We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just stayed here over the weekend since we were attending a wedding near by. We were upgraded to a suite which was great. We had a king size bed/bedroom and living room with sofa bed perfect for our daughter. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable (although, the linen could have been softer).There was a microwave, mini refrigerator and coffee pot with complimentary coffee. There was a huge mall just across the street that had all a teenagers favorite stores. We didn't have time to take the train to NYC, but it would have been easy to do so. The staff was exceptional at check in, at the restaurant and allowed us a late checkout (2pm).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    253
    60
    14
    12
See reviews for
225
125
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We did a fair bit of research into hotels before visiting New York and this hotel seemed like a good choice. Well we weren't disappointed !!
We had a family size room for two adults & two teenage kids which consisted of two double beds & a sofa bed with a decent sized bedroom. the room was clean with towels etc. being replaced daily & bedding every other day unless you request otherwise. The reception staff were very polite & helpful, they also seemed to have good knowledge of the area & Manhatten, (thanks Ashley).
This worked out at about $200 per night for all of us, which, compared to the cost of a similar hotel on Manhatten island, is very good. Less than 100 metres from the hotel is the PATH train, which is another underground network that will take you into Manhatten as far as 33rd street (Grand central station is on 42nd street), a return trip will cost you $5 each & is a quite a quick journey. I'll do a seperate review of the train, so as not to bore those who don't want or need to use it.
Walk a little bit further around the corner and you'll find some nice restaurants and bars near to Jersey city harbour. The walkway alongside of here has probably one of the best panoramic views of Manhatten island that you'll ever see, especially at night.
It's only a half hour cab ride to Newark airport which cost us $45 at 5am.
Finally, my only gripe was that the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy at times & the pillows weren't very comfortable but hey for this price you can't have everything.

Room Tip: The views aren't stunning,(infact it was mostly of a multi storey carpark) but there were some v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just stayed here on NYC marathon weekend since just about all hotels were booked up in Manhattan. We always stay at Marriott hotels since we belong to their rewards programs and never have been disappointed, until now. The heat and A/C unit woke us up every time it started up. Needless to say we got very little sleep. Walls are paper thin as well so we heard tv in the next room and door slamming in the hotel hallway.
The room was very nice and large and location of hotel very convenient but it's all for naught if you can't get any sleep in your room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rattle624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us.
We are so sorry to hear that you had problems with the A/C Heating in your room and noise from other occupants. I wish you had brought the issues to us right away so that we may have had the opportunity to address and resolve immediately or relocate you to another room.
We appreciate your business and hope you will try us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a great price, with everything you need for a good night sleep, and took us only 10 minutes to get there from Greenwich Village. We usually prefer a hotel in NYC, but being there at NYU parents weekend, made it a challenge to find something. This hotel was surprisingly short drive from our parking location, had a very nice room, with really everything we needed (try to find a spacious 2Q bed room in NYC). For breakfast we found a great Cafe nearby, and loved the neighborhood. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Easy drive to Newark, and just across the tunnel from NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCat990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, a few steps out of the main entrance and you take a PATH train to Manhattan. Compared to the NYC hotels the rate is very convenient.

The room was spacious and clean, breakfast was excellent and the service is quite good (we asked a Lady at the Reception if they had a scale in the Hotel and she looked us like if we were asking something crazy!!)
Despite this the our stay was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FWulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our convenient location to New York City and the local attractions. Please accept my sincere apology for the member of our staff reaction when you asked for a scale. I will certainly review with all of them proper procedures to follow in the future.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We selected this hotel since the hotels in Manhattan are really expensive. Our selection was really right. The price was very reasonable and the facility was very good. The shopping center many restaurants are in is walking distance, very convenient. The room was also big and cozy. My husband and daughter enjoyed the indoor pool. The PATH traing station is just beside the hotel, one-minute walk (and it takes only 15 minutes to the midtown of Manhattan!) It became a good memory in New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0m0rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. So glad you and your family enjoyed our convenient location with easy, convenient access to New York City, the Newport Mall and all the local restaurants with walking distance of the hotel.
Please come and see us again on your next visit to the area.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loysville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great hotel with excellent views of Freedom Tower. Located right next to Path Train and can be in Manhattan in 10 minutes. Safe walking area and lovely to see yachts on water and walk next to dock. Room was on top floor and was very clean and newly renovated. Staff friendly and breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 482LoriF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.9 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing