We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was a little unsure of this choice because I usually stay in Manhattan. But my buddies swore that we would save money and still enjoy the city. The hotel is literally next to the Path train. In 20 minutes we were in time square. This is one of the upgraded courtyards with the smart board, the bistro and lots of plugs. The rooms are the usual fair, just a smidge smaller. There were 3 of us in the room and I had the pull out couch and slept just fine. Note: there were no linens on the pullout bed so we had to call for linens at midnight! So check the pullout when you check into the room. Otherwise, if you want the convenience of enjoying the city without the uptown prices, your are just across the river and can maneuver in out of the city with ease.

Note: If you fly in, fly into Newark. Way easier and cheaper. If you fly into LaGuardia, use dial 7 car service to get you to Jersey City without breaking the bank or to really be penny conscience take a series of buses, subways and the Path train to Jersey City. (The hop-stop app does a good job of plotting the course.)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors and near the ends of the hall for view and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimborkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to give us feedback about your previous stay here with at the Jersey City Newport Courtyard by Marriott.
We are indeed a great value and an alternative to New York City due to our proximity to the PATH (train). We have recently fully updated and modernized our public facilities and rooms. We keep our linens for the pull out sofa in a bag in the room closet. We apologize for the inconvenience caused for not providing you that information.
Please visit us again in your next trip to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Jersey City Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

The people at the hotel were great. Room was ok. common trend at Marriott is to not pay attention to your profile or brand loyalty. Not sure what is going on.

The front desk realized their mistake, apologized and tried to rectify. No excuses given, just an apology. Not perfect, yet better than most.

Great restaurants in the area. easy access, lovely area. NY views are phenomenal.

As NJ,NY & DC would have it... waaaaaaayyy over priced... and that for a courtyard!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTravelFar2Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay here with us. Please accept our apology for the staff not recognizing you as one of our Elite customers. We continue to strive to have the perfect arrival experience for all our guests, we will use your comments as a way for us to get better. We are very glad to you took advantage of the great restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel and also the convenience of getting to New York City using the PATH (train) next door to the hotel.
We look forward for your next visit to Jersey City.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There was an issue with our reservation but the manager and staff were understanding. We worked through the issue. The room is clean and comfortable. It is also vry modern. the front desk arrange for a car and was willing to help with all our needs. For the price you cannot ask for anything more. Tha Path is literally in the parking lot and takes you right into the city. Buy a NYC metro card because you can use it on the path and NYC subway.

Since th trains run all night we did not regret staying in NJ. The local bakery across the street has a good breakfast for a low price. It's only open m-f though.

GREAT STAT!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank juggernautmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here with us. We are very glad that the staff was able to accommodate your needs. We are indeed the closest hotel to the PATH (train to NYC City). We appreciate that you recognized that our rooms have recently been fully renovated and are indeed very modern.
We look forward for your next visit.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel used to be an OK out of city stay whilst working in the Newport area. Unfortunately my return trip has left me with a bitter taste that will push me to other hotels in the area, namely the Westin.
To not provide complimentary/or chargeable water in the rooms is unacceptable, and when I challenged reception on this, the answer was that "they dont do that anymore". If the hotel has made it a policy to provide such a basic commodity, then there is clearly something a miss else where.
The hotel itself is ok, very basic and with a mish mash of furniture that will time wharp you back to the 80s it serves a purpose as a place to rest your head.. but be dammed if you get in to the hotel late and have not brought your own water.

Room Tip: choose a room on the back if possible, the road noise can be unbearable
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weebo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback from your previous stay with us here at the Jersey City Newport Courtyard by Marriott. Please accept our apology for the hotel and the staff not meeting your expectations. We do offer complimentary coffee in all our rooms and have a full market place available 24 hours in our lobby with bottle water, soft drinks, juices, salads, sandwiches and much more. In addition we now feature Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our Bistro. I apologize if this was not communicated to you. I have reviewed your comments with our staff and rest assured that they will be explaining our features better to future guests.
Hope you will give us another opportunity so that we can show that we do offer those amenities and offer an upgrade to one of our suites.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

OK, at 1st, I was COMPLETELY AGAINST staying in NJ. My husband and I always stayed in the city and I LOVED it. This was our 1st time taking our kids to NYC. We are a family of 4. My hubby, (former football player), myself, 17yo boy, and a 10yo girl. A small room with 2 doubles just doesn't work for us. We had trouble finding anything bigger since it was spring break and we were booking kinda last minute. We even had a hard time finding adjoining rooms. I got fed up and called Marriott to see what they could do for me. They suggested this Courtyard in NJ. Sooooooo glad they did. The selling point for me was the proximity to the train into the city. It's literally NEXT DOOR. I mean you would park in the SAME PLACE to get on the train!! NOW...if you go to 33rd ST be prepared to walk a little. Like maybe a mile...(which we enjoyed since it's a little taste of the real NYC) or you could take a cab into Times Square. OR...you could take the train to World Trade Center and hop on a HOHO and you will be all set!! We bought a 2 day HOHO bus pass. Walked into Times Square the 1st day and went from there. The 2nd day, we went to WTC, rode the Staten Island Ferry to see the Statue of Liberty and the beautiful skyline, then hopped onto the HOHO bus into the city center. PERFECT!! My point is...you can make this work!!! (I travel a lot and am a little spoiled)

Now more about the hotel...My hubby and I never ate the breakfast but our kids loved it. Our 17yo was perfectly able to take the 10yo down every AM. I have to say it was the CHEAPEST hotel breakfast I've ever experienced. I almost didn't believe the receipt when they brought it to me. The room was HUGE compared to anything I've been in in NYC. 2 Queens + a pullout. The lavatory is outside if the bathroom which is the toilet and shower. Which was PERFECT for us. Everything was clean and comfy. On our last night we had some partiers next door. I had to call the front desk 2 or 3 times. They offered us breakfast to make up for it but it wasn't the hotel making the crazy ruckus so we didn't take them up on it. We just wanted them to be quiet. Or at least not have crazy loud...Ya know...and then fight and cuss each other out and all that "fun stuff"...but that had NOTHING to do with the hotel. We would have actually found it funny if we didn't have our kids with us. BUT...I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's a WONDERFUL alternative to NYC if you need more space. AND...the rooms are less $$$!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinkyandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience during your recent visit to New York City. We are indeed the closest hotel to the Path (train) that gets you into the city within 12 minutes. We are very glad that you and your family truly enjoyed our large lobby area and our extra large 2 queen bed and sofa bed rooms that can accommodate up to 5 people.
We look forward for your next visit if your travelling brings you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012. The hotel is very nice and walking distance to the river. There is a very nice walking trail by the water. Due to hurricane Sandy, many of the businesses and restaurants were temporarily closed. Also, the subway station had limited hours. The subway station is next door to the hotel which made it very convenient. The ride to NYC is about 20-30 minutes. Due to the limited hours, we had some difficulty, but that may be resolved by now. The hotel was nice, clean, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. There is a fridge in the room and a nice flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nreigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Courtyard in Newport is right at the Newport PATH station from which you can get to both downtown and midtown Manhattan. If you're travelling in or out of Newark airport there are PATH trains that will take you to the Newark railroad station for connections to the airport (don't expect either good or cheap rail transportation to or from any of New York's three major airports -- it doesn't exist). The hotel itself is a fairly typical Courtyard. A mid-week rate on a room with two double beds was $246 plus another $34.54 in state & city taxes. The rate includes both wireless and wired internet service. There's a 'bistro' in the lobby with the standard Courtyard menu of burgers and salads and mac'n'cheese type food. Service through-out the hotel is friendly. It's a short walk to the waterfront esplanade (with stunning views of Manhattan) and the Newport Centre Mall is just across Washington Boulevard. The Bergen-Hudson Light Rail which will take you to other communities on the Jersey side of the Hudson has a stop at the Mall.

Room Tip: If you get high enough, there may be views of Manhattan from some rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dam&gwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $195 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing