We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, beautiful big rooms and wonderfully helpful staff, but be warned if travelling to NYC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My partner and I booked this room pre-Sandy, about 4 months ago, thinking that it would be easy to access NYC as the city never sleeps... I would like to begin by saying that the hotel was perfect. We were checked in early, which was perfect after 14 hours of travel. Felix was awesome! He went over and above to help us whilst we visited the states. The public areas of the hotel were lovely, free Internet in the lobby, and a nice looking bar and restaurant (although we did not actually eat there). The rooms were huge! 2 TVs, a fridge and a microwave, a free safe and a 6 foot wide bed! (We were room 216). No views, but we only used the room as a base anyway. The area of jersey city was great too, there was a big store about 5 minutes away selling anything you need, a mall 2 minutes away, and a 5 minute walk to the PATH station. Public transport from Newark airport was EASY, it took about 1 hour and cost about £9 per person. But... Due to hurricane sandy, there have been some serious disruptions to the PATH. It only ran 6am-10pm, and over the weekend, the PATH to 33rd street wasn't operating. This meant that all weekend we had to get to Times Square via the World Trade Centre, which was really out of the way. We stayed in manhattan past 10pm once, and it cost $60 before gratuity to return to the hotel in a taxi. I would stay here again if the PATH is fully operational, but as it stands, for a weekend break, it would be much better to pay extra to stay in central manhattan for a NYC visit, especially for a short break when time is a premium, than having to make a decision to either get back to the hotel early or pay $70 to get a taxi. If visiting New Jersey though, you could not go far wrong with this hotel. Whilst hurricane sandy mildly put us out during our trip, I could not imagine the trouble that the residents of New Jersey and NYC experienced. I wish all of those affected all the best in getting back on their feet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnyholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and services while staying us. As they are continually working on getting the public transit back to 100%, we hope to see everything back to "normal" as soon as possible. Hope to see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Doubletree Hilton in Jersey City. We arrived at 7am on Friday morning, and of course our room wasn't ready, but...they accommodated us by showing us where to change our clothes (we drove all night from Pittsburgh) and they locked all our belongings up safely for us so we could travel into the city. The area of Jersey City is VERY pretty. It was a nice stroll to the PATH train, and easy to navigate the train into NYC.
We got back from the city around 2pm and our room was ready. We were in PH suite 1414, and loved it. It was very spacious with comfortable beds and a nice large bathroom, most important, it was clean! The views were also awesome!
Due to issues after hurricane Sandy, the PATH train stopped service from the city at 10pm every night and this caused a huge issue for us. We had Nutcracker tickets and would never have made it to the PATH by 10pm. I went to the desk & asked PHILIP what our options were to get us back into jersey city and her arranged for a van to pick us up right in front of the Lincoln Center. Yes the van was a little pricey, but...we didn't have to worry about trying to find a taxi that would fit 5 people or try the port authority buses. Portfillio was our driver and he was very friendly and the van was clean and comfortable. Thank you Philip for the stress free trip back to Jersey.
We ate at VB3 Saturday night in Jersey. This was also recommended by Philip, and I will pass this recommendation on. The food was very good and not badly priced.
All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend the Doubletree Hilton in Jersey City. The people are friendly and the area is BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRA1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you return soon........safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location. Light rail directly behind the hotel.

Great Service. Front desk and housekeeping.

Breakfast was not up you would expect. Poor quality, but fair selection. Room service was also poor. Would not recommend. Walk a block to Chilis or the Westin Hotel. Also a mall two blocks away with food court.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldhhonors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thanks for the post and am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience while staying with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our F&B manager so she can follow up accordingly. Do hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I don't understand they charge parking fee per night and in-room internet service.
Even smaller hotels, motels and inns provide the guests free internet services. As others mentioned, location was good for NY sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamakim6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and do apologize that you felt the charges for parking and internet were not justified. Please understand our parking rates are competitive for the Jersey City area. The hotel also offers complimentary internet for Hilton Gold and Diamond members as well as all guests in our lobby level. I do hope you enjoyed your visit into NYC as we are very conveniently located for access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife, daughter and I just stayed there for a long weekend to see NYC. The hotel was so nice. The walk to PATH was very safe. The train was so convenient getting into Manhattan. The staff was so helpful and professional, especially Mildred and Felix at the front desk. I also like that the suites have a refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to our next visit and we will recommend this property to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girardjamca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks so much for the review and glad our team such great care of you. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

You won't find rooms larger than this in NYC area. We fit our family of 6 comfortably. Room is 5 minute walk to path train which is 10 minutes from manhattan. Train has multiple manhattan stops. Commute is non-factor. Hotel located in nice spot of jersey city. We saved over $100 a night by staying here rather than manhattan. It's a no-frills hotel but the room sizes, location, and value make up for it. Hotel shuttle can bring you to all local spots including train station, mall (which is located directly behind hotel and is easily walkable), and breakfast spots. As long as they don't start raising price I would definitely recommend. Compare price to what's listed in manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nygiantschamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks for the post and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just stayed four nights in November for an all girls weekend. We had four women in a 2 dbl bed junior suite. Very spacious for the area! This is a hidden gem! The PATH to 33rd St. in the city was only about a three block walk. The area in general is very picturesque being right on the Hudson. We walked to several nice restaurants and waterfront bars. I have nothing bad to say about this property. Would definitely stay here again (hopefully soon!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city skyline...it won't dissappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby3680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks for the great post and hope to see you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $177 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing