We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,location, near NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,location, near NYC!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice staff, very clean modern rooms. I will choose this hotel again when my inlaws return. My father inlaw ordered sushi from room service and loved it. Very close to NYC, Newport mall is steps away and the trains aswell. When traveling use Newark airport 25 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYChotellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    495
    104
    46
    26
See reviews for
420
333
86
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Westin is well located, 2 Mins walk from the path-train which brings you in a few minutes to Manhattan.

The place is well appointed and in good shape - room 1801 has the disadvantage that the Aircondition blows directly into your bed.

A few recommendations

- Even if the Aircondition is switched off it starts automatically sometimes - the only way to stop it entirely is to open the big service door under the exhauster and switch off the master switch
- Breakfast in the Restaurant is very good but expensive
- Internet for 9,95+Tax works for 4 devices
- Don't ask for the Bus or public Transport - the Concierge is not interested to help you with these matter...

Windows can open!

Room Tip: Not room 1801
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were all (8 girlfriends) very pleased with this hotel. The staff is very accomendating and nice. The restaurant was wonderful and delicious! The hotel arranged an SUV for drop and pick up service to Druken Monkey in Staten Island. The area around the hotel is beautiful, across the street is a yahat club, down the pier is a bar/restaurant Michael Anthony's which has spectacular views good food with a fun and friendly atomsphere. There is also the waterfront walk which is a great place to caputure pictures of the skyline. One block from the hotel is a mall and the path train which costs $2.25 for a 9 min. ride into Manhattan. Plenty of restaurants and also a grocery shop down a few blocks. I loved the calmness of the area after a busy day in NYC. The only bad thing about the hotel was the hot tub was cold and unenjoyable. A NICE PLUS for us ladies HUGE MEN EVERYWHERE! Lol, That was because we stayed during football season, some of the teams stay here when they play against the Giants and Jets. It was a nice way to enjoy my Starbucks (friendly Starbucks 2blcks away) and watch the team load the buses in front of the hotel on Sunday morning. After the NFL players left we walked two blocks down to the Jersey City firehouse and took a tour which I recommend. Then it was back to Michael Anthonys to watch the football game and take in the beautiful view with a drink one last time before our depature.This trip was one that has topped my list of places I've traveled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The well known quality of the Westin, combined with the perfect location for visiting Manhattan..., that's the best description for this hotel.
Rooms a spacious, with all the amenities which you are used to, when staying in this 5 star hotel: Coffee maker, with choiches of several blends, in-room safe, well equipted and stocked bathroom and of course..., the signature Heavenly Bed. But for most people who are travelling to New York, the location of the hotel is most important. In this case, The Westin Jersey City won't let you down. Across the street from the hotel (a mere 3 minute walk) is the PATH train, which will bring you to the World Trade Center in lower Manhattan in about 8 minutes. Want to go to midtown Manhattan, it won't take more than 20 minutes by PATH train. So if you want to visit NYC (either for business or pleasure), don't want to pay the bug bucks, but wants to be close to the city "that never sleeps", just visit the Westin Jersey City, Newport, and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnitedTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great Westin, great staff, clean and friendly environment. I stay here often and have never had a bad moment.If you're lucky during football season, some of the teams stay here when they play against the Giants and Jets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fonguy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This Westin won the Four Star Service Award for 2012, and I can see why. From Jose the valet to Debbie at check-in, and Ben and Stephen the concierges: extremely helpful and knowledgeable and friendly. Good recommendations all the way around. Very clean, newish faciility. The rooms are large and well appointed. Huge bathroom. Nice views of NYC skyline. There were some issues. For example, one day the hot tub wasn't working and the next day it had scum. The locker room shower didn't drain well, and wasn't fixed. The restaurant is for my taste too expensive for breakfast. But I would still come back because of the value (way less expensive than the city), the location (convenient to PATH, minutes from the city), and most of all, because of the staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a business meeting and had a very good experience I wanted to share.

The hotel is probably located around an hour drive from JFK (depending on the hour - peak time could take 1.5 hours), but not too far away from Manhattan (although if you want to travel to spend time in Manhattan I would recommend staying in a hotel closer to that part since it does take a few minutes in traffic).

Upon arrival hotel staff was really helpful and speedy with the registration. Room was very nicely kept, clean, smelled fresh, and furniture was updated. Bed was very comfortable - as per Westin's standard. Noise filtering is decent --although you can clearly hear doors locks opening and closing but you cannot hear guests in the adjoining rooms. Internet connection worked perfectly - which is important for a business traveler.

The hotel restaurant is very nice --you will find that there are not many quality restaurants in the surrounding area but this restaurant has enough variety to have dinner there a few days in a row.

There is also a nearby shopping center with a food court and several popular stores, walking distance just behind the hotel. However, be advise you must be careful with your valuables, since a colleague from work got his wallet stolen while he was distracted on the phone at the Macy's store. The shopping center also has a PATH train station that connects to Newark,and other NYC locations.

As an additional comment, the hotel's service is consistent both at the time you're there as well if you have to call back with any claim. Upon reviewing my hotel folio once again I noticed that I had a charge I didn't make and called the hotel, who transferred me to Neil in accounting. I would like to commend his work: he picked up the phone from my very first call, located the folio and charge right away and asked if he could return my call shorly so he could look into the receipt. Within an hour he called back and adjusted my bill. I must say this surpassed my expectations since I've stayed in other hotels where a similar situation has happened and I've had to leave several messages to the accounting department and wait several weeks to get expense fixed. My special thanks to Neil for being so attentive and working with my situation promptly.

In summary, I would gladly return to this hotel and would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing