We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean business hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
brantford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent, clean business hotel.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard Jersey in September when my husband and I went to visit NYC for a long weekend. Hotel is clean. Rooms are decent. Did not like houskeeping walking in on us early in the morning! We did not hear them knock- opened the door and started to walk in until we yelled out.
It was barely 8am! Also did not think staff at front desk was very friendly. They were courteous, but rather dry, and didn't really believe us when we told them about the incident. Girl at the breakfast counter was courteous with us but I thought rude to another customer who didn't speak english too well. She repeated in a loud and condescending way to the man.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrantfordEfigenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us. We deeply regret the experience you had with our staff and offer our sincere apology.
After receiving your review, we had a meeting with our Housekeeping and Restaurant staff and have shared your comments; we will make sure we do not inconvenience future guests.
We value your business and hope you will come and visit us again.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    263
    62
    14
    12
See reviews for
237
132
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Next to the Path Station and opposite a Cosi! For a schoolgirl visiting New York this was perfect!!! There was easy access to Manhattan and the hotel itself was very good. Medium sized room with everything one needed with a good bathroom. Friendly staff and good housekeeping.
A very nice location...right opposite a large mall and bang next to the Path station to Manhattan.
Could not ask for more!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeblepimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on January 14th. So glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and took advantage of our location to visit New York City and also our local attractions.
Please do visit us again if your traveling’s brings you back to our area.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to visit New York City with a high school hockey team during the Christmas break. There were approximatly 45 of us that stayed at the Courtyard. What a beautiful hotel. Very accomodating. The rooms are nice and the lobby is great. Each night the group of parents would get together to have a few drinks and they would let us sit in the lobby which is great since going into someone's room is never a good options. I also loved the fact that I could get a Starbucks coffee at any time of the day! The locations is great as well. The Path train is right next door and with a group it was perfect. The Path train takes you to either the World Trade Center or 33rd street (Empire State Building). There is also a great mall directly in front of this hotel. I would defintetly return to this hotel. Great location!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocostain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on January 12th. We are so happy you and your group truly enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our spacious lobby, location and all the local attractions including the Newport Mall and the convenience of the Path (Train) that takes you from our hotel to New York City.
Please do visit us again, we would love to have you and your group back next Christmas. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it possible.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was the PERFECT location to experience New Year's in NYC, or any trip into NYC. The PATH (subway) station is literally beside the hotel. It was an easy commute into the city. The area of Jersey City is very nice, safe, clean, and relatively quiet. There are lots of little restaurants to walk to. This hotel is right on the Hudson. We actually decided not to venture into the city for NYE, but about 100 people gathered on the riverwalk where we could see straight over to Times Square. We watched from a distance as the Square went crazy at midnight and you could see the fireworks very nicely. A great location, a great stay.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, the elevators are not in the middle of the hall so you do not hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRAwanderingCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I decided to stay at this hotel because of the convenience of the PATH Train.. right next door.... $2.50 one way into the city. Wonderful hotel, front desk staff are awesome. Always very helpful with information. The rooms are very spacious, beds are comfy. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Never any towels left in the evening, but I let the front desk know and the towels were delivered. Cheaper and easy way to get to visit the Big Apple. We were able to walk to Carlos Bakery with the kids.... Mall across the street with restaurants and a great Pizza place just three doors down from the hotel! I would stay again here for sure for another visit to NYC! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mne1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments about the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. We will be monitoring our pool area more often to make sure we do not run out of towels.
Hope you can visit us again in the near future.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Came from the UK to see NYC and was very pleased with this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the location...right next door to a PATH station, getting into NYC is very quick and easy (and you're not paying NYC hotel prices). There is a good choice of places to eat close to the hotel, and there is a mall right opposite, with all popular shops/fast food. Just a short walk away is a great view of Lower Manhattan across the Hudson, something which you will not see if you stay in NYC.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and very informative about tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, no thrills but perfect for what we wanted. Can't really fault the hotel in anyway. I would definitely recommended this hotel if visiting NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dartwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel during your stay here with us. We have enjoyed many friends from the UK and also many other Countries at our hotel and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the hotel so conveniently located to New York City. Our staff is indeed the very best and very knowledgeable about our surrounding area and attractions. Thank you for your compliments.
We shall look forward for your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been to New York on a number of occasions and have stayed in places as diverse as the W to a friends pied a terre in the Upper East side. We have also stayed once in a property in New Jersey and all to often were left for want. Perhaps because we found the rooms a bit too small, the rates to exorbitant or parking charges so ludicrously astronomical at the properties. Then we came across this property and we simply cannot tell you what an amazing place this is. The rooms are clean, modern and large. The lobby modern and reception staff gracious, knowledgeable and smiling ( well Ashley any way). Breakfast was abundant and the choice varied. Parking is valet on site and the piece de la resistance is that the PATH is right next door. I mean, right next door and this takes you into Manhattan. Your stops include Greenwich Village ( Christopher street) and you can be dropped off at 23rd and make your way Eataly ( the most amazing emporium to Italian food on the planet) and further up to Penn Station with connections to the New York subway. I will 100% be returning to this property for my future visits to NYC and unreservedly recommend anyone to stay here. You will NOT find better.

BTW, there are many restaurants around and also a mall just across. For those looking for retail therapy!

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from Washington Blvd. Our room was 902 and the views of the Empire State at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjy88sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that you enjoyed our hotel with all the local attractions, restaurants and easy access to New York City.
We shall look forward for your next stay. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing