We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liberty with a view”

Liberty House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Liberty House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 595 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Take NJ LightRail to Liberty State Park. The Liberty State Park Shuttle picks up at the LightRail stop and drops off right at Liberty House.
new jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Liberty with a view”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Dining at the Liberty House is always enjoyable and a special treat! I recently met my 2 coworkers that I haven't seen in 15 years. Needless to say, we caught up we're we left off all along the beautiful backdrop of the NYC skyline. The lush green in the background adds to the serenity and yes, excitement of being in such an iconic area. The food was served promptly and explained to us by our attentive waiter. The chefs special attention to detail added to the delicious nature of our meal. We never felt rushed! We stayed for close to four hours catching up on our lives. I suggested this restaurant to my friends because I've had my son's 8th grade and high school graduation parties there. I was never disappointed. A special treat if visiting the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greekangelNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    95
    41
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Breath-taking views and excellent food!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited here with a business colleague on a glorious evening early May.Took some finding but what a location.We firstly visited the nearby 9/11 NJ memorial which was a magnificent piece of artistry.
The restaurant was in such a commanding position with uninterupted magnifient views over Manhattan - we chose to eat on the terrace as the weather was beautiful.The service was good and the menu provided a varied and fine selection.Fish was the order of the evening and the food was excellent in qualityj.Really could not recommend this highly enough.Had a wonderful evening.We saw the skyline in sunlight through to its glory when lit-up!Incredible.Definately return when next in the U.S.!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A restaurant with a view!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This has to be number one for the view from the table! Looking across to the Manhattan skyline, you would be hard to find somewhere better! The food is of a very high quality and beautifully presented! If you are in NYC or Jersey it's well worth booking a table!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmora Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great dining experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love coming here for weekend brunch. The food is wonderful and the views are unmatched. Plenty of parking on Liberty State Park, but definitely make reservations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We went on 19 March at about 6pm for a presentation on travel, that was sponcered by Landmark Hospitality. So we decided to stay for dinner. We order a dozen kumamoto oysters. They were about 1/2 to 1 inch in length. So small I felt bad to eat the baby oyster. One was bad so I told the waitress and and she wanterd to replace it.No thanks - Bad taste in my mouth already. The sushi looked great but was not fresh.. The crab cake was greesy. We decided to stop there and just stop at the bar for a drink to kill the bad taste.There we met one of the most obnoxious bartender ever.
She volunteered her name (Tallulah) after we lsaid we would like to speak to a manager. She was just plain horrible.
Management needs Chef Ramsey in there to fix this place . What a shame to waste such a beautiful location to a useless staff. Go to Chart House insted, they have improved and they have a great menu and outstanding staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlytheislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty House Restaurant also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Liberty House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing