We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful step back in time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Dante - CLOSED

Casa Dante
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kennedy Boulevard
Transit: 3 short blocks from the PATH Station at Journal Square. Convenient to local bus lines as well as all major highways. Beat the rush into Manhattan and stop at Casa Dante!
Description: Known for fine food, excellent service, great ambiance and a history of exceptional quality since 1971. Weekend live entertainment rounds out a diners experience at this Jersey City Landmark restaurant. Jazz Fridays with Happy Hour and Saturday night live standards & pop entertainment. A favorite of foodies, celebrities, sports figures, politicians and many loyal customers in the N.Y., N.J. metro area. Large banquet room and lounge area available for parties, weddings, rehearsal dinners, on-premise valet parking. Casa Dante, awarded 3 1/2 ( of 4) Stars by the NJ Star Ledger, 2013 Wine Spectator Award, Open Table Diners Choice Award 2013 Best Italian, Best Food, Best Overall. Trip Advisors Certificate of Excellence for 2013 Best Italian Restaurant by AOL & Top 10 Best Italian in NYC, yes, NYC, by Citysearch Live Entertainment Weekends. Valet Parking on Premises, full Bar and Wine service. Parties of 10 to 140 Executive Chef Gregg Freda.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A wonderful step back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a New Yorker I have often heard of Casa Dante in Jersey City as being one of the top "Old Fashioned" Italian restaurants in the east. My family and I ate at Casa Dante yesterday and everything was close to perfect. The setting is like a goodfellas set with ornate trappings and banqets. The tuxedo'd staff is professional and attentive and seems to be long term. The food is traditional and delicious. New twists on old standards that we Italian Americans have grown used to. I had a Scungilli Fra Diavolo which melted in my mouth. My wife and sister had eggplant and a terrific trippa dish (not on the menu but they made it for us). My entree, Rigatoni in a sausage sauce with ricotta featured sausage meatballs which you must try.Even the cheesecake was old fashioned ricotta cheesecake. The wine list is extensive(and expensive) and Casa Dante has entertainment on many nights. Valet parking is a plus in this busy area of Jersey City.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corps, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at this slightly old-fashioned Italian restaurant with very professional, pleasant waiters. Beautiful food - it was our first evening in the States and one of the best meals we had in three weeks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank josephine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“like a step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had the good fortune to have lunch there this week with a good friend... The good friend had been a frequent patron of Casa Dante -- years ago... You'd have never known it when we walked in... The maitre de greeted him by name... The waiter -- greeted him by name... It's hard to beat that customer service...

The food was classic Italian... like a step back in time... all the food was very tasty and obviously prepared to order... great risotto... pasta fagoli delicious...

I very much enjoyed this meal... And will return as soon as I can...

I did notice a pesky gnat another reviewer mentioned... but only one and not a big deal...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDante_JC, Owner at Casa Dante, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again. If anything regarding our food or service ever changes or does not meet your ( and our) standards, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Again, thank you for your patronage!

Dom Marino
Casa Dante
dmarino@casadante.com
Jersey City, New Jersey
201-795-2750
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful Night Club type of Restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place to spend a Saturday evening. There is always live entertainment. The Service is excellent. The Food is very good! I usually have Veal Chop broiled plain, and pasta
with butter. To make those dishes taste excellent, they must be fresh and of an high quality.! I have never had anything but an enjoyable time here. The entertainment is always excellent. There is a nice Dance floor. The Ambiance is very nice! The Staff is friendly, helpful and attentive! Casa Dante is a pleasant traditional setting!
If you would like to have a Party, or just enjoy a wonderful meal anytime, this is the place!
I usually visit Casa Dante whenever I want to be sure I will have a wonderful evening!
Stephen G.
Nutley NJ

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Level Contributor
239 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Gross Disappointment, place infested with FRUIT FLYS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place was an experience to remember. The place was infested with fruit flys, nats or whatever you want to call them. They were all over the walls and ceiling. Customers asked to have their table moved to avoild them to no avail.
The food was also sub-par. Nothing seems edible. The bug situation didn't help matters. I will never go there again unless I have the absolute assurrances that the negative situations have been talken care of.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDante_JC, Manager at Casa Dante, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks for returning after your review. It seems that the city had issues after Hurricane Sandy. We were subjected to the after effects of water levels and cleanup in the downtown area. All is back to normal now and were glad you came back to enjoy a dinner. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Dante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing