We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and excellent location for a family visit to NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NYC-JC Guest Suites
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice and excellent location for a family visit to NY”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We (family of 4) stayed for 4 nights in a 2 room guest suit with perfect view both to Manhatten and Statue of Liberty/ Elis Island. Our kids loved the view and the gym. If you are arriving in New York, take the Path subway from WTC over to Exchange Place. Fast and convient. Hotel offers also transport services from Newark to/from hotel. Nice and friendly service. Book via their web pages.
Jersey City is quite during night time so you should have a good sleep. Good grocery store around the corner if you need something to eat/drink or just some breakfast.
Owner is very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

First of all don't think of this place as a classical hotel. There is no reception or service team per se that you see face to face. We hardly found two towels in our apartment. We really doubted that the place was clean. There was no service personnel to clean or help you with anything.
Second, they charged my credit card for the full price during reservation, months before our stay. When we arrived, we were given an apartment at the 44th floor of a 49 floor condo building. The keys were inside, the door was open. Then came the hurricane Sandy. There was no power, no water. Elevators were out of order. There was nobody that you could ask for help or talk about these problems. My wife is pregnant so we rushed out and moved to a hotel in Manhattan that could provide basic services. When I asked for a refund, they said this is a natural disaster and my request is "unreasonable".
I believe if you are providing lodging services, you need to make sure you are providing basic services like electricity, heating, water and elevator to 44th floor, or be ready to reimburse customers to whom you can not provide these services - especially if you are collecting the price well in advance, before the service is delivered, and also if the service is not used.
This company is not a service company. They are just subletting apartments in their portfolio. In short, stay out of this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YalcinY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were several people whod'd booked and payed the whole amount months before arrival - yet the company called a couple of days before arrival, telling us there had been some "overbooking issues". They actually did not promise that they would find alternatives.

At arrival, they fortunately had found alternatives - but we would have to pack our stuff and move 2-3 times during our stay.

Apartments were very nice, but to treat paying customers this way is just horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndAndW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family decided to stay with NYC-JC after hearing some good feedback from friends. Upon checking, in we were told there was an overbooking and we no longer had the 2 bedroom apartment we requested at their 70 Greene location. We were put into one of their one bedroom studio type rooms at their Brunswick location. It was a much longer walk to the Path station and no view of NYC.

We made the reservation a few months beforehand, there is no reason our room should of been overbooked since we received a confirmation email. We received no phone call or email telling us of the issue. We would of rebooked somewhere else had we of known. Maybe this was the intention so they could keep some of the money.

We had 5 people in our group and we were told we will receive extra beds (at no charge) to accommodate. I have attached a photo that my husband took of our room. As you can see, the room had 2 bunk beds, a bed in front of the television, and one along side the wall which blocked access to the bathroom due to the breakfast buffet. The other bed is inside where the bunk beds are on the left wall that can't be seen.

We were not happy at all. We were unable to enjoy the room due to the fact there was beds everywhere. We asked if we would be able to move to a more spacious room and were told no due to the overbooking. It was a complete nightmare.

Upon reading some of the recent reviews, I agree with the service aspect. It definitely felt that the staff were being worked like dogs. Definitely have an understaffing issue. Most of the staff except the cleaners working there seemed to be just out of college that I dealt with. They were very nice and I felt bad they have to deal with this business environment. I would never let my kids work here.

Lastly, I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. When I was in my early twenties, I traveled around Europe and stayed at hostels. This hotel reminded me of the European hostels I used to stay in except with nicer furnishings (Ikea). My family was crammed into a room without any other options. I later learned this hotel is Norwegian owned which makes sense for the European hostel feeling.

There are many more hotel options in the NYC area. I can't believe this hotel is still in business. When operating in a tourist location such as NYC, there has to be a highly competitive edge since hotels are everywhere. In the words of my husband, "this hotel has no value proposition, there are 100 companies that do the same thing in the NYC area and offer a better experience."

Lesson learned! Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Never know since you could be given a different room due to overbooking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

CONS:

-Booked two months in advance and payed the full amount, still the manager called 4 days(!) prior to arrival, saying he had to cancel due to "overbooking" of 20 rooms (imagine our panic). He promised to either find an alternative, or to give a full refund (of course, a refund wouldn't have helped much, as most other hotels are way more expensive and probably was fully booked by that time). He fortunately called again, and gave us another apartment for our entire stay. I'm not sure if the other 20 guests were as lucky.

-He did not answer how this could have happened (remember, the booking was made two months earlier, and the full amount was payed). He mentioned the overbooking was due to the NY Fashion Week - this probably means that he got a little exited, and couldn't resist a request for a booking of 20 rooms for an entourage going to the Fashion Week (on the expense of 20 other guests).

-When we arrived, there was suddenly an "issue" - meaning that we would not have the apartment during the whole stay as promised. Instead, we would have two nights in a hotel, and then the rest in another (and better) apartment.

-After two nights in a hotel, we arrived at the apartment. We got the key, locked ourselves in - only to discover that this apartment definitely was not ours (baggage, food, etc). Luckily, no-one was home (or on their way out of the shower, or doing similar activities), when we entered this apartment. The people who lived there arrived minutes later, complining that they've also experienced a lot of trouble and hassle during their stay with NYC-JC. We got the right key shortly after.

PROS:

- The hotel was very nice, and of course we didn't have to pay extra for this. The price of the room we got for sure exeeded what we'd payed per night at NYC-JC.

- Two out of three of the staff members we were in contact with were (except the phone call 4 days prior to arrival) very polite and helpful.

- The apartment we finally got in 70 Greene, was nothing less than absolutely fantastic. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room with nice kitchen, etc. Fantastic view over Jersey City, Statue of Liberty and Midtown Manhattan from about 400 feet up. It actually could not have been better. We did not pay extra for this (of course) - an apartment like this on Manhattan would have been at least $1500 per night, we'd payed about $130-150.

CONCLUSION:

Unacceptable treatment of customers who've booked and payed months in advance, good value for your money compared to Manhattan - that is: if they don't cancel your reservation.. BOOK with these guys if you want very nice apartments minutes away from NYC, at a price you could only dream of getting in Manhattan, and if you tolerate the risk that your booking will be cancelled days before you leave. DO NOT BOOK if you need to be absolutely sure that your vacation/business travel work out the way you planned months in advance.

Room Tip: 70 Greene apartments were very nice as said, at least the ones high up. Don't know anything abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ESS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wow, what a beautiful property 70 Greene Street is. Troy, the manager is a sweetheart, patient and helpful. The only thing I found confusing was the instructions I thought said to get to Brunswick Street before 7pm to check-in. It was out of my way, and Troy explained it is not necessary to go there- you can check in at 70 Greene anytime after 4pm your day of arrival. The studio I rented was beautiful- clean, full kitchen, a view of the Statute of Liberty...I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceANyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rong, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Best ever - stayed one week on 44th floor - the view was amazing. Perfect to be so close to NYC - without the noise!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trygvesdotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
533 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 467 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,479 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYC-JC Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYC-JC Guest Suites

Property: NYC-JC Guest Suites
Address: 88 Brunswick St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3755
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYC-JC Guest Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYC-JC Guest Suites is a luxury guest suites alternative online booking company at affordable prices in New York Metro area. Our New York apartments is also located on the Jersey City waterfront and feature panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. Select suites feature views of the Statue of Liberty as well. Guests will enjoy the available amenities, such as the fitness center, swimming pool, jogging track, barbecue area, sun decks, movie screening room and club lounge. The units are only two blocks from the PATH train station and one block to the ferry. Path takes only 2 minutes and the ferry takes 5 minutes to Manhattan.All of our units are spacious, fully furnished and newly renovated apartments with full kitchens furnished with pots, pans, china, and glassware. A washer and dryer are included for convenience as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your NYC-JC Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing