We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evening. Great Food.”

Fire & Oak - Jersey City
Ranked #10 of 601 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Marin
Transit: Light Rail stops just outside our Restaurant at the Newport Mall
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening. Great Food.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Service was fabulous. The 3 course Saturday night Lobster special, make that lobster angry!! Yummy. Cosmos - delightful! Steamed clams - clean and fresh and very good! My spouse thought the ribeye was cooked to perfection. And the mac and cheese appetizer - wow. We had leftovers to take home. Oh, and the dessert - wow, all four of us ate it, and still couldn't finish it. We loved the interior design. Very comfortable. Loved it and will definitely be back!!!

Thanks Rawne!!!! (our fabulous server)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    130
    38
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Burgers”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very good burgers, We usually go there for lunch about once a month and have the Fire and Oak burgers. It is a great burger but get the regular fries the truffle fries are good but they are too greasy and make a mess. The atmosphere is nice and the bar is a nice place to enjoy your burger and a couple of cold ones. The prices are what you would expect for a hotel restaurant with the burgers costing about $10.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirata1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good For A Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Located in the Westin Jersey City, this is actually a very good hotel restaurant, and actually good by any standard. The food is tasty, the service is excellent with a friendly staff and the decor is pleasant. I enjoyed all of my meals here, and recommend it, even if you are not staying at the hotel. With that said, few hotels have a restaurant this good, although that doesn't mean some aren't better somewhere.

My only negative is the management needs to do a better job of controlling, or ejecting, overly noisy bar patrons who are in an ajoining lounge. Good management would warn them once, then kick them out before they interfere with other dinner guest's enjoyment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank traderworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, MA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad for a hotel restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Normally we shun hotel restaurants that are overpriced and underserviced but this restaurant located in the new Westin hotel in Jersy City was a pleasnat surprise both in price and service. The only reason I did not give it a perfect review is that it suffers from noisy restaurant syndrome. I still do not understand why restaurant designers think that noise sells but in this case it detracts from the ambiance and design of the restaurant that clearly sells quiet and cozy.

I had an unusual and excellent Sweet Potato and Corn soup. I normally am not fond of Sweet Potato but in this case the taste was properly muted and allowed the corn to have equal billing. My Penne Pasta and Rotisserie chicken entree priced at $15.95 was plentiful with plenty of pieces of chicken mixed into the Vodka sauce. My wife had a blackened Tilapia sandwich on a role that she enjoyed.

As long as you do not mind noisy restaurants this is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apransky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You dont have to stay at the westin to eat here”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Try the Brooklyn Lagers they are great. The bar staff are great too. Food is well made and fresh. Outside can get a little windy but overall great place to eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire & Oak - Jersey City also viewed

 

Been to Fire & Oak - Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing