We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a chance to stay in New York for three days at the end of a business trip. When browsing for a convenient hotel I finally picked the Candlewood Suites as my home base this time. Location, room rate and the fact that Housekeeping only cleans the room once a week (if you stay less than seven days they don't come at all) were the main draws.

After I arrived at JFK it took me less than one hour to reach the hotel by public transportation. Got lucky with the room the friendly receptionist assigned me, which was on the seventh floor and had a magnificent view over the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan! So I was able to say Goodnight to the Empire State Building every night.

The room was clean, large and comfy and included a nice kitchen block, big fridge, desk, lazy boy chair and a queen size bed. The pillows were just a bit too soft, but it did not affect a good night's rest.
The hotel is right in the middle of two Path Train Stations, which either brings you to the WTC area or to Midtown in no time.

Overall a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackPackMaluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Jersey City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 523 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this hotel to visit friends in North Jersey and attend a festival in NYC. The price, proximity to public transportation, and ease of parking drew us to this property. The GPS got us a little turned around a couple of blocks from the hotel, but we were pleased to find a secure lot in a nice part of town. Check-in was a breeze and we took the elevator to our second floor room. The hotel was very clean and at a comfortable temperature. The room had a full-sized refrigerator, dishwasher, two-burner stove, sink, a coffemaker, hood microwave, and cabinets with pots, pans, plates, etc. There was a full-sized closet across from the kitchenette. Next to the kitchenette was a desk area with two chairs, plenty of table space and HDtv in the corner. The queen bed was across from the desk. There were two small tables on either side of the bed. There was also a large easy chair next to the bed that was somewhat awkwardly placed. The bathroom was rather spacious with plenty of counter and storage space and a full-sized tub. There was a wall unit heater/air conditioning which we didn't need to use since the hotel was at a comfortable temperature.
We wanted to find a local bar with a friend. The Hyatt by Exchange Place fit the bill. When we got back, we were looking forward to a restful night of sleep. However, various noises kept us from sleeping. The toilet flushed very loudly and often took long to fill. The woman next door was very loud and talked non-stop. People were talking in the halls. If the people above us or next to us ran the water, we heard it loud and clear. As you can see, the walls are way too thin in this place. This is a shame because it is convienently located near public transportation and just minutes from the greatest city in the world. I would stay in this part of Jersey City again, but would likely consider another property first.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear DSXM,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review highlighting not only the good but also the opportunities to improve. It is pleasing to know that you had an efficient check in and the room that you were given was at par with your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the noise levels on site that negatively affected your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently, I took a quick weekend trip to NYC. Since it is so expensive to stay in NYC, we decided that staying on the Jersey side was a better option. It is conveniently located about a 15 min walk from the PATH (Jersey's subway) that will connect you directly over to NYC. It isn't more than a 20 min ride but you have to make sure that you catch the right train and time or you'll end up sitting there longer than you want. The hotel has a great shuttle that will drop you off at the station too! We got there late Friday night and the staff was beyond great. Helpful, friendly, smiling and especially it being in a big city I really appreciated these small things. Our room was clean and the sheets were new. There were two things that were not top notch. The AC/Heat is a window unit so it is very loud.. but no unbearable so we just turned it off at night since the weather was nice. That way we could open the window - easy fix. The ONE thing that was an issue is the kitchenette..I think the residents before us must have a great time cooking. When we first walked in the room we were hit with the smell of curry. Maybe i am not used to the smell but it was overwhelming. I didn't ask to switch a room because the staff was so friendly and it was something I could bare with since we weren't in our room for more than sleeping. When i came home all my clothes smelled like curry! YUCK. Other than that small little hiccup. It is a GREAT PLACE TO STAY. The area is safe and I don't feel unease walking around late at night. I would totally stay there again (if the PATH was easier) and definitely as a non-curry smell room!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALeigh2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed there last month and I was pleasantly surprised. Very friendly staff and all the suites have been updated. Had a fantastic view of the NYC skyline right from our room. Easy access to the trains to NYC. Would def. stay here again when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while in town for business. It is an extended stay hotel with housekeeping staff that does not come every day. Great so that you don't have to deal with the early knocks that sometimes stay at hotels. There is free coffee 24/7 in the small food/beverage area off of the library. Very reasonably priced snacks and drinks as well.
Rooms are quite spacious with full size fridge, dishwasher, stove, and microwave. Bathrooms are also quite large with plenty of towels.

Definitely a comfortable clean stay for a business trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haras690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Rooms all redone as well as the Hospital, Staff is top notch.Great views of NYC and local to the mall for shopping. near the light rail and water.Hotel was very quiet and they do have on site parking. Very comfortable bed and love th e kitchen area

Room Tip: great place to stay close to NYC this was not my first time here, will go back
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bear464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here on business for 5 nights and upon our arrival we were told that housekeeping would only come once per week, and that if we wanted to get new towels we could exchange our current ones at the front desk. Certainly not idea for a week long business trip. How this hotel manages to get the rates it is charging is a mystery!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank butt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear butt80,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology if you were not informed about our weekly housekeeping. Candlewood Suite hotels are fit for long term stays that's why housekeeping only comes once a week but if you need anything our front desk would be more than happy to accommodate you.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 2nd St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $133 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing