We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights beginning August 1, 2014 with my husband and two sons. We were greeted by the valet staff who immediately took charge of our vehicle and luggage. Check in was quick and easy. Within minutes of our arrival we were greeted with a welcome tray of cake pops (which the kids loved), a dessert glass of mixed nuts, bottles of water and a bottle of Cabernet. Our room was a standard room with two double beds. It was spacious and clean. We had a fridge which made it nice for keeping waters and sodas cold. The bathroom was clean with a rain shower. My only complaint regarding the rooms was the lack of vanity lighting in the bathroom. The lightening was not conducive to applying make-up...this may sound trivial but it is something that is important to me. The pool was a lap pool but a decent size and my younger son thoroughly enjoyed himself. The pool was clean and there were always fresh towels available. There was a whirlpool tub as well. I was not impressed with the cleanliness of the whirlpool and in fact, my husband said it was rather dirty when he finally witnessed someone cleaning it. We did not eat any meals in the hotel. The restaurant looked attractive but I cannot say that I saw many people eating there. There is also a bar that never had more than a few people at it. There is a mall adjacent to the hotel and well within walking distance that we went to for shopping and for dining as we were traveling with youngsters. It is also within walking distance to the PATH which provides great service, traffic free into NYC. We were impressed with the attentiveness of the staff and overall had a pleasant stay. We would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms above the 6th floor (we were on the 15) require you to insert your key in the elevator in orde...
See more room tips
Green Features: Think it is a great idea! If you choose to NOT have your linens changed while you are there, you either receive rewards points or a 5.00 off voucher for meals in the restaurant. You simply hang the placard on your door handle before 2:00 a.m.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieNTorrinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    451
    94
    40
    24
See reviews for
377
311
82
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights July 27-30/2014. We arrived early and could not check in early as they were sold out the night before however we were able to park and go about our travels. The hotel is a very short walk to the Path train that will take you into 33rd street (Times square) or into the world trade centre (lower Manhattan). The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a grocery store just a couple blocks away and a great path/trail along the water front. The rooms were spacious and clean but only have double beds instead of queen. This is something the hotel should change as the rooms are large enough to accommodate. The cost of a coffee in the morning was crazy $2.80 at a grab and oh station in the lobby. We never ate any meals at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The pool is a large lap pool, only 4 feet deep, but very warm water. The hotel is also adjacent to a large mall where there is no tax on clothing or shoes! The biggest downfall for the hotel is there is no free wifi in the rooms. For a luxury hotel and the price of the rooms this should be included. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Michelle B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property. It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the local area and the hotel amenities. Please know that I have forwarded your comments about the free Wi-Fi to our management staff so that they may review it further.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Westin is a wonderful place to stay, the quality is outstanding as are the staff. The room we had was a king with an extra bed for our son. The facilities were high standard. The hotel had a gym and pool which we didn't use but it looked good even though the pool did look small. Its based in Jersey and has great transport links to Manhattan, We were on room only but the hotel had restaurant which looked good. There were many restaurants and cafes around. Just behind there was a shopping mall with a great variety of shops. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11lizs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2011. We couldn't fly out as originally planned due to snow storms on the east coast so could only arrive two days late.

So my firsts direct dealing with the hotel was to see if I could get a refund on the two days we couldn't get there. And I was very happy when I got my full refund with no hassle.

So we eventually arrived after a late long drive from Washington. The reception was pone through the night so was able to book in at 1:30am!

Absolutely shattered we were taken up to our room which we were more than satisfied with, and an enormous bed, which I believe May have been a Caesar! Being 6'3" tall, this was a very welcome sight! All three nights we slept very comfortably!

We only had a room so cannot comment on food. However we did venture into the restaurant one night and had a fantastic steak!

The staff were all very good. Very welcoming and a helpful.

The hotel is well positioned for New York in my opinion. To avoid paying sky high prices we decided to stay here and it worked for us. We didn't have everything on our doorstep but that was no issue. The metro was only over the road and we were into the city very quickly. And that runs pretty late too.

Also, around the back of the hotel is a good shopping mall. As we found out, Jersey taxes are lower so it was possible to pick up some bargains there.

We would certainly return again. Loved our time in New York and this hotel certainly made our stay special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Littlej0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here in June, 2014. The room was expensive and not that grand. Parking is 28-33 per night. The beds we're comfortable. The room wasn't very clean. The phone and toilet seat we're broken. Not as impressive as I would've anticipated. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with the view of the Manhattan skyline. It was beautiful, but not really worth what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assitant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Jeannine D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service. Please feel free to email me at bhumika.bharucha@westin.com so that we I can look into your stay further.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience the service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is my second stay at Westin Jersey City. Another excellent experience. Large, comfortable room. Check in was a breeze. Elected to self park in garage behind hotel. Cost $23 as opposed to Valet which is $32 but allows in-out privilege. Room was large, quiet and comfortable. Excellent rainfall showerhead and large fluffy towels. If you don't mind the fact that you will need to take a train into NYC, it is an excellent option.

Room Tip: A room with view across the Hudson River to NYC is nice but will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalsaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello SalsaJohn,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel itself is very clean and organized with good service. At the same time you have an amazing view to lower Manhattan. Higher the better for views of Manhattan. Don't expect nice skyline view from every room. Will have to pay extra for that but it is worth it for special occasions. Staff was courteous and professional. They don't have dedicated free parking for guests so be ready to pay for parking which is $20+/day for Valet which will afford you anytime in/out privilege.

Room Tip: Ask for the Newport Premium with views of Manhattan -- Will have to pay for the view but definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello afroze,

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property and you were pleased with the service. It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback from such valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 1 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing