We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
313
286
71
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
313
286
71
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews right next door path station standard courtyard new york valet parking food court the general manager into nyc would definitely stay here again excellent location convenient location light rail shopping mall we've stayed easy access minute ride great option
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 703 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, hotel was easy to find, very clean, safe and directly next to the PATH train to get over to NYC! 5 stars for the staff, they are excellent, very helpful in helping us navigate the city (both Jersey City and tips for visiting NY!) Would definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with 15 business associates this week, checked in at 2:30 pm to take a nap before dinner. At 5 pm I had been up for a little bit and suddenly my door was trying to be opened by 2 employees (male and female), but my latch was set so they could not gain entry and kept pushing. They did not knock at all. I opened the door asking why they were trying to force entry into my room, they were startled and said they room was shown as “unoccupied”(although my name was on the TV said Welcome Ms. xxx, xxxx.) I was very shaken, it was sketchy... were they breaking in to go through my things or a quick tryst?

I went to the front desk after showering and asked WHY two employees came to my room to gain entry. They had reported the incident to the night manager, the answer was I had been “automatically been checked out due to a computer glitch and there was a complaint about the shower curtain and they needed too check on it.” Although - The shower curtain was brand new, pure white, I had just showered and you could still see the folds still it. Plus, my name was on TV screen? They offered me a free drink. I just shook my head, a drink? Seriously.

The next morning a lovely employee was very empathetic and thanked me for the follow up on the incident/story - stating that my room was a newly renovated room just opened up there should be no issues with it. She told the hotel manager my story - whom seemed to care that I was not told the truth but barely about my angst. He walked away and offered nothing to me or the company that had booked 15 guest rooms there. Since checking out, despite taking my cell phone number- the hotel manager has not followed up with me, which I was told I would be given an explanation, the truth was important.

Scary incident. Poor follow up. I was very upset and they should be ashamed of how it was handled. So glad I Always throw the metal latch on the door. I can not imagine what could have happened that day. Traveler beware!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank slee2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay during your recent visit.

Please accept our sincere apology for the situation encountered and for the greatly inconvenience caused you. There was definite a few errors regarding this incident from our staff. I have personally reviewed all concerns with the staff to make sure such incidents do not occur going forward.

We will be contacting you to further review the incident. We value your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves.

Sincerely
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

It is a lovely hotel. That has easy access in and out from new Jersey city. Also not far from New York city. With such Clean and Big room.
Staff were so freindly and helpful.
We enjoyed the stay and the hotel staff hospitality.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lidy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience during recent stay here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott.

So glad you truly enjoyed our newly renovated rooms with some rooms with partial view of New York City. The easy access by PATH (train) next door to New York City makes our hotel very conveniently located.

Please come and visit us again if your travels brings you back to our area.

Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Visited Jersey City and Poconos for Thanksgiving. Lovely hotel. Extremely comfortable. Attentive, friendly staff. Good food. Wonderful location with very easy access into Manhattan, up into New Jersey and to airports. Will definitely return because staying here made our stay so easy and enjoyable. Large mall nearby offering great range of shops and restaurants. 1 minute walk to the Hudson River with lovely views of Manhattan.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Funquijacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

Paid, safe parking. Confortable rooms and very cosy lobby. Very helpful reception staff. Eateries and public transport close by. There was some noise due to constructio work nearby but did not bother us once inside the rooms. Recommended for short breaks.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews