We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Unlike most hotels ( with ads that say easy walk, short distance, close to ) this is LITERALLY RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the PATH station with connections to World Trade Center or 33rd St. (mid-town Manhattan ).

Reasonable, Clean, Well-run, Recently modernized, Good Staff and a pretty decent breakfast -- what more could a guy ask for ?

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on Manhattan Blvd side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seamus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here while attending my cousin's wedding. Since she reserved a room block rate, the cost was $144/night, $16/day for valet parking with in and out privileges, and free wi-fi. Considering the location is right across from Manhattan, it is in a great spot to take a quick jaunt over to NYC or up the street to Hoboken - just exit out of the hotel and directly next door is the PATH station.

Valet staff was nice and helpful, even when Husband and I arrived super late. Check in was a breeze, and after a long drive from MI, we were happy to have gotten into our room.

Lobby was very spacious and completely updated with a contemporary flair that had bright orange-yellow table lamps, accented with dark brown floor and walls. Lots of seating area from couches to high top bar tables and comfy chairs. Whomever designed the interior of the lobby really thought out the layout, as it flowed well and didn't feel cramped. A useful information wall flanked the main entrance and opposite of that were two stations that you can print your boarding pass for your flight. Plenty of computers to use for your internet enjoyment and printers. Plus, if you have any last minute cravings, there is the 24 hour market that you can pick up snacks, drinks, essential items, and microwaveable meals.

Onto the rooms. We stayed on the 2nd floor because we arrived late. The hallways were musty and rather warm, a stark contrast to the room itself. Our room, the King with a sofabed was HUGE, quite possibly one of the biggest Marriott King rooms I've been in. There were nice wall pictures that were placed intelligently along the left side of the wall and held up with a dark brown cherry wood shelf; nice touch and haven't seen that in other Courtyard hotels. The bed wasn't really all that comfortable because it wiggled too much and the padding seem to have shown signs of age, but we still slept pretty well. The couch and table seating area was rather small though there was ample space to fill it more. Perhaps, it was designed this way for the individual that wanted to work out in their room?

One crucial thing to note - walls are ridiculously thin. During the three nights we were there, every morning we woke up to the sounds of our neighbors talking very loudly. If you're a light sleeper, make sure you request a corner room.

Water pressure in the bathroom was weak, something that I haven't experienced in many Marriott hotels, so it could have just been our floor. Nice Paul Mitchell toiletries for your use was a nice touch and a functioning iron and iron board.

Overall, we were happy with this place. It wasn't anything out of this world, but for the price and location over Labor Day weekend, it was great. Staff was accommodating, but very orthodox and boring in approach. Some of the women were rather robotic in how they talked. lol They were nice nonetheless.

I'd recommend this place if you want to have easy access to NYC and Hoboken. Plenty of eats around the area within walking distance, so this is their main selling point. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel experience, then I'd definitely pass on it.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you are a light sleeper. Accessible connecting rooms are a recipe for a loud ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here over Labor Day Weekend. Great rate and good location. THe PATH was right next door making it easy to get into NYC. Hotel was neat and clean. Nice comfortable lobby. Computers for guests to use. Free WIFI that worked. Staff was very helpful especially Caroline and Bianca. We had a spacious room with two queen beds. Only thing I didn't like was the small, square, squishy pilllows. Not comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeantomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over a long weekend in order to pursue activities in various parts of NYC. It's proximity right next to the PATH station was very convenient. Also, the mall across the street was handy for picking up a few quick items we'd forgotten.

The room was well appointed, the staff very friendly and helpful, and sound insulation was very nice. The room also had blackout curtains that were highly effective.

We ate breakfast in the lobby cafe 2 mornings. It was typical Courtyard fare, but definitely decent, though it was priced for the convenience.

The hotel pool is fairly small, and certainly would be inadequate for anything more than family entertainment. Nonetheless, our 4yo very much enjoyed taking a swim there one night (and, really, what kid doesn't enjoy a hotel pool?:).

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, either for work or leisure travel. We were able to get an especially decent rate on the weekend, which made this an even better experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falconsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with two older children and had a great experience. Hotel was recently renovated and all rooms clean and immaculate. Hotel staff is super friendly and gave great advice for food or how to get places. Path is next door and Centre Mall is just across the street.
Will definitely stay here again.

Breakfast is not complimentary and it's $16 dollars a day to park w/ in & out privelages. No need for a car b/c you can walk or ride Path/Subway to everything in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the river side, it's quieter so I was told. We had a non-street room and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stay in jersey city for work multiple times each year and always stay at the Westin. It was booked so I tried the Marriott. What a mistake. A/c was noisy and my king bed was horrible. The mattress Was about 30yrs old it seemed. This was the most uncomfortable room I have ever stayed in. Location was great , right across from my office, but I would rather have a better bed and walk further. Sorry Marriott, loved the location but not thrilled with the rooms or comfort.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank VacationBunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the king bed not meeting your expectations, we inspect our rooms daily for deficiencies and we may have missed something deficient with the mattress or box spring in your room. Please give me a call so that I can afford some measure of compensation.
Your feedback is the key to our success and we hope you will give us another change to prove ourselves, I am sure you won't be disappointed.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Since my last review of this property, all of the rooms have been totally remodeled. Prior to the rooms being done, the lobby was totaly remodeled as well. Located steps away (REALLY) from the PATH train to New York City, it does not get any more convenient. The room we stayed in was a king and it was very comfortable. As always, the staff was outstanding and, as usual, the Assistant Manager was highly visible making sure that guests received attention and that their needs were met.

Room Tip: Some rooms have river views so if that is your thing, call the hotel directly to make your reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertram4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: $174 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing