We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few niggles keeps it from being rated 5 out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A few niggles keeps it from being rated 5 out of 5”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - family with two children. 2x Queen beds.It was a great base to explore NYC, right next to the PATH station and we'd got a deal which worked out at half the rate of the equivalent hotel on Manhattan itself. Location is great, the immediate surrounding area didn't seem to have much going on but we were there for NYC and the views across to the financial district were a great way to start the day. The buffet breakfast was excellent and far better value than many of the meals we had on our two week holiday, plenty of variety from pastries to cereals, fresh fruits, cheese and ham etc. Coffee was top! Pleasant bar to while away a few hours late in the evening - not very lively but that's not what we were looking for. The room itself was a good size, comfortable and clean.

Now onto a couple of minor annoyances which stopped us coming away and saying 'wow, what a great stay'. You can tell when a hotel chain is run by hoteliers or the finance men by the tea/coffee facility in the room. For 'luxuriously appointed rooms' we had two large cardboard coffee cups (no sleeves to hold them though when they were hot) and two coffees to put into the little coffee machine (plus two decaffeinated coffees). And two tea bags if we wanted tea. The condiments sachet contained two creamers (one per coffee) and frankly three in each were needed to have any effect in the large cup! So we effectively had black coffee. Miserly is what I call it! So i left a note with a tip for houskeeping to leave us more creamer/condiments sachets as the coffee needed 2-3 sachets. What they did was leave us four coffees and four sachets. A fairly simple request but not followed. As there was free Starbucks coffee in the lounge in the mornings I gave up with housekeeping and just took a bundle of creamer sachets for future use. But the point is really the bean counters restricting everything in the first place. Secondly, although the decor was in pretty good order throughout there were a couple of pictures next to our room and the frames were coming apart - just slightly tatty and they hadn't been dusted for a while. Then there were flower petals dropped by housekeeping in our corridor one morning and when we came back to our room mid afternoon they were still there. Small things but it's this sort of attention to detail that sets the good apart from the great! The staff in the restaurant (we had breakfast there twice) were exceptionally attentive and friendly but the front desk staff were a bit short and lacking a smile. Not rude or anything just not terribly welcoming.

We paid for this via a booking agency several months ahead. They swiped my credit card for any room charges but when I got home I found that they had made five charges to my card (the same amount each time) that were unexplained and certainly unauthorised. Then they had made four refunds. Totally inexplicable. It took me several days of emails and eventually a phone call before they finally admitted that they had made an error and I was still due a refund of one of the unauthorised charges.

The annoyances wouldn't stop me staying there again. It was good and if you can get a deal a great value place to stay very close to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
dontjustsitroundpool,

Thank you for your honest feedback! We do not take any feedback lightly because it only helps us with our areas of opportunity and helps us to better train our employees. We certainly will be following up with your concerns during your stay and I am happy to hear that it did not ultimately ruin your stay. Please let us know when you plan to return to our hotel!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    788
    182
    96
    48
See reviews for
873
712
142
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was born and raised in New York and lived there for 30 years, but have not lived there for more than a decade so when I return I need to find lodging. Although my mother is from New Jersey, somehow I had never been to Jersey City. I was amazed.

The Hyatt sits just above the PATH train to the world trade center. In four minutes, you can be downtown, and in another four you can be in the West Village or Chelsea. This is far more convenient than most hotels in Midtown at a fraction of the price.

The views of the NY skyline, statue of liberty, etc. are killer. There are some great runs around the water, and a lively but small downtown within walking distance.

The rooms are stylish and large. One downside of my room was that you can hear all the details of what is happening in the adjoining room when the doors are closed / locked. I was awoken this AM by 30 minutes of phlegm production by the gentleman next door, and on both sides of me I could hear the opening and closing of each notch of the stylish blinds.

I did not use the gym or eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our entire family stayed at the Hyatt Regency Jersey City for my husband's work conference the week of April 15-19. I can't say one negative thing about this hotel. The entire experience was wonderful!! Every single staff member was so polite and accommodating. Whether it was the housekeeping staff, front desk, valet, gift shop employees, restaurant staff, etc. Always a "hello" every single time we passed any of them. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The view of Manhattan was absolutely breathtaking! They have a pier where you can either go for a walk or relax on the benches to take in the skyline of Manhattan right across the Hudson River. This was a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, but at the same time still taking it in. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from outside of the hotel as well. I highly recommend a little place down the street called The City Diner. The PATH subway station literally right next door gets you to Manhattan or you can take a water taxi across the river. We felt very safe staying here as well. There was always a police presence right outside of the subway station. I'm not sure if it's always like this or if it's because the Boston bombings were the same week. I would highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Jersey City to anyone that doesn't want to stay directly in the city or anyone that just wants a top notch hotel experience. I would definitely stay there again. The only negative (and this has nothing to do with the hotel) is that it does get a little pricey for a family of five to keep going between NJ and NY on the subway multiple times a day.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
mamwalters,

Thank you for such a detailed review! I am happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and our staff only added to that experience. During the week with the Boston events, we did have higher security in the area so that you are correct on. I know the transportation for a family of five can definitely add up quickly on the subways but it does beat paying the high prices staying in NYC! Hope to see you and your family again soon!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting NYC. Its in a great location, with fabulous views across the Hudson River across the water to Lower Manhattan. The PATH train was right outside the Hotel, offering easy access to the City.Great location.

Room Tip: Take a River view looking South across the river , and towards the statue( SOL).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Jersey City for 1 night to attend a family function in New York City. I purposely chose this particular hotel since my previous stay was pretty pleasant and the proximity to the city via PATH train.
When we arrived at a bit before 1 pm, no 2 double beds room was available for an immediate check-in for the category that we booked for, but we were told if we pay $20 upgrade fee, several rooms are available -- one with the Statue of Liberty view, or the other one with the Manahttan skyline. We decided $20 was worth it so that we can settle down after a long drive and not have to wait till 4 pm. As to the view, we were indifferent.
We went up to the room and was a bit dissapointed with the "view". We are from NYC originally, so the Statue of Liberty view is no big deal, but the room only has the side-view of the Statue, and otherwise, just the view of Berrazano Bridge and the NYC Harbour pretty much. I would think the Manhattan skyline would probably be nicer.

We noticed that there were a couple of weddings taking place at the property on the particular day. Did not think too much of it -- after all it is spring, and I am sure this must be the high season for the wedding. Then, at around 8 pm or so, our whole room started to vibrate and shake, apparently from the reception floor 2 floors up from us. My husband immediately went downstaris and complained especailly when we paid the supposedly, "Upgrade" fee.
They immediately offered us to move to a lower floor and agreed to refund the fee. We moved down 2 more floors, and though we could still hear the "thump-thump" of the music, it was not as bad. As soon as we relocated, we received a phone call from the manager asking us if we were satisfied with our new room, which was nice.
(btw. the room was supposedly in the lower category, but it had almost identical view as the "Upgraded" room.)
Then, the manager also sent us a hand-written note with an apology and the offers for the comp. breakfast for 2 (tax/tip included), which was again a nice gesture. At the end of the day, we recieved 2 more letters, one from the Gold Passport support, and another one from the Banquet Manager. I really feel the "noise" was probably pretty much unavoidable in any room at the property, but at least, they tried to make it better somehow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenatoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Lenatoya,

It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not to your exceptions. Please feel free to contact me directly at Megan.Gederian@Hyatt.com to further discuss your reservation in detail. Hope you had a wonderful holiday weekend!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel literally the night before our departure, just because I was craving for the bubble tea and Chinese food in NYC. If you do not want to spend $300+/night for a small room in NYC yet would like to explore the city by public transportation,this is the hotel for you. The hotel is adjacent to the Exchange Station, from which it only took us 4 minutes to go to the World Trade Center. The facility and room are typical for the Regency line, the view of NYC skyscrapers at night is amazing, the bathroom is clean, the front desk and other staff are friendly. If you do not want to spend $32 for valet parking over night, you can walk a couple of blocks and try to find street parking-we did it and it only cost us $3. Another tip is if you want to visit more than 2 stops in NYC, get a smartlink day pass:one stop in NYC will cost you $2.75, and the round trip between Exchange station to world trade center will be around 4.5 let alone you will also pay $1 for the card fee. The day pass will be $6.75+$5(card fee).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel and still find the veiw amazing, Hotel is typical Hyatt - but the location more than makes up for any shortfalls Path train is directly out side 3mins to world tradecentre - 5 mins to times square. Location is on the hudson directly opposite Manhatten with un interupted veiws of the skyline fabulous especially at night also views to Statue of Liberty from many rooms. great Veiws, Great Service and central to Manhatten without the Hussle Bussle and noise. 5* everytime

Room Tip: most rooms have either Manhatten or Staue of Liberty veiws higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,178 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Property: Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Address: 2 Exchange Pl, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3901
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing