We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great accommodations, great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great accommodations, great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There's nothing not to like about this Courtyard. The rooms are sizable, modern, comfortable and very clean. The service was spot on. The location is fantastic. We stayed recently for the weekend for a family wedding and since everyone is a Jersey native the access to/from Manhattan wasn't a big draw for us. However, if I were a tourist, this hotel would have been great too. I didn't realize the PATH was inches from the front door. Very much enjoyed the waterfront walkway and surrounding neighborhood. A great value overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    245
    58
    13
    12
See reviews for
220
122
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July to attend a wedding in New York City. The hotel is clean and well appointed and staff seemed very helpful. Decor is typical of the Courtyard Marriott hotels I've been to. There is even a pool on the first floor. Please note, if you drive here, there is a daily parking fee of $16.00/day.

The PATH train station is located next to the hotel, which made it incredibly convenient to get into NYC with little hassle in less than 20 minutes. My only issue with taking the PATH train occurred during later in the evening as the trains run much less frequently and can be very crowded. The train stations in New York aren't air conditioned either, which can make waiting unpleasant in the summertime.

We found the area around the hotel in Jersey to be very clean and easy to navigate. There is a mall across the street and numerous restaurants nearby. There is even a gorgeous riverwalk close to the hotel. There is a great breeze and open air in Jersey City, which was a great break from the noise and muggy weather of New York in the height of summer.

We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to get such a spacious room for the price we paid so close to NYC. Clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and friendly staff...who could ask for more. Valet parking is a huge plus. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: This is a great hotel to stay for NYC visitors who would like to visit the city during the day and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and a great location for those of us that want to do the sights of NYC during the day but wish for a relaxing evening away from the noise and hustle of the big city. The room was very clean and had the added bonus of a small balcony to people watch, although did find the air conditioning unit rather noisy, but then I am a very light sleeper. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable especially when enquiring about the PATH railway into the city.
Felt totally at ease in the area, we didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there is a cafe opposite and a great Irish bar called Dorrians with good food before strolling for 5 mins to the waterfront where I was amazed at the view of Manhattan lit up at night, that was a HUGE bonus, just sit on one of the many benches and drink in the view.
Getting to NYC costs $2.50 and takes about 10 mins on the PATH railway, only takes 1 minute to walk to the entrance, can get alittle crowded but is easy to navigate.
All in all would certainly recommend this hotel for it's location and although no view of Manhattan from the hotel, the view from the waterfront will take your breathe away. Why pay exorbitant prices in the city when this gem has it all.

Room Tip: Quieter on the upper floors away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I do a lot of work for a major Bank co. on the east coast and stay at the Courtyard whenever I can.
They have a nice clean facility and while I wish they had a full service restaurant their little bistro does a good job.
The Courtyard is right next to the Path for easy access to mid town and there is a mall across the street so you really have everything right there and without the high cost of midtown.
Make sure to say hello to Ashley and Bianca if they are working, they are very helpful and will go out of their way to accommodate and always have a smile on the face (Even during Sandy)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second or third time I have stayed here and it won't be the last. I have always had a great experience in this hotel. It is clean, the people are very helpful and nice, plus it is 100 yards away from the PATH to NYC. The parking is $16/day as opposed to 50+ in the city, which makes the 5 minute PATH ride worth it.

The rooms are clean and the cleaning staff are accommodating if you have special needs. I don't know if they have special beds or whether I was tired from the walking around the city, but we all slept like babies each night.

Room Tip: I've stayed on the 3rd and 6th floors. They are the same. No noise in either room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived at the Courtyard and Bianca greeted me with open arms, like visiting relatives. This made me feel like home. So friendly and inviting. She told me my room, about the market, the Bistro and if I needed anything, just to call. I couldn't have been any happy. It was like having Mom around to take care of me. So worth the stay. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to right about your experience at our hotel. Bianca will be so happy to hear your kind words. We pride to make our guests feel like their home away from home.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing