We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite steakhouse”

Edward's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Edward's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 595 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: York & Grand Streets
Transit: Grove Street - Path Station Marin Blvd - Light Rail Station Colgate Ferry Terminal - NY Waterways
Description: Edward's Steakhouse is located in an 1870's townhouse. Very cozy bar area and 2 dining rooms upstairs are nicely appointed.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our favorite steakhouse”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yeah, yeah, we go into the city to the big steakhouses, Yes, I've been to Peter Luger's and the others. But I have to say, Edward's NY sirloin is consistently, consistently perfect. They do it right. I love the atmosphere, the old brownstone feel, the beautiful old bar downstairs. Service is always knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. The wine list is good; it changes and they always have a big bold chewy red to recommend to us. There's no reason to go anywhere else for an awesome steak. (yes, I am local). I can't really speak to other menu items, because when we go, we always get the steak, even if we go in with the intention of trying something else.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavega1, Owner at Edward's Steak House, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's nice when customers go out of their way to compliment instead of complain. We will continue to ensure that all your future "Sirloins" meet your expectations !!! Thanks you and look forward to seeing you again soon...

Dan de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not all that..”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

After reading other reviews they must be local. Atmosphere was ok, nothing special. I am in the area couple times a year but the 1st time at dining here. Definitely a neighborhood charm. Wine list was good. Service was slow, as was getting dinner. After all the tables that came in after us got their dinners first, locals, the server couldn't do enough for them. I had to ask why we still hadn't been served. No apologies. Dinner was good but if there is a next time I will bring my "local" friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajpaz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Closest thing to a real NY Steakhouse experience”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

There is no shortage of cavernous, overpriced steakhouses boasting their NY heritage as validation for thier obscene egos and prices. This is the real deal except it is as much about quiet , unassuming, almost speakeasy like elegance as it is about the excellant food and service. From the moment you walk into the ground floor dark and homey bar area filled with all the really important people, you know this place is going to be different than all the posers out there. Food is everything it should be and service to match. I am a big fan of the Steak Au Poirve ar Raouls' in NY's West Village but this place on the opposite bank of the Hudson is comparable and a comparative bargain. If in Jersey City or nearby, Don't miss this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acrist623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavega1, Owner at Edward's Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your meal at Edward's Steakhouse and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of my restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again at Edward's Steakhouse!

Daniel de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Steakhouse in JC and Beyond!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I live 1 block from Edward's and have dinner there about once every 3 months. Great Service, fantastc food, you really can't go wrong.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ciao33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Traditional, reliable”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I'm not particularly fond of the atmosphere at Edwards, but the quality of the food is always very good. The dishes are prepared to perfection and the service is really attentive. The wine list is quite good and overall I always had a great experience every time I ate here.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank roslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edward's Steak House also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Edward's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing