We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive and run down”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at a lot of hotels, but this one of the worst Doubletrees I ever stayed in.
The "non smoking" room I was in smelled awful ... I guess it was just "converted" from a smoking room. The rooms ( I saw 2 others) have a standard size but are all
quite dark. Bathrooms are small and plain. No luxury.
Rooms and beds somewhat clean but not cosy at all.
Will not return if I can avoid.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Applejodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
I truly apologize that you did not find our property up to your standards. Although not the norm - I do appreciate your comments and will certainly review them with the team. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust as we do value your business and expect your next stay will be much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    464
    164
    62
    34
See reviews for
569
245
58
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's price and proximity to PATH. Rooms are large and comfortable, but WIFI is an additional $13 charge/day. You can get free WIFI in the lobby area, but it's pretty loud when people around you are using Skype or watching videos. We did have noise issues across the hall on our second night and when I called the desk for help, I was told "I'll see what I can do, it's a wedding party" like that was a good reason to be awakened at 1:00am. I ended up opening the door and in a not-so-pleasant tone asked the wedding guests to stay in their room and lower the noise level. I mentioned this to a supervisor in the morning, she was very nice and promised to speak with the night staff.

Restaurant: One of our two rooms included free breakfast, but the food had so much grease I just ate my toast on the one morning I went down. I had a muffin the next day, and it was great. They have a good selection of fruit and cold items, and the pastries are very good. Hot buffet breakfast is $15. Valet Parking is $20. BJs and ShopRite are behind the hotel, plus there are many restaurants within two or three blocks.

Room Tip: Go for the city view, as high up as you can get. It's beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for the post and glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the excessive noise caused by neighboring guests. Hope you keep us in mind should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is decidedly average. I've stayed at DoubleTree properties across the US, and this is far and away the worst. There are some good things though.

Pros
1. Convenient location - It's a quick ride to Manhattan and to the Jersey City business district. There's a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby the hotel as well.
2. Friendly staff - I had a problem with the first room I was in (see below), and the staff was super helpful.
3. Mostly clean - The place is definitely not a motel, you'll be able to sleep without fear of bugs.
4. Reasonably comfortable bed - The bed was average, it's not the best, but far from the worst. You'll be able to get a decent night's sleep.

Cons
1. Kinda dirty - While the sheets, towels, and pillows where all clean, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower in my room was in desperate need of cleaning, there was a ton of mold on the grout. There were also rust stains on some of the tile where the handrail is. Also, the first I was given (407), reeked of smoke and had yellowed wallpaper and curtains. It was super gross, but the staff moved me to another room that was clean and smoke free.
2. Dark - I applaud Hilton for changing to energy efficient bulbs, and the room is OK, but when I showered, I felt like I was in a cave.
3. Older property - Things just feel very worn. The carpet had a few spots on it, the furniture was a little beat up, just very well used. Not what I'd expect from a business class hotel, and not what I'd expect from a DoubleTree.
4. Noisy - Because this is a tower hotel, the floors are on the smaller side, so you're likely to be either near a noisy elevator, or a noisy ice machine. Soundproofiing is minimal.
5. Paid Wi-Fi - I haven't paid for Internet access at a hotel for several years (across all types of hotels from luxury to motels), and it felt like I was going back in the dark ages when I connected and was asked how I wanted to pay for wireless access. This is so 2004 and the property needs to get with the times.

So all in all, not a terrible hotel, but there are better choices in Jersey City. Certainly not up to par with what I've come to expect from the DoubleTree brand.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators and ice machine, both are noisy and you will definitely here the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns and I do apologize that we fell short of exceeding your expectations. I will certainly share and review your comments with the appropriate department heads. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust should your travels take you back our way, as your noted experience is certainly an anomaly. Thank you again for your patronage and hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I little disappointed about the rooms especially the bed sheet it seems that they dont replace it for weeks... excellent front desk, house keeping. very nice location near the mall and train going to city..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and glad you found the location and staff excellent. Would appreciate if you could expand on your comment about the bed sheet. Please feel free to send me a note at jim.salvo@hilton.com so we may discuss further. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September, 2012 while visiting family and seeing the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The area around the hotel seemed safe - though the only walking around we did was to go to the Chilis 2 blocks away for dinner. The rooms were very nice and the free breakfast was very good.
Driving in New Jersey (and New York) is fairly stressful if you are not used to it, so when we arrived we were fairly stressed out and rethinking our decision to add this part of our trip... When we asked the front desk what the easiest way was to get to Liberty State Park for our ferry trip the following morning, they suggested a taxi... We took them up on their idea and were pleasantly surprised the next morning to find that it was actually a private car... For $20 each way we were taken directly to the ferry location, and the driver even gave us his cell phone number so when we were on the ferry coming back, we called him and he was waiting for us when we disembarked the ferry. Not having to deal with the stress of driving was well worth that cost and we were very grateful to the hotel staff for suggesting it.
We did not venture into Manhattan, but could see it right across the river.. so I imagine this hotel would be very convenient for sightseeing over there also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to see a couple of local sites. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a full city view at this place. Not bad, room came with tv, air con, bathtub, coffee and tea. Very nice, receptionist was friendly, 5 minutes walk to Path to New york. I liked the area, you can get to New York in half an hour. Doesn't have much parking for temporary stops had to pay 10 dollars to park it there for a while which was illogical but all in all the city view was nice, the bed... simply awesome

Room Tip: 1 thing to remember this stop is also called Pavonia! not just Newark sheesh! not sure why they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhimsyWhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

DoubleTree in Jersey City is in a prime location for visiting Manhattan. There is a Path station a block down the street which takes you directly into the city within 5-10 minutes. The rooms at the hotel are average, very clean and comfortable. The pillows are the softest you will ever find! Yet, above all this, the reason for my 5 star rating is the service we received at the front desk from Felix. He was extremely friendly, helpful with finding us transportation to/from Metlife Stadium and the airport, helped us with our bags, and gave some great advice on finding the best Bakery in NYC. I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that Felix took such good care of you. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing