We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice when visiting Manhattan.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We choose this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is very well situated if you're travelling from Newark airport or by Amtrak train. The transfer from Newark Penn station to Path is quick and easy. The Path takes you right to the hotel. They are next door neighbours!!
The trip to Manhattan by Path takes about 18 minutes on weekdays. Calculate more time on weekends. We always travelled to 33rd street.

The room was quite big. A very nice, comfortable and big bed. We had a room on the 9th floor and it was so quiet in the area we were able to sleep with the window open. The view was ok, parking garage close to hotel, but a bit of Manhattan skyline behind it.

The are plenty of shops and small restaurants around to have breakfast or dinner. The Newport Mall is a few minutes walk away and has a host of shops and a food court.

Room Tip: Room 922 was great. Nice view, big room, good best. The room is on the end of the hallway at the end...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwichgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. We are delighted to hear your overall stay was enjoyable, so glad that you found our area attractions, path and mall a great compliment of our hotel.
Please visit us again on your next trip to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Jersey City Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 631 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are in town visiting one of the offices opposite this hotel, then this one is a great choice. There are restaurants close by and a food court in the shopping mall opposite to it. There is also a cinema in the mall; in case you get bored. The path that connects to NYC subway system is next door. They have valet parking. You just need this place to have a good sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment about your last visit to our hotel. We are so glad that you found the hotel, the staff and the area the right spot for your needs.
We look forward for your next visit.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location with easy access to NYC. We stayed just one night and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff provided excellent service, especially housekeeping. We inadvertently left an ipod and assorted accessories in the room when we checked out. After realizing our mistake, the hotel staff was very responsive in returning everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvstepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment so positively about our great staff. So glad that we found your items and were able to return them to you.
Please visit us again in the near future.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went on an all girls vacation from April 25 - 28. This hotel has an excellent location if you do not want to stay right in the centre of things. It is directly across the water from Manhattan and offers amazing views of the city both day and night. The PATH is easy to take into Manhattan and is literally right beside the hotel. The rooms are comfy and spacious and very clean and the breakfast was soooo yummy! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay outside of the city. There is a mall across the street with a big food court if you need a quick place to eat or want to do some mall shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennJeffToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
So very glad that you had such a great time with your friends here in our area and also New York City. The PATH station is indeed right next door and the Mall across the street from the hotel. We do serve breakfast daily in our Bistro and we are happy that you enjoyed it so much.
Please do visit us again in your next trip to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was a little unsure of this choice because I usually stay in Manhattan. But my buddies swore that we would save money and still enjoy the city. The hotel is literally next to the Path train. In 20 minutes we were in time square. This is one of the upgraded courtyards with the smart board, the bistro and lots of plugs. The rooms are the usual fair, just a smidge smaller. There were 3 of us in the room and I had the pull out couch and slept just fine. Note: there were no linens on the pullout bed so we had to call for linens at midnight! So check the pullout when you check into the room. Otherwise, if you want the convenience of enjoying the city without the uptown prices, your are just across the river and can maneuver in out of the city with ease.

Note: If you fly in, fly into Newark. Way easier and cheaper. If you fly into LaGuardia, use dial 7 car service to get you to Jersey City without breaking the bank or to really be penny conscience take a series of buses, subways and the Path train to Jersey City. (The hop-stop app does a good job of plotting the course.)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors and near the ends of the hall for view and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimborkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to give us feedback about your previous stay here with at the Jersey City Newport Courtyard by Marriott.
We are indeed a great value and an alternative to New York City due to our proximity to the PATH (train). We have recently fully updated and modernized our public facilities and rooms. We keep our linens for the pull out sofa in a bag in the room closet. We apologize for the inconvenience caused for not providing you that information.
Please visit us again in your next trip to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The people at the hotel were great. Room was ok. common trend at Marriott is to not pay attention to your profile or brand loyalty. Not sure what is going on.

The front desk realized their mistake, apologized and tried to rectify. No excuses given, just an apology. Not perfect, yet better than most.

Great restaurants in the area. easy access, lovely area. NY views are phenomenal.

As NJ,NY & DC would have it... waaaaaaayyy over priced... and that for a courtyard!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTravelFar2Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay here with us. Please accept our apology for the staff not recognizing you as one of our Elite customers. We continue to strive to have the perfect arrival experience for all our guests, we will use your comments as a way for us to get better. We are very glad to you took advantage of the great restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel and also the convenience of getting to New York City using the PATH (train) next door to the hotel.
We look forward for your next visit to Jersey City.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There was an issue with our reservation but the manager and staff were understanding. We worked through the issue. The room is clean and comfortable. It is also vry modern. the front desk arrange for a car and was willing to help with all our needs. For the price you cannot ask for anything more. Tha Path is literally in the parking lot and takes you right into the city. Buy a NYC metro card because you can use it on the path and NYC subway.

Since th trains run all night we did not regret staying in NJ. The local bakery across the street has a good breakfast for a low price. It's only open m-f though.

GREAT STAT!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank juggernautmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here with us. We are very glad that the staff was able to accommodate your needs. We are indeed the closest hotel to the PATH (train to NYC City). We appreciate that you recognized that our rooms have recently been fully renovated and are indeed very modern.
We look forward for your next visit.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $192 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing