We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The suites in this hotel are very well equipped. The hotel is on the Jersey City waterfront. It has parking as well. It's a very nice hotel with very reasonable rates. Easy access to the Path Train to World Trade Center - or on a nice day the ferry boat to World Trade. There are shops and restaurants around the waterfront walkway.

Room Tip: Just request a room not on the train side as the NJ Light Trains run right next to the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 995ginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not a 'budget' hotel but a great choice if you're on a budget visiting New York.

The hotel is well maintained and the staff pleasant. The décor is tasteful and relaxing. I was visiting NY with friends and we had a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed. There is a basic kitchen, equipped with small stovetop, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher and toaster. The little shop by the lobby sells basic food items at a decent price: yoghurt, bagels, butter, cream cheese, coffee for the coffee maker (you have two packs in the room upon arrival), milk, cereal, snacks, beverages, ice cream, frozen meals.

There were two TVs, a dvd player in the room and movies available from the front desk. We didn't use them at all, but could be nice if you're with kids.

The rooms are unserviced (unless you stay longer than a week) but you can request fresh towels and linens if necessary. We are a tidy bunch so it wasn't an issue for us. The hotel was very quiet and restful.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

There are laundry facilities and a decent little gym on the premises. A nice boardwalk nearby with a lovely view of the city.

The hotel is in a good location, within easy walking distance from two PATH stations (Newport and Exchange Place) and the ferry. You switch over to the subway once on Manhattan. There are restaurants and cafés in the immediate area. We all really appreciated the clean, modern surroundings after a long day in the city.

All in all, I would highly recommend the hotel if you're not in a huge rush and don't mind walking a little to the train.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor facing the front. Had no complaints, though I imagine the upper rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianathecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Candlewood from Apr 11-18, 2014 and our stay was fantastic! We rented a one bedroom suite so I could have the bed and she used the sofa bed. Huge thank you to Francel at the front desk who gave us an awesome room (#730) with an amazing view of NYC and the river. Francel was helpful the entire time we were there. Our "apartment" gave us a little taste of what it would be like to live there. It was very pleasant - I love that you can open the windows, had a small kitchen so we could eat breakfast every morning, a dvd and vcr player with tv for nights when we crashed from touring, lots of space, and great little thoughtful details such as a front hall closet, hooks in the bathroom, electrical outlets for your computer and chargers, ice making machine in the fridge, and so much more!
I will never stay anywhere else when I go to visit to NYC - definitely a great deal - and we didn't mind the walk to the NJ subway and transferring over to the NYC subway. We bought a 7 day unlimited pass on both and it was money well spent.

Room Tip: 730 one bedroom suite was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel suits many times. It's surroundings and location is not that good BUT the idea changes as you step into the hotel. It is absolutely a dirfferent world altogether. Awsome rooms, south Asian channels, neat and clean cutlery etc etc; in a nutshell a really great hotel suit for longer family stays. Nice staff ready to help all times !!!!

Room Tip: its quite close to Manhattan and the rates are very reasonable, so why spent lot of money in staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights on the east coast in late March, visiting some of our family in Hoboken. Since the latter sweet little burg has minimal accommodations, we elected Jersey City (NOT a sweet little burg) and settled in here. Plus factors: old but clean facilities, adequate kitchenette, comfortable bed, great staff, on-site convenience "store" and (while we were there, at least) quiet environment. Negatives: you're marooned in alt-Manhattan hotels and industrial park area, no decent eats or groceries in safe walking distance, poor maintenance (no-drain shower/tub, awful room temp controls, noisy refrigerator with no vent – so room overheats as fridge runs constantly) ... and the hallways are shedding old flakes of paint onto ancient, ruined carpeting. However, that said: if I were a business traveler with my own transportation, in need of a safe long-term bedroom with cooking facilities, I'd probably elect this hotel; it has great access to Manhattan via the Holland Tunnel and the PATH trains, and if you are not on a great expense account, you'll be glad you found Candlewood Suites. It's also child-friendly (big-screen TV, popcorn for the microwave, milk/OJ/cereals/pastries in the store, etc.) for parents on a budget. But for older guests in need of easy transportation, the cab fares do add up!

Room Tip: The higher, the better; light-rail runs in front of the building, but we were on 6th floor, windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannieFrannie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear GrannieFrannie007,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was my first time staying in Jersey City and Candlewood. The hotel is near the water and depending on the room, you get a view of NYC. Hotel is close to Holland Tunnel and a short walk to the Path. On weekends, the Path does not run from Exchange toto WTC, so we walked a short distance to the Newport station. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a kitchen as well. There is parking available for $10/day. The wired internet connection was reliable and met expectations. I'll definitely stay at Candlewood again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fracel a, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Marie,

Thank you for your positive feedback. Rest assured I will share this with my team and we will continue to strive for excellent customer service.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Fracel M. Agapito, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Room- Good, Location- Good, Customer Service- Ok. Wifi weak. PATH station to go to NYC and Hoboken is nearby. There is shuttle service from the hotel to reach PATH if you are visiting in cold. But its value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhaval K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Dhaval K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the WiFi prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,850 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 2nd St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $132 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing