We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the Big Apple with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit the Big Apple with a view”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had the pleasant experience of staying at the Westin in Newport while visiting family. Instead of staying in Manhattan tried NJ this time and was a very cost-effective and pleasant experience. Our room overlooked the Hudson River and had a beautiful view of the Freedom Tower. Easy access by PATH over to Manhattan. So we were able to easily access the City without the exorbitant cost. Also, we staying on points which were a fraction of the number of points needed by night as compared to the Westin in the City. Room service was on time and pleasant and staff were top rate. Even the NJ taxi drivers to and from Newark Penn Station were friendly! This is where we will be staying in the future when we visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Freedom Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    493
    104
    46
    26
See reviews for
419
333
85
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a university 80th Gala reunion with Dinner and room stay outlandish hotel! It was such a memorable time with all amenities at hand.Medical necessities are at hand if any personal emergencies arise! The hotel staff are there to please. Our room had a cathedral ceiling effect
which made the room so much more spacious and roomy! Spa products are given in a basket for all guests with cost of room. There is a classiness to the whole hotel and it gives you a feel of an old art deco movie from the 1940 era! What a Dream! A Definite Westin to enjoy the New York Skyline and a boat marina close by! You can rent a boat to sail! A nearby mall for shopping is just down the same street..Macy's and JCPenny among the many! A great choice
of restaurants within the the hotel is available which are there also for room service! A full gym
is also located within the premises! Enjoy a quiet stay that are,within its internal stylish sophisticated walls but a lively time in this modernized port city of New Jersey right across a short ferry trip to old New York! Have a Grand time!
'

Room Tip: A view of NYC on a higher floor1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Anna C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our signaure Heavenly Spa amenities we provide for our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Regards,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Splurged on the upgraded Newport room and couldn't be happier. The view was spectacular, the entire NYC skyline was on display and was just magnificent at night. Overall, the service was top-notch and the amenities were high quality. It was great to stretch out in the standalone tub and relax to the NYC skyline at night, an unforgettable experience, even for just the one night. Staff was friendly and attentive and the hotel was conveniently located nearby NYC, but not at NYC prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoe416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear shoe416,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in one of our Premium Newport King rooms. The Premium rooms' skyline view and spacious bathroom featuring the standalone soaking tub are a wonderful escape at the end of a busy day of business meetings or sightseeing for guests who reserve them.

We hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy another relaxing stay soon.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff from check in to check out are always friendly and helpful. The location is perfect just outside of the Holland tunnel, you can drive into NYC or take the path which is a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Nick K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We take pride in our property and customer service and are glad to see that our efforts are worth it.

Thank you for your loyalty as a guest and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are 2 things going for this hotel: location and great concierge staff.

It is a 4 minute walk to a low-volume PATH station (Newport). Nothing much in the vicinity. But there is a Shop Rite supermarket 500 meters behind the hotel.

Concierge staff were very helpful and friendly.

Downside was poor, terrible front desk service. We checked in at 3 pm and front desk said there was no room available, although we had reservations. We came back an hour later, and still no room! We asked what time the room would be available and was given a shrug.

Expected better service and manners for the rates they charge.
Will not go back. For the same price, you can rent an apartment in the area with 2 baths, washing machine, kitchen, 3 bedrooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marino-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Marino-7,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. On behalf of the General Manager, I apologize for the disappointing experience you had upon arrival. Please know that what you experienced was not typical of our high standard of customer service. I have forwarded your comments to our Management team to review so that we may avoid similar occurances in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further comments or concerns at leslie.thompson@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the UFC fight that was in town recently. Checked in at 11am and the room was already ready for us. Super clean, nice bathroom, fridge, and iPod dock.

We really enjoyed the hotel bar and the restaurant, Fire & Oak. Outstanding food their. And they had Chimay on tap, which is rare. Try the banana foster French toast. WOW.

Every staff member we came in contact with wa pleasant and helpful. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked this property, sight unseen, for a business meeting based on its proximity to NY. What a gem! Very accommodating staff, close to train, ten minutes from Newark airport and town cars readily available at a cost less than cab service! Rooms were a nice size and the hotel had a safe feel since room keys are required in the elevators. Lots of activity in the lobby bar and a welcoming feel by the front desk staff. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,765 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing