We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to both the Holland and Lincoln Tunnels, although toll is $12 to get to Manhattan. On a busy road but we had a second floor room at the back and it was quiet. Room was dated but clean. Beds were firm and comfortable. Had a micro/fridge and hairdryer that came in handy. Shower worked great. No tissue though so bring your own. Continental breakfast was kind of a joke. The breakfast area consists of 2 tables in the lobby. There were 2 kinds of cereal, muffins and packaged pastries, Tang juice, milk, a water dispenser and a coffee machine. Nothing hot and nothing fancy but clean. Parking was free and ample. We would stay again if we were going back to NYC. Good value for theprice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank littletomato19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    29
    15
    24
See reviews for
21
28
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have booked hotel for our senior person near by his co worker place. After I came to know that is worst place to stay, Rooms are stinks. While making booking over phone the staffs are rude. If we look cheapest options than quality of room other facility like pillow,bathroom are very poor. Touristor / Business advisor are try to avoid Red carpet Inn.

Room Tip: Book Esa even if it is far away,That is idle way.Only thing transportation charges need to bear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kannan958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

The room smells, could hear cars passing by which made sleeping very hard, rude front office, wi-fi doesn't work, flat pillows, did I mention smelly. Omg, should've slept in my car.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugraha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were flying out of Newark the next day and were looking for a cheap place to stay close to Manhattan. This is quite perfect for you, if you are in the same situation.
Sure, the rooms are not great, a bit smelly, quite cold (had to run the heating all night, the bathroom could have been as a fridge anyway) and even the free internet was shaky at times (another reason we booked)
The location is convenient though (only if you have a rental car of course), close to Manhattan and in downtown Hoboken there's actually stuff going on too.
So yea, not a great place. But for this price I don't think you can get any better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langerhans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

With a name like the Red Carpet Inn, you would expect at least the carpets to be clean. The carpets in the room were disgustingly smelly. Breakfast is in the lobby of the lounge area. 2 rocky tables. 3 chairs. Over 200 rooms. Avoid this like the plague unless you want to catch it. If you're looking for somewhere cheap to stay- use the subway floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Horrible! Crowdy roads, its hazardous just to get there without wrecking your car! The staff are rude, and if you speak in another language they call you racist while they talk to each other in spanish. They dont know how to get to the City by public transportation nor do they want to help you. No maps of the area nor of nyc in the place. The rooms were cold, you can hear noise from every other rooms, shower is horrible, shampoo and soap is miserable.

Room Tip: they dont have good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Worst Hotel ever!

We have stayed there for 5nights. The Reception is not welcoming at all- very disappointing. As a tourist we requested some certain information about public transportation to get to Manhattan etc. even to get a proper time table via internet was too much effort for them. The Breakfast the following morning ( which made at the time of the booking the whole thing more attractive to us ) was a joke! Fruit Loop’s, Cornflakes and some sweet backed muffins which you really cannot call “Breakfast” what so ever. They cleaned the room every day and changed towels unfortunately after the 5th night there was some jewellery’s missing which the reception did not take us serious to ask any member of the Housekeeping to check if that has been found by any chance. Seriously- I would honestly recommend this place if I did not had this disappointing experience. The only nice thing was a lovely Lady at the Reception who greets us nicely…any other service was just so bad. Please stay somewhere else even it costs more, believe me it is worth to do so!
best regards, L.

Room Tip: They do not have a safe in the room- do not leave your important stuff unattendent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,091 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 459 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307-4446 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing