We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad food, tastes awefull”
Review of China Spice

China Spice
Ranked #219 of 602 Restaurants in Jersey City
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bad food, tastes awefull”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited this place once and once we did a home delivery. The Food was ok when we ate there, but when we got the home delivery it was terrible.
The dishes tasted on Chinese salt and they were very cour because of that. We had to throw away all the food because we weren't even sure if the food was fresh or stale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dhruva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite food in Journal Square”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice fusion food. Has a north Indian touch to it. We almost always order the same food because it's just so good. For three adults and a kid, we order individual Manchow soups (spicy and very good), Kai Chi (which is their name for drums of heaven), a Dry Cauliflower Manchurian and a Hakka Chilli Chicken gravy for the main course and an extra boiled rice. Their fried rice is good too and I've heard good reviews about their fish. We've tried a few other dishes from their menu over the past couple of years and don't recall a single dish that we didn't enjoy. Their service isn't what it used to be, we love the ambience, and watch your bill for added gratuity. I've seen them run promotions on GroupOn in case that's your thing. Must visit if you're in the area and if you enjoy Indo-Chinese cuisine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spamwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food in little India”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great fusion restaurant. Service was very friendly. Food was very good. Prices were also reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toplsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level 6 Contributor
1,152 reviews
799 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Excellent BYOB”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Do not be fooled,this area in Jersey City is mostly restaurants from India,but China Spice is a Chinese restaurant with India accents.The staff went overboard to make our dinner delightful.Very patient going over all the choices,and answering all our questions.One very important tip,we circled the block several times because of lack of parking,my friend finally went into the restaurant while I doubled park outside,we found out that there are two parking lots on the street and they only charge 2.00 to park.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Spice also viewed

 

Been to China Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing