We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True picture of Holland Hotel”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Terrible/Horrible. Staff is highly irritating, does not know how to behave with customers. No courtesy to talk. 2. Room are horrible, dirty ,Air conditioner from the first century so you will struggling whole night with Ac's. Truly it is not a place to spend even one dollar. I would suggest to pay little extra and stay in a good environment and a decent hotel.
sincerely DD

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lewis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 675 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent three nights here in July. The hotel is old, but clean and the staff is very helpful. Breakfast was ok and eventhough our room faced the Holland tunnel, we were not bothered by traffic noise. The bathroom is fine and the room was ok for two adults and two kids.
We took the PATH train to Manhattan every day and after the first confusing attempt to find the station we enjoyed the commute.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWithKids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Planned a family visit to nyc and found the holland hotel on tripadvisor. We arived early ( 11 am) and the lady at the front desk was more than helpfull checking us in. We reserved two rooms and one was ready so we dropped our bags and were off to the city. Yes the hotel is right next to the holland tunnel but we got rooms on the parking lot side so noise from cars was not an issue. The parking is plentifull and well lit. 5 to 10 minute walk to path train. Nice area. Extremly clean rooms. Beds were fine. Breakfast is contenental so muffins, pastries, donuts, cereal and apples oranges and bannanas. The pastries are really good. There is a grocery store a few blocks away. Also a huge shopping mall. Overall you cannot go wrong by booking this hotel for your visit to nyc. I cannot wait to go back and visit nyc again and i will forsure stay at the holland tunnel hotel.for the price it is a great place to stay.




  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

For those travelling to the Big Apple on a budget the Holland Hotel is one of the best options. The rooms are clean and the bedding fresh and crisp. The free continental breakfast consists of coffee, cereals, yoghurt, bread, biscuits and fruit. You can have this in your room as there is not really any place to eat. It is situated close to many restaurants and shops and just a short walk from Path Station. The staff are exceptionally helpful especially with giving directions. Book a room overlooking the parking lot if you want quietness and remember the lift does not work on that side, so ask for a low floor. Overall, the hotel and service is good value for the very affordable price, when compared with other hotels in NYC. Gets my Vote.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I needed to find a hotel in Jersey City that was close to a PATH station. The Holland Hotel had plenty of safe free parking, quick access to a PATH station (less than a 10-minute walk), and was comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury, go somewhere else (and pay the luxury prices). If you want something that allows you to get a good night's sleep and wake up to a nice continental breakfast, you can't go wrong with the Holland. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice hotel, free parking and very close to manhatan. Rooms are big enough and clean. Breakfast in the morning is very good. A little walk to Path train wich takes you in 10 minutes to wold trade center or 33th street. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel in July with my daughter and wife and it was very clean. The room was very small with 2 tightly packed full beds. Each bed was against the walls on the outside. The price was very reasonable and the walking distance to the PATH trains was about 10 minutes. Parking is also free and security seemed to be adequate. They have a small no frills continental breakfast which was also well kept up.

Room Tip: The walk to the PATH system is simple but un-marked. Make sure you get good directions. You basica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
646 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#2 of 14 in Jersey City
2,944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $115 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing