We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality hotel convenient for New Jersey and Manhatten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good quality hotel convenient for New Jersey and Manhatten”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose to stay here because we had a family celebration in New Jersey and our daughter lives in Queens. This was half way between the two.The hotel has a wonderful view of Manhatten and pleasant walks along the Hudson.
The service was good and the food high quality although the restaurant menu has limited choices.
The room was modern and comfortable.
As we had a car it was convenient to use valet parking even though it is expensive.It is more of a business than leisure hotel and the surrounding town is quite characterless.
We returned for one night on our way back to UK as we had been in the Carribean and were returning to the UK via Newark.On our first stay there was free wifi but on the second no longer!
I complained and they did not charge it for the one night BUT this is such a scam by hotels as it costs them almost nothing to provide it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis_anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
dennis_anthony,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! We hope you enjoyed your time with your daughter! Feel free to contact me directly at megan.gederian@hyatt.com if you would like to further discuss your concerns with the internet charges. Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    797
    185
    98
    49
See reviews for
892
721
143
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in early December at $285/night. The room was just ok. The bathroom had a broken sink bowl and mold in the shower. The furniture was worn. In the restaurant, I ordered a crab pasta dish for $29 and it had one piece of crab in it. The next morning we ordered room service and they only brought half our order and had to go back for the other half. Thirty minutes later they came with the second half.For at $700 night with valet parking, dinner, drinks and breakfast, it was a terrible value. All in all, I would and will spend my money at the Westin. It is a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
dr907,

It is disappointing to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your previous stay. I would love to discuss your matters further so that we can try to rectify your experience. Please contact me directly at your convenience at megan.gederian@hyatt.com. I hope to hear from you in the near future!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

OMG Drama Drama Drama....... Where to start!!! AWESOME staff minor hiccups!!! House keeping was abit lay back at first... but Lady YUXI you did a great job (plus Magic) with your staff member our room was extremely clean afterwards.... BIG chain hotel but everyone knows each other!!! Path station (Train $2.20 One way $1.70 if you buy 10 ride at the near off license) take you direct to WTC World Trade Centre.

Front line Manager at Hyatt Yvoone Yip 5 star quality you are, excellent communication skills thanks for calling me asking how am I doing with my baby after been lock out from my room for 30 minutes nothing major just the key was not done properly so it doesnt work on my first attempt to use it..... waited 30 mins with shopping bags, stroller, and pizza my hands kindda full but Megan Gederian ( haha i know your full name) sorry to say you might need an extra management course dear... perhaps anger management routine check and never say your customer was wrong and treaten them to check your recorded line and minutes of waiting lol... anyway the value was I and my newborn baby was waiting for your staff for an extra hand but nevertheless none of front desk ladies on that night duty 04th January 2013 are bodered enough to come up and help me open the door... anyway... fogive and forget... im neutral...

05th January 2013 dinner time, myself and hubby decided to dine at the lobby restaurant with the little angel of ours but i end up in the emergency unit at Christ Hospital NYC due to food allergy...thats what i meant by drama drama drama.... why am i sharing this is the support i receive that night was awesome... i had all the front line, front desk act fast enough to safe my life... my face was fully swollen and i was unable to breath... hey this is a life treatening situation... but i just wanna say thumbs up to the Paramedic team NYC, Front desk staff on 6th Jan 2013.. you know who you are,, please tap your back and praise yourself for your excellent staff skills...5 STAR people.....Management team, restaurant staff (Mohammed, Michelle, Hai yu..... 5 star) front desk, room service, bell boy, parking attendant... I dont know how much more to praise this Hotel... HYATT REGENCY ON HUDSON... truly amazing service you make me feel like HOME just like HOME in London.... Thank you soo much for our amazing 8 days experience and promise this is not the last,,, I will with no doubt staying there again!!! :) XXXXX

opps i forgot to mention... if you are travelling with family please dont try to eat out Hyatt does amazing dinner, lunch and breakfast... and please Iron Monkey restaurant.. is actually a pub.. full of drunken people....not as mention from the previous review traveller!! Fancy Chinese restaurant up the road off Hyatt was a misery!! Bad service bad food not hygenic lol.. we stayed with Hyatt regardless....price is actually reasonable comparing with london standard restaurant!!! :))) my honest opinion

Room Tip: All room i presume is great!!! we had an amazing river view and manhattan on 6th floor room 667...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have had many memorable stays at Hyatt Jersey City. The views of Manhattan are phenomenal and come without the associated price tag. Our most recent experience was less than ideal due to a serious misunderstanding which was not fully resolved to our satisfaction. We are hopeful that a recent change in management will provide us with an opportunity to renew and strengthen our relationship with Hyatt Jersey City since we were impressed with the manner in which problems we encountered at the Grand Hyatt New York and the Cambridge Hyatt were professionally resolved. Furthermore, we have always been more than satisified with Hyatt properties in California, Arizona, Florida, Toronto and Montreal, not to mention Shanghai and Hong Kong where customer service is akin to an art.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GD566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Gina H,

I am pleased to hear that you have many memorable stays at Hyatt Regency Jersey City so it disappoints me to hear that your last stay did not meet your expectations. At your convenience, please contact me directly at megan.gederian@hyatt.com so that we can rectify the situation. Your continued loyalty is very important to us! Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stay here before but this was the best. Working on a weekend isn't fun but when you ask if they have a small suite they upgraded me to a fantastic suite. The staff is great, from the valet that took the car, the front desk staff, the bartender and the wait staff in the dinning room. The view from the room was unreal and I was born and raised in New York so it tales a lot to impress me with views of the city. Absolutely Great Place to Stay!!!!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Arnie J,

Your last statement says it all! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Why would you want to stay in Manhattan when you can have THIS view from your hotel room?! We spent a week over Christmas in the Hyatt Regency, Jersey City and were nothing but impressed with the service, rooms, cleanliness and location. The PATH train ride into the Financial District was quick, convenient and easy, despite there being 8 of us travelling together. Our rooms were clean, the sheets soft and the beds very comfortable. The staff went above and beyond trying to accommodate our queries and needs for which we were most grateful. Our only suggestion would be that the Christmas Day Menu in the Vu Restaurant probably could have added a few more "kid friendly" options. We desperately wanted to celebrate Christmas night in the Vu Restaurant and watch the city lights come on but the menu was a little to "fancy shmancy" for the kids! Apart from that - cannot fault our stay. Thank you Hyatt Regency, Jersey City - we had an awesome time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side get the view of the Empire State whereas the rooms on the southern side g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrilee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Derrille Y,

That is wonderful you and your family had an awesome stay! Thank you for submitting your picture of the Empire State Building in it's festive holiday colors.... beautiful shot!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

AMAZING views of NYC! We stayed 12/20/12 for 3 nights just prior to a cruise and I was so impressed with everything about this property and the staff. I paid extra to upgrade our room via the Hyatt offer that optional when booking online. Checked in and the upgrade was available and we enjoyed a terrific room with balcony for our stay. With the curtains open of this corner room or from the balcony, the panorama of NYC is spectacular, night and day. Proximity to the PATH is great also...right out of the hotel door. We were able to use the PATH on Friday (which was great), however due to repairs, the PATH was not open on the weekend days, so the hotel provided a shuttle to the Grove Street station for quick access into NYC. Great coffee in the lobby in the morning and the Vu restaurant breakfast was buffet or off the menu. The buffet was comprehensive, had an egg/omlete station and offered some regionally sourced items such as three different types of honey (all were yummy) as well as a chicken sausage. Dinner at Vu was also very nice as well. The bartender made great martinis! Vu was a bit pricey, but the food and view are worth it and not out of line for a hotel in this location with these amenities. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and made every effort to make our stay truely the best! Front desk staff was outstanding! Not surprised that this is #1 hotel in Jersey City....we will be back!

Room Tip: Corner balcony room with two double beds (only two of these rooms in the hotel) worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Andrea L,

I am pleased to hear your feedback about the amazing upgrade you purchased! You certainly cannot go wrong with a Vu martini either!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
627 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Property: Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Address: 2 Exchange Pl, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3901
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing