We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel close to Manhattan without paying Manhattan prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Jersey City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Jersey City
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel close to Manhattan without paying Manhattan prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in october and found it to be really convenient getting into the centre of New York. The Path train is just 10 mins from hotel and costs $1.75 each way straight into 33rd street or World trade centre.
The staff were always helpful and our room always clean. The rooms were huge. Ours had two bedrooms and a kitchenette area with a fridge and microwave. The room was a bit dated but who cares about decor when you spend most of your time in New York city.
The complimentary breakfast was very welcome. Cereals, toast bagels and doughnuts etc and fruit juice and coffee. As much as you could eat and drink.
The area is mainly espanic but don't be put off by the area. It wasn't intimidating at all. We always felt safe even late at night.
The VIP Diner around the corner was handy but be warned the portions could feed a third world country so either be very hungry or share. ha ha. That goes for all food portions in New York actually.
I read up on this hotel before we went and have to say the reviews on bed bugs and dodgy beds completely untrue.
The shuttle service from Newark Airport was a great help. Our driver even took us back to our terminal rather than just to the airport and let us find our own way around. Thank you.
We would definately stay here again.
Enjoy your holiday.......

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieClan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    487
    211
    69
    69
See reviews for
426
252
69
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

A great hotel that is away from the hustle and bustle of New York,yet close enough to travel into New York daily.A really good cheap alternative if you are willing to travel each day.The PATH train is about a ten minute walk away and takes about 30 minutes into New York,centre Manhatten.Large room with small kitchen area,fridge microwave,coffee maker.Breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We went here on advice on trip advisor rather than paying stupid rates in NYC. We made the first mistake by flying to JFK rather than Newark so we had to battle our way from JFK to Jersey city with suitcases so anyone thinking of going here book Newark!

On arrival we took the PATH and were pleasantly surprised that it was only a 5 min walk from Journal Square. We only felt intimidated once or really I did not my hubby as I experienced a bit of racism coming of the PATH a lovely young black lady say I dont like white people which I feel was directed at us as we where the only white people in the area, then made a comment about me not making eye contact with her (she was behind me) Think she was trying to start something but as a adult I didnt rise to it, I walked away head down, But this is the only bad experience we had in NJ everyone else was lovely and even walking home at Midnight on Sunday night we didnt feel scared etc, So please do not let one ignorant person put you off.

The Hotel staff where great really sweet and always obliging. We were allocated room 214 which was a double room with a king size bed and also another room with a double bed. The beds where soooo comfy and big enough for both of us I sleep like a starfish !
The view was well the street nothing else.

We also had a a fridge microwave and coffee maker, Although the coffee in the room was not the best we had one cup and decided not to have another, Breakfast was nice and not too heavy my only grumbles where that the room could get crowded and only 2 toasters so you had to wait for toast, Plenty of juice, teas and nice coffee (not like in the room) But plenty of pastries, donuts, cereals fruits pancakes etc. Breakfast was good we had brekkie everyday.
There is a safe in the room, which was free you use your card to open and lock it.

If you are going to NYC then I would suggest staying in Manhattan for the only reason that after a few hours in Manhattan sightseeing you are exhausted so to stop back at your hotel for a nap would be easier than taking the PATH back and forward. Also the PATH doesnt run 24 hours a day at weekends and holidays so on Sunday night we cut our night out short to get the PATH back as a taxi would have been very expensive and a lot of cabs dont go over the river!
We must have walked for miles and miles which helps as we ate so much food in NYC is soooo good we tried everything going delicous!

If your going to NYC you will love it we had such a great time and nothing Horrible to report New Yorkers are friendlier than you think and everyone is always happy to help you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

after long online search for hotels we finally decide to book this one.
we actually want to book hotel in NY but as you know the price could go up 10 times more.
so we book this hotel. only 5 minutes walk to PATH (subway or train system that connect New Jersey and NY). and within 15 train travel you will arrive in the center of NY. times sq, empire state, 5th avenue, and little Korea is just a walking distance.
very convenient.

the room is hugeeee, clean, and there's hot water.

the downside is that we end up park our car in public parking building nearby (3min walking) which cost 12$/night, because the hotel parking area is overload.
and the area is a bit dark.

but its totally worth the value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

The hotel is 5-10 minutes from the very convenient PATH trains to the city (the ride takes about 20'). We got a very spacious room with all kinds of amenities and a huge bed. From the bites, I suspect there were bed bugs though, although it might've been mosquitoes...
Anway: impossible to find an affordable hotel like this (we payed about $85 a night) in the city. Too bad the breakfast room was so crowded all the time. They should make it bigger.
The neighbourhood, then, kinda sucked: run-down and the only Americans left were driving cop cars ;)
For dinner, check out the "V.I.P. diner" close by. Cheap, tasty food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

When travelling you have to realize that the places you go are not going to be the same as it is at home. I read a lot of reviews prior to booking and was a little apprehensive about this Hotel. We were very pleased when we arrived. The room and hotel was clean and tidy. The first night we had some noise coming from the smoking courtyard but the staff moved us the next morning with no problem. The breakfast area was good but it was better to arrive early as it was busy after 9AM. The area surrounding the hotel is old but what area in New York isnt. There is a very nice 24 hour restaurant close buy (VIP) and the PATH train station is less than 10 min walk. When you are travelling in NYC that is the only way to go so walking an extra 10 min is not an issue. We were able to get to Times Sq within 30 minutes depending on the time of day. The elevator was slow mid mornings so the stairs are the quicker way to go. The front desk staff were always helpful and the shuttle bus was always on schedule.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zookeeper_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

Very good rate for a NYC area hotel. Not a new hotel, though clean room with sufficient space. Only bathroom was small but still ok. Quick ride to Manhattan via PATH. Take single trips for 1,75 $ each. There is a 10-trip-ticket for 13 $ available, but you have to buy a Smartcard for 5 $ first. As you won't get the 5 $ refund the 10-trip sums up to 18 $. For more trips it could be cheaper.
The 5 min. walk from PATH to the hotel is along the main road and safe. There are always many people leaving and going to the PATH and security as well. We never felt afraid. There is a supermarket on Sip Ave, close to the hotel. Ask the reception desk for exact directions. We bought there snacks and drinks. The breakfast is fine to keep you going until lunchtime. We enjoyed our stay there and it will be our place to stay if we visit NYC the next time.
The hotel offers a free shuttle from/to Newark Airport. The shuttle leaves every full hour from the hotel. Departure from Newark is every half hour. As far as I can remember only during daytime.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magyar_lany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Jersey City

Property: Ramada Jersey City
Address: 65 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07306-5412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Jersey City 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 100 percent Non Smoking and we are conveniently located in the heart of Jersey City just one block away from The New Jersey Path Train station and bus transportation center, Journal Square. This Path Station offers a train that will take you right into the heart of Manhattan in 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Jersey City
Jersey City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing