We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

I recently stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Jersey City for one night during a snowstorm to be close to work and able to get in the next morning. I guess maybe I expected too much but I was disappointed in this hotel.

One good thing is the complimentary parking for guests and the proximity to downtown Jersey City is a plus as well. But the hotel itself was on the "old" side for my taste. This property isn't really that old, but you wouldn't know it be the decor of the suites. The cabinets in the kitchen look like they're from the 1980's, the furnishings certainly weren't plush. For the most part things were clean, I just like a little more modern room. I didn't pay as I stayed with my girlfriend, so not sure about the rate, but I'm sure I would pay my own money to stay here. I'd rather stay at the Doubletree across the street or down the road at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    227
    68
    25
    19
See reviews for
110
147
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Let's just say our trip down was not exactly smooth sailing. The transmission in my car broke down in nearby North Bergen. I had the bright idea to rent a U-Haul with an auto-tow trailer instead of calling some sleeze-ball Jersey tow truck driver and tow the car myself. This hotel has free gated parking and allowed me to take up several parking spaces with the U-Haul and my poor broken car free of charge. This hotel is conveniently located near the Lite Rail which made our final destination, Liberty State Park (All Points West Festival) a breeze.

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missforetwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights for a shopping/show trip to NYC. This Motel offers an excellent value compared to the places across the Hudson. The suites are decent sized and the secured free parking is a ++. It is within easy walking distance to both the Exch place and Pav/Newport PATH stations, which will then take you to midtown or the WTC. There is no restaurant, but it has a little store which has snacks and some food items to make in your room. Be aware of your bill though, this store is by the honor system and theres no guarantee that another guest won't put your room number down on their charge slip. A few problems occured during my stay. First, my TV was on the fritz and the staff told me I'd have to move to a handicapped room( the only one available) or wait til maint could look at it the next day. We opted to move. In the new room the floor hadn't been vacuumed. All in all though, this was a pleasant stay and still well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrmnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

All rooms have kitchen as well as usual ammenities - well looked after.
Short walk or tram ride to Path network - one stop to World Trade Centre Stop.
Jersey City is a greay cheaper alternatiuve for staying and shopping - yet so easy to get to Manhatten.A good place to stay if you are flying in/out of Newark also - easy train connection.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MR.23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasuruan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

I stayed at Candlewood suites for 10 days. I like this hotel very much. I could see Hudson River and Manhattan from my window. Beautiful.
5 minutes walk to Light Rail Stop and 5- 10 minutes walk to Exchange Subway.We went to Manhattan every day. Cost $ 1,75 / trip.
The hotel doesn't serve break fast. The room has facility to cook , microwave and dish washing machine. There is a hotel shop selling food with a good prize.Clean.
The room is cleaned every week. I am going to go there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This Candlewood Suites offers the basics of a hotel stay, but the location was very convenient for a family of 4 to travel by PATH train into New York City. The hotel staff was helpful and always willing to make suggestions. The pantry on the property offered soft drinks and other items at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumps4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Mo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We came to this hotel as part of a block for a wedding party. I had to get two rooms, because my mother, daughter and I couldn't stay in the same room. The rooms only had ONE queen bed. My niece had to put her toddler on the floor, because this hotel had no cribs or rollaway beds.

When we checked in, they did not have two rooms under my name even thought I had made the reservations months in advance. I got a blank stare and "sorry but it is not in the computer" My mother ended up having to stay somewhere else!

When we got up the next morning and had to find breakfast, they did not have maps or concierge. We were pointed to go down the street, "there are plaza buildings and there are alot of stores and restaurants there" We went down the street with a two year old and a teenager, and NO there were no stores and the one coffee shop we found was closed on the weekends. We ended up having to take the light rail just to find breakfast.

When we asked for an extra blanket, the desk clerk said they didn't have any. Just what is in the room. I insisted and was handed a stack of sheets.

The airconditioning unit in our room leaked onto the floor and the room was smelling moldy. One of the other people in our group had water from the shower wall leak into the closet and their luggage got all wet.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Look for something on the NJ side that offers two beds in a room and breakfast on site!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegfirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Property: Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing