We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no way this is number 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in early December at $285/night. The room was just ok. The bathroom had a broken sink bowl and mold in the shower. The furniture was worn. In the restaurant, I ordered a crab pasta dish for $29 and it had one piece of crab in it. The next morning we ordered room service and they only brought half our order and had to go back for the other half. Thirty minutes later they came with the second half.For at $700 night with valet parking, dinner, drinks and breakfast, it was a terrible value. All in all, I would and will spend my money at the Westin. It is a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

dr907,

It is disappointing to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your previous stay. I would love to discuss your matters further so that we can try to rectify your experience. Please contact me directly at your convenience at megan.gederian@hyatt.com. I hope to hear from you in the near future!

Best,

Megan Gederian
Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

OMG Drama Drama Drama....... Where to start!!! AWESOME staff minor hiccups!!! House keeping was abit lay back at first... but Lady YUXI you did a great job (plus Magic) with your staff member our room was extremely clean afterwards.... BIG chain hotel but everyone knows each other!!! Path station (Train $2.20 One way $1.70 if you buy 10 ride at the near off license) take you direct to WTC World Trade Centre.

Front line Manager at Hyatt Yvoone Yip 5 star quality you are, excellent communication skills thanks for calling me asking how am I doing with my baby after been lock out from my room for 30 minutes nothing major just the key was not done properly so it doesnt work on my first attempt to use it..... waited 30 mins with shopping bags, stroller, and pizza my hands kindda full but Megan Gederian ( haha i know your full name) sorry to say you might need an extra management course dear... perhaps anger management routine check and never say your customer was wrong and treaten them to check your recorded line and minutes of waiting lol... anyway the value was I and my newborn baby was waiting for your staff for an extra hand but nevertheless none of front desk ladies on that night duty 04th January 2013 are bodered enough to come up and help me open the door... anyway... fogive and forget... im neutral...

05th January 2013 dinner time, myself and hubby decided to dine at the lobby restaurant with the little angel of ours but i end up in the emergency unit at Christ Hospital NYC due to food allergy...thats what i meant by drama drama drama.... why am i sharing this is the support i receive that night was awesome... i had all the front line, front desk act fast enough to safe my life... my face was fully swollen and i was unable to breath... hey this is a life treatening situation... but i just wanna say thumbs up to the Paramedic team NYC, Front desk staff on 6th Jan 2013.. you know who you are,, please tap your back and praise yourself for your excellent staff skills...5 STAR people.....Management team, restaurant staff (Mohammed, Michelle, Hai yu..... 5 star) front desk, room service, bell boy, parking attendant... I dont know how much more to praise this Hotel... HYATT REGENCY ON HUDSON... truly amazing service you make me feel like HOME just like HOME in London.... Thank you soo much for our amazing 8 days experience and promise this is not the last,,, I will with no doubt staying there again!!! :) XXXXX

opps i forgot to mention... if you are travelling with family please dont try to eat out Hyatt does amazing dinner, lunch and breakfast... and please Iron Monkey restaurant.. is actually a pub.. full of drunken people....not as mention from the previous review traveller!! Fancy Chinese restaurant up the road off Hyatt was a misery!! Bad service bad food not hygenic lol.. we stayed with Hyatt regardless....price is actually reasonable comparing with london standard restaurant!!! :))) my honest opinion

Room Tip: All room i presume is great!!! we had an amazing river view and manhattan on 6th floor room 667...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have had many memorable stays at Hyatt Jersey City. The views of Manhattan are phenomenal and come without the associated price tag. Our most recent experience was less than ideal due to a serious misunderstanding which was not fully resolved to our satisfaction. We are hopeful that a recent change in management will provide us with an opportunity to renew and strengthen our relationship with Hyatt Jersey City since we were impressed with the manner in which problems we encountered at the Grand Hyatt New York and the Cambridge Hyatt were professionally resolved. Furthermore, we have always been more than satisified with Hyatt properties in California, Arizona, Florida, Toronto and Montreal, not to mention Shanghai and Hong Kong where customer service is akin to an art.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GD566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Gina H,

I am pleased to hear that you have many memorable stays at Hyatt Regency Jersey City so it disappoints me to hear that your last stay did not meet your expectations. At your convenience, please contact me directly at megan.gederian@hyatt.com so that we can rectify the situation. Your continued loyalty is very important to us! Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

Megan Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stay here before but this was the best. Working on a weekend isn't fun but when you ask if they have a small suite they upgraded me to a fantastic suite. The staff is great, from the valet that took the car, the front desk staff, the bartender and the wait staff in the dinning room. The view from the room was unreal and I was born and raised in New York so it tales a lot to impress me with views of the city. Absolutely Great Place to Stay!!!!!

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Arnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Arnie J,

Your last statement says it all! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Best,

Megan Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Why would you want to stay in Manhattan when you can have THIS view from your hotel room?! We spent a week over Christmas in the Hyatt Regency, Jersey City and were nothing but impressed with the service, rooms, cleanliness and location. The PATH train ride into the Financial District was quick, convenient and easy, despite there being 8 of us travelling together. Our rooms were clean, the sheets soft and the beds very comfortable. The staff went above and beyond trying to accommodate our queries and needs for which we were most grateful. Our only suggestion would be that the Christmas Day Menu in the Vu Restaurant probably could have added a few more "kid friendly" options. We desperately wanted to celebrate Christmas night in the Vu Restaurant and watch the city lights come on but the menu was a little to "fancy shmancy" for the kids! Apart from that - cannot fault our stay. Thank you Hyatt Regency, Jersey City - we had an awesome time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side get the view of the Empire State whereas the rooms on the southern side g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrilee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Derrille Y,

That is wonderful you and your family had an awesome stay! Thank you for submitting your picture of the Empire State Building in it's festive holiday colors.... beautiful shot!

Best,

Megan Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

AMAZING views of NYC! We stayed 12/20/12 for 3 nights just prior to a cruise and I was so impressed with everything about this property and the staff. I paid extra to upgrade our room via the Hyatt offer that optional when booking online. Checked in and the upgrade was available and we enjoyed a terrific room with balcony for our stay. With the curtains open of this corner room or from the balcony, the panorama of NYC is spectacular, night and day. Proximity to the PATH is great also...right out of the hotel door. We were able to use the PATH on Friday (which was great), however due to repairs, the PATH was not open on the weekend days, so the hotel provided a shuttle to the Grove Street station for quick access into NYC. Great coffee in the lobby in the morning and the Vu restaurant breakfast was buffet or off the menu. The buffet was comprehensive, had an egg/omlete station and offered some regionally sourced items such as three different types of honey (all were yummy) as well as a chicken sausage. Dinner at Vu was also very nice as well. The bartender made great martinis! Vu was a bit pricey, but the food and view are worth it and not out of line for a hotel in this location with these amenities. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and made every effort to make our stay truely the best! Front desk staff was outstanding! Not surprised that this is #1 hotel in Jersey City....we will be back!

Room Tip: Corner balcony room with two double beds (only two of these rooms in the hotel) worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Andrea L,

I am pleased to hear your feedback about the amazing upgrade you purchased! You certainly cannot go wrong with a Vu martini either!

Best,

Megan Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Traveling for work I have spent 6 trips and 58 nights at this hotel since this past June. This hotel is very convenient located right next to the PATH commuter train which is a 5 minute train ride to the World Trade Center site in lower Manhattan. The hotel itself has incredible views of the NYC skyline and is located on a public pier with great places to sit and take it all in. The hotel is in pretty good shape but you can tell certain rooms get are used more. Service is pretty hit or miss, some workers are great and others aren't. Communication between the staff is pretty hit or miss and I had numerous issues that were eventually solved. This area is the business district of Jersey City and shuts down after people get off work. If you want food here late at night or on the weekends, better bring something back from wherever you're coming. There is a small snack shop in the hotel but it closes early. Love the hotel and especially the location!

Room Tip: Lower floors may be loud during good weather months when people are using the pier. First floor win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Elizabeth H,

Thanks for your review and your photo from the pier! If you would like to discuss further the numerous issues you experienced, I would enjoy your feedback. Contact me directly at megan.gederian@hyatt.com Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

Megan Gederian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Address: 2 Exchange Pl, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3901
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $200 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing