We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even one star...”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Even one star...”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

...would be to much. Stood here on our way to New York. The rooms are very,very old and worn out. Everything looks like 30years old and in some rooms there aren't even proper windows. If you want you could call it Souterrain but it's more like a hole in the ground. The prices are way overcharged even for New York.
The breakfast is small and you have to carry it to your room, no elevator around and no breakfast room available.
I don't understand the good ratings here. It is better than sleeping in your car but thats it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    293
    64
    15
    20
See reviews for
255
162
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the second time me and my friends stayed here. The hotel is in a good location. Close to the path trains,light rail and right beside the tunnel if traveling by car. The rooms aren't luxury but there great for the basics. And the staff are friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrigrant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It's by no means a luxury hotel, but it is clean and tidy and good value.
A good base if using Newark airport.
Staff helpful and friendly.
You reach New York by taking the PATH train from Newport station. Newport is about 10 mins' walk from the hotel and the staff will give you directions.
From Newport the PATH will quickly take you to either World Trade Center or 33rd Street. The staff can let you know which is the better option for where you want to go, but it doesn't really matter, given that you will probably hop onto the subway in NY anyway. Buy a Metro ticket and load it with credit at Newport station - you can use the ticket on both the PATH and the subway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appling, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here several times when visiting NYC. Short commute to NYC via subway station. Motel parking if you are driving, much better than parking in NYC. Short walk to great area for dining. Hotel staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaLisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you need a place to stay while visiting the city and you don't want to pay outrageous Manhattan prices, this is it. I arrived at about 9:00 AM and just wanted to check in with reception to let them know I was parking my car there. I'm sure check-in time is sometime after noon, but they checked and my room was ready, so I was able to unload luggage right away. Very helpful staff gave me clear directions to the PATH train and PATH and subway schedules. After a long day in Manhattan the staff had on hand a menu for a Chinese restaurant that delivered directly to my room.

I would definitely stay there again.

My bed was next to the window on the tunnel side and it did get a little noisy when the rush hour traffic started in the morning, but not too bad, and not any noisier than the birds! Person in other bed was not bothered at all. Don't expect a lot of frills like mouthwash and shower caps, but there was soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very convenient location for visiting NYC and of course a lot cheaper than staying in NYC, but it's an old building with small rooms, small bathrooms, small beds (doubles), not very comfortable mattresses, very meager breakfast served in a very crowded corner of the lobby, and your room will be noisy if you're on the side of the building facing the entrance to the Holland Tunnel. Some nice furnishings in the rooms, like new TV's, microwave, fridge, and safe (which is nice to have around NYC), and everything is kept quite clean. While everything is maintained fairly well, it all just shows its age in terms of the old tile and plumbing in the bathrooms, and the musty smell in the rooms if you don't keep the HVAC unit running.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side away from the very busy street that leads into the Holland Tunnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbavguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is a good one. The booking and the billing process are flawless, not to mention the awesome hospitality. I have been there twice and did not face any problem at all. Flawless! Its near the SImon's mall in Newport, where you can enjoy the delicious Indian food and also near the Newport Path station - so you can travel to New York in a 15 min journey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SG_trip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing