We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Jersey City
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is how easy it is to get into NYC. The rooms were large but very basic and they smelled of smoke. Every alternate room is non-smoking meaning you get the smell from either side! With most hotels being non-smoking these days they should have a complete refurbishment and get with the times.
Breakfast was stale bread and cereal.
Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Caroline D,

Thank you for taking the time topost review regarding your recent stay experience at Econo Lodge.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding smell and breakfast quality on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping/maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Jersey City.

Kind Regards,

Manager
Econo Lodge
gm.nj072@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    11
    12
    46
See reviews for
18
18
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Myself and four friends stayed at this hotel over new years ('13-'14), and let me start by saying that finding a hotel room for five people is a nightmare. Econo Lodge offer the option of adding a camp bed to your room so that five people can stay in one room rather than having to rent two, which was great.

As for the price, you can't beat it. I believe we paid approx $200 per night and this was for NEW YEAR'S EVE, which was miles cheaper than anywhere else we looked at. I don't know why this place has such bad reviews -- why are people expecting a 5 star experience from a cheap motel?

The staff were great (he even let us use his printer), the room was basic but clean. Honestly, I have no complaints. We were only there while we were sleeping. If you're planning on spending 20 hours a day in your hotel, then you'll probably want to pay to go elsewhere. There was free cereal and pastries for breakfast too, which was nice lol. Sleep quality is good since it's pretty much on its own.

As for getting around -- we had a 20-30min walk to Journal Square, which is the nearest PATH (train) station, and then it was only a 10minute ride into the center of NYC. We got a weekly pass for the PATH trains to save money. As for getting around in NYC, definitely recommend getting a pass for the underground.

All in all -- econo lodge are cheap, clean and basic with friendly staff. if you want to stay in NYC for an amazing price, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K3ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam(K3ro),

Thank you for taking the time to post review about your stay experience at Econo Lodge with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words regarding staff service, cleanliness of room, breakfast, sleep quality and value for price paid. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Manager
Econo Lodge
201-420-9040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Room was filthy, bed had wrinkled sheets and hair on the pillow upon arrival. Rug was Vacuum repellant (meaning it hadn't seen one in a very long time). Non-Smoking rooms means no one is smoking at the present time. Room stunk of smoke and there were ash trays in a NON-SMOKING room. The hotel is also home to many homeless families in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear A P,

Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding smell and cleanliness. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
201-420-9040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

friendly staff and service. Nice rooms and clean was the most important thing for me. Perfect location to the metro and I hope to return. Based on the other reviews I thought I was going to regrett it but it turned out not half bad actually.

Room Tip: I like the ones towards the top floor and the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear EricP2000,

Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive review.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
201-420-9040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The biggest hell hole... Worst smelling property Ive ever stepped foot in. Filled with smoke of all kinds. Was told it was a brand new hotel, couldnt be further from the truth. Front desk clerk wouldnt let us out of the reservation even though I have asthma and am highly sensitive to smoke. We were given an 'upgrade' due to our disgust. We were moved to a handicapped room with a cracked 1970's tub. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!! Bad hotel. Bad service. The place needs to be burned down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jeff J,

Thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay experience at Econo Lodge.

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations, especially the smell problem. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
201-420-9040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had booked for non smoking room. The hotel was completely filled with the smell of smoke. There were bugs in the room and lot of noise outside. Not a hotel to rest. Front desk person is not helpful and the manager too. They just apologize for the service which was not up to the mark. Worst ever hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Naveen,

Thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a frequent traveler and as the Travel Coordinator for my company, sometimes I'm forced by circumstance to book into a hotel without reading reviews and doing research. This was one of the worst of those instances. This hotel is full of bugs, the bed sheets and coverlets are stained. I made a reservation for one of our salespeople, a woman, and she sent real time video to me once she'd checked in. In fact, she stayed checked in for exactly 15 minutes before she literally called a cab and went elsewhere. The ONLY reason it was booked was because there was a hotel shuttle and it was the only area hotel under $125/night that DID. There are lots of other choices. Paying a bit more is well worth it in this case.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoverOfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear LoverOfSeattle,

Thank you for taking the time to post review about one of your sales person's stay experience at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your/her expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you/your sales person will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Manager
Econo Lodge
201-420-9040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Jersey City

Property: Econo Lodge Jersey City
Address: 750 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Jersey City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Econolodge Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing