We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau
1 review
“Great hotel, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for 2 nights and it was great. The staff was nice, no complaint. Great restaurant, breakfast was simple but good. Great room, clean, OK view, super comfy king size bed, plenty of space and beautiful bathroom.

Wi-Fi is available in the lobby which is pretty cool. If you want it in your room you have to pay an extra though.

Path trains are AWESOME. It's a five minute walk to the station and you're in downtown NYC in less than 15 min. (And its only 2$!)

Have a great and safe trip! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHAbou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    447
    89
    40
    24
See reviews for
373
308
81
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff rooms always clean and tidy. Close proximity to path train to NYC do easy to get in. I have stayed here 30 plus times and never have had anything to complain about. Decent food at the steakhouse as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpearson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas on our honeymoon from London. We chose the hotel on the strength of the good reviews and because we wanted to stay out of the city centre, and we didn't regret it. We paid to upgrade to a King Room on the 22nd floor, which had a stunning bathroom, a really comfy, huge bed and amazing views of NYC. The only criticism is that the heating unit was noisy and we couldn't seem to turn it off overnight, so it woke us up a few times. The staff were all excellent and room service was great and not too expensive. The pool, jacuzzi and gym were of a very high standard. We did not use the bar/restaurant areas during our stay but they looked nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up the building with a view of the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 5 hotels over 2 weeks in 5 cities, I find Westin my least favourite.

The hotel is great in every sense except service. Professional, definitely. But it doesn't come with a smile and honestly, it came across as if they are just doing their job.

The only time we got a smile was when the lady at the front door to the hotel was surprised when we tipped her for holding the door for us as we lugged our luggage out of the hotel to the limousine they called for us to take us to NYC.

The lack of warmth in service kinda marred our holidaying experience, making it even colder than it already is in NY.

Just for added info - the limousine to walmart cost $30/one way and $58(+toll) to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear tinkilily,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

On behalf of the General Manager, I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of the exceptionally high standard of service that we take such pride in and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Please be assured that I have forwarded your comments to our Managment Staff to ensure that they review them with their teams and that other guests do not have the same experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to redeem your faith in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from staying 6 nights over xmas in this hotel with 2 children aged 8 and 4. We had a terrific time and the hotel superseded our expectations, which were high due to the previous feedback on trip advisor. The location is very good, the room was large, clean, very comfortable with a great view. The service was exceptional, the food in the fire and smoke restaurant was also very good and reasonably priced. All in all an absolutely brilliant stay and I would also like to Dan on the concierge desk (very helpful), Rowetta on check in, the girls who kept the room clean ( good job) and the door man who arranged our return transport.
My only gripe, is that wifi in the rooms is expensive although it is offered free in the lobby?
We would revisit (no hesitation), we would absolutely recommend and it is easily the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe rooms for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilko23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plant city,fl
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was cheaper than those highly exorbitant priced hotels with crappy rooms in NYC.This one was a nice hotel with enough room space. There is no specific restaurants around. Right next to it is a mall with Macy's and in a driving distance is Target. Path station is like 3 mins walking distance from the hotel, if you plan to take a cheaper option($2.25 each way) to get to NYC, if not then you need to pay $50 each way by cab. With the deal I received, I thought it was worth it considering we were visiting NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handofgod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in NJ, and also good if your intention is to go to Manhattan, be it by car or using the subway. The rooms are clean and big enough, with all that you expect from a good hotel. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant served amazing food so I would recommend it if you don't mind the price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 12 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 12 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 12 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 1 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 12 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing