We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, great staff, comfy stay...minor hijinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient, great staff, comfy stay...minor hijinks”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently, I took a quick weekend trip to NYC. Since it is so expensive to stay in NYC, we decided that staying on the Jersey side was a better option. It is conveniently located about a 15 min walk from the PATH (Jersey's subway) that will connect you directly over to NYC. It isn't more than a 20 min ride but you have to make sure that you catch the right train and time or you'll end up sitting there longer than you want. The hotel has a great shuttle that will drop you off at the station too! We got there late Friday night and the staff was beyond great. Helpful, friendly, smiling and especially it being in a big city I really appreciated these small things. Our room was clean and the sheets were new. There were two things that were not top notch. The AC/Heat is a window unit so it is very loud.. but no unbearable so we just turned it off at night since the weather was nice. That way we could open the window - easy fix. The ONE thing that was an issue is the kitchenette..I think the residents before us must have a great time cooking. When we first walked in the room we were hit with the smell of curry. Maybe i am not used to the smell but it was overwhelming. I didn't ask to switch a room because the staff was so friendly and it was something I could bare with since we weren't in our room for more than sleeping. When i came home all my clothes smelled like curry! YUCK. Other than that small little hiccup. It is a GREAT PLACE TO STAY. The area is safe and I don't feel unease walking around late at night. I would totally stay there again (if the PATH was easier) and definitely as a non-curry smell room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALeigh2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    234
    72
    27
    19
See reviews for
115
152
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed there last month and I was pleasantly surprised. Very friendly staff and all the suites have been updated. Had a fantastic view of the NYC skyline right from our room. Easy access to the trains to NYC. Would def. stay here again when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while in town for business. It is an extended stay hotel with housekeeping staff that does not come every day. Great so that you don't have to deal with the early knocks that sometimes stay at hotels. There is free coffee 24/7 in the small food/beverage area off of the library. Very reasonably priced snacks and drinks as well.
Rooms are quite spacious with full size fridge, dishwasher, stove, and microwave. Bathrooms are also quite large with plenty of towels.

Definitely a comfortable clean stay for a business trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haras690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Rooms all redone as well as the Hospital, Staff is top notch.Great views of NYC and local to the mall for shopping. near the light rail and water.Hotel was very quiet and they do have on site parking. Very comfortable bed and love th e kitchen area

Room Tip: great place to stay close to NYC this was not my first time here, will go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here on business for 5 nights and upon our arrival we were told that housekeeping would only come once per week, and that if we wanted to get new towels we could exchange our current ones at the front desk. Certainly not idea for a week long business trip. How this hotel manages to get the rates it is charging is a mystery!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank butt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear butt80,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology if you were not informed about our weekly housekeeping. Candlewood Suite hotels are fit for long term stays that's why housekeeping only comes once a week but if you need anything our front desk would be more than happy to accommodate you.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is a good option for travelers to NYC. Nice area in Jersey city next to a walking/running path. Very easy walk to the PATH train from jersey city to manhattan/WTC.

The staff are very friendly. The hotel room I stayed at is clean, having a fridge and microwave is always a plus. No free breakfast, but this was not a big deal as there were a lot of options within a 1 mile walking radius. Would stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I were travelling with my elderly father-in-law, and there are very few suite hotels available in NYC. This was ideal since the sofa bed was in another room for privacy. Clean suites, accommodating front desk, nice kitchenette and a great snack/coffee room in the lobby. Only a short walk to The Path train which takes you into NYC. It's tucked away in a business area, so it's quiet at night, but we felt very safe. We didn't cook in the kitchen, but did order in and there are lots of delis and Italian food places that are quick to deliver. Beds were very comfortable. Walls were a little thin, but not bad. There is no daily cleaning service, but they are very accommodating at the desk if you need to replenish towels, etc. A few blocks away is a breathtaking view of NYC from the waterfront. If you want to hop the train and enjoy the hustle and bustle of NYC during the day, this is a nice place to come back to to enjoy a little peace and quiet...and room to move about.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ChattyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Property: Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Address: 21 2nd St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing