leaving the hotel or in the lobby you will be greeted with a warm smile and asked whether everything is ok! The reception staff are very friendly and more than happy to share tips and advice on local pizzaria delivery companies and hand out the tastey double tree cookies you get upon first checking in!

I really could not find a fault in this hotel other than the chargeable internet in your room.

I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike for location, price, service and conveniance to local amenities and for the PATH train into NYC!

  • Liked — The location, the hotel amenities, the quality and size of the rooms, the service of staff.
  • Disliked — $10 for internet access unless you are a Hhnours Diamond member.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Anoop D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 1st-5th July....Check in staff were very helpful and we all loved the hot cookie we were given! We were on the penthouse level so we had really nice views of the new york skyline....The room was very clean and very spacious..The hotel was very convenient for the PATH underground which took you straight into the heart of New York as it was about a 5 minute walk away...It was also convenient for the supermarket which was right next door...The area the hotel was in was really nice and you didn't really feel as if you couldn't walk around at night on your own...Walking along beside the water is definately a must while you are here as the views of New York are amazing!
Overall we would definately recommend this for anyone who is visting New York city but doesn't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city..

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mona39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We were impressed with location and ease of parking, although there was an extra charge for that. Our room was clean and well-furnished. The halls were a bit tired, but I liked the fact that you had to use your hotel keycard to make the elevators move. That gave a nice sense of security in an urban environment .....although the location is perfectly fine. We walked a few blocks to a fabulous seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing