We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay in Jersey City with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Jersey City with amazing views”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a great experience at this Westin Hotel. One of our favorites. The staff was so willing to please and Ben the Concierge was extremely helpful. We had a suite with a girls overnight and a 21st Birthday and he arranged to make it very special for us. The hotel is so clean and comfortable with great views. Location is fantastic. Walking distance to path train to NYC and lots of restaurants around the area to walk to. Parking is a little pricey but the stay was worth it.

Room Tip: The one bedroom corner suite gave a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah82060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Greetings Sarah82060,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our Front Desk Managers.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    483
    101
    46
    25
See reviews for
413
328
84
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Amazing service from the valet to the bellhop to the front desk. Stayed in the Premium room and the soaking tub was amazing. The staff was on top of everything. They answered the phone immediately and brought whatever I needed up to the room promptly. I've stayed at Hiltons, Hyatts, Ritz-Carltons, Marriotts, New York Plaza, etc....This was probably the best service I have ever received from a staff. They made My girlfriend and I feel like royalty. Superior service, beautiful rooms, and great view of lower Manhattan.

Only negative thing was the service at the restaurant (fire & oak) was really slow....but the food was great!

I want to thank the Staff for doing a tremendous job. I can't wait to stay there again next month!

- George

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

But I thought it was great. Came here for business, without preset expectations. The hotel accommodations were pleasant and clean. Staff professional. The bedding was firm. We had a conference room that worked well for our group. My shower and safe did not work when I first got into room. They fixed the shower immediately, but I had to be present for them to fix the safe (by their policy).

Exercise room was clean with plenty of exercise equipment. Food that was provided as part of our meeting was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dough_47N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings davuda,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. As we strive to provide excellent service to our guest, it is wonderful receiving such positive comments from our valued guests.

I apologize for the inconvenience of not having your safe fixed while you were here. As a security protocol, we do ask that the guest is present when security resets the safe in the room. I hope this information for informative in regards to your comments.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I took three of my young adult children for a weekend stay at the Westin in Jersey City. I was fortunate enough to get the Westin after booking from a discount site. We had a wonderful stay. The service from start to finish was superior. Knowing now what the room accommodations and hotel staff were like, I would have gladly paid full price for this hotel. The valet service was excellent. The room service was excellent. The desk service was excellent. And everything was spotless. Will visit again. Easy subway trip into the city as well. I decided to upgrade to a suite on a high floor after one night in a lovely double bed room. I was not disappointed. The view was terrific.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Greetings Ruth B,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first experience with us. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our front desk, valet and housekeeping staff.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

With this being a tough winter here in Jersey city my company has put me up 3 nights at the Westin over the last few weeks. Receptionists are always friendly, lobby is nice. Building is sorta dated on the outside; but inside where it counts everything is modern and in good shape. The rooms are large, well appointed & updated. I'm sure most people love the plush beds & pillows ( I prefer firm) its also nice and quiet which is important to me. Fire & Oak restaurant on premises is a hit. Rated 27 out of 486 in Jersey city. All in all very good hotel two thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Greetings Stini,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests. I will be sure to share your comments with our front desk staff so that they may receive the recognition they deserve.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I really was not expecting much. This hotel did exceed any expectations I had. I could not have been happier. A lot of nice little touches made our stay even better.
We stayed here for our wedding. Although our wedding was not at the Westin, they went above and beyond to make this day amazing!! The staff here really worked hard to make our day flawless and fabulous! I was thrilled with the staff, I literally felt like a princess!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Greetings LR,

I am so delighted to hear we met your expectations and more during you wedding. We pride ourselves on our guest service and value feedback from our customers.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Jersey City has come a long way. This used to be a gritty industrial waterfront, but has been transformed into Wall Street West. This is a nice hotel in an excellent location. It's about 2 blocks from the PATH and the mall. The room was a decent size and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is what you'd expect. On the 7th floor I could hear noise from a party well past midnight - not sure if it was inside the hotel or not, and the staff didn't seem sympathetic when I mentioned it at checkout. Other than that, a comfy and pain-free stay on what turned out to be an otherwise chaotic weekend due to the "polar vortex."

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing