We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel. The room had one king bed and a pull out sofa bed. The room was very small, but everything else was good. There is a pool, hot tub and exercise room. As others mentioned it is in an excellent location. There is a mall across the street with full food court and shopping. Additional restaurants and located near the hotel as well. The light rail is across the street as well which will take you to locations like the statue of liberty and the liberty science center. The PATH is right next to the hotel for easy access to the city. You have to valet park your car (which I hate!) but accessing the vehicle to get additional belongings was very easy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyebrowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 641 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

We (2 adults, 2 kids 7, 9) stayed 3 nights while visiting NYC. This hotel is right next door to the PATH to take into NYC. WIthin 10 minutes we were at the 33rd St stop and then easily transfered to the NYC system. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Newport Mall across the street. The hotel lobby was under construction during our visit, but it didn't disrupt our stay. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, and a nice pool area. We stayed in a King room with a pull out sofa and there was also room for a rollaway. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I echo the convenience of this location:

- PATH NJT (New Jersey Transit) is adjacent to the property. This train network has routes from the World Trade Center to Hoboken or Newark.

- Across the street from the Newport Center Mall

- Across the street from the Light Rail Station (has service to a station from which there is a shuttle to Libert State Park and Liberty Science Center, etc)

- Nice walk along the waterfront, restaurants

Friendly Staff:

- Of course it could be just coincidental, but this is also consistent with earlier posts that commend them for being friendly and accommodating.

- I was surprised at how this hotel was family friendly.

The front lobby is under construction until mid sept 2010.

Only parking is valet parking, which is reasonable compared to private lot services in the area ($16 a day). But there are a few spots on the street right in front of the hotel (if you get lucky)

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank MrTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hadn't been to NYC or this part of Jersey in decades, & was leery of staying in Jersey City. I shouldn't have worried; the Newport area right around the hotel was very nice. A shopping mall with food court, and a PATH station with trains to NYC, are about 100 feet from the hotel property. One night we took a short walk to a park along the Hudson for a view of the NYC skyline. It was about 10:30 PM, and was not the least bit scary - was well-lit, and quite a few others were enjoying the view. Now I'm sure there are parts of Jersey City you don't want to be in at night, but you've got nothing to worry about in this area.

As for the hotel, it was pretty much a typical Courtyard: no problems, no surprises, good staff. We were too exhausted by the end of the day to pay much attention to it; we just collapsed into bed for the most part.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Jay083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel is very clsoe to business in Jersey City and NYC. Every type of train transport is at your door. Ask for a balcony room, it is a little more open then the standard rooms. Staff was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I was visiting NY with my family. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Very helpful staff. I had a toddler and the staff did everything to meet our needs. The PATH station is right next door and it makes it a breeze to get into Manhattan. Lot of restaurants nearby and it is right next to the Hudson. The boardwalk by the Hudson is great for a walk enjoying the view of Manhattan. There are NY day tours that pick up from this hotel. Please contact the hotel for more information.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Saugato_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for a short weekend getaway to New York City. The hotel is located next to the Path station which makes it very easy to get into Manhatten. This was our main reason for staying here. The hotel was clean and is located near the water in Jersey City. They did offer a breakfast however we chose to go to the local Starbucks and eat our breakfast overlooking Manhatten. The staff were friendly and the valet parking was a reasonable $16 per day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mailcommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $170 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing