We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food with good ambience”
Review of Raaz

Raaz
Reserve with OpenTable
Raaz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 595 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Garage
Transit: Take the Path Train (JSQ) to Newport. We are right across the station to the right.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good food with good ambience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm giving this place 5 stars. First, the service was exceptional. We did come at 5:30pm so there were only one other table being served. Will have to reassess when we come during busier times. Now on to the food. We ordered naan, a dhaba (curry) chicken dish and a saag chicken dish. The naan and the curry dish was delicious. All in all, I would comeback again and try their other plates.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They deliver!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Visiting NY/NJ and staying across the street from Raaz. They'll deliver everything on their menu, with hot food hot and cold drinks cold. Medium spice was pretty mild. Sesame Honey Chicken is a surprisingly good Indo-Chinese dish that compliments the more traditional Indian dishes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjroessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food but pricey”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very noisy place. The food is average. The staff can certainly work on their courtesy levels. There is a disparity between the price charged and the service levels. The restaurant also adds an optional gratuity to the bill and is normally quite difficult to spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NatrajKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Indian Food...”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Starter - Dahi Papadi Chaat - ok ok - spicy though we asked for medium spice.
Kadak roti and panner butter masala - good show!
Bindi subzi - tasted like indo chinese - not in the wrong way - it really tasted good with the roti and the jeera pulao!
Will definitely visit again - for real indo-chinese this time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Srini969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great sit down, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my favorite sit down indian restaurant. The platters are wonderful with a bit of everything. I haven't found better Pompadom anywhere. They'll make combinations not on the menu without any problems. Helpful kind staff. Errors are readily fixed (one the sauce on my chicken was wrong) without any issues.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raaz also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Raaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing