We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

we took this hotel for4 nights in new york.
we were hesitataing alot to book this hotel or in NYC.
we are totally satisfied with our stay. the neighbouirhood is fantastic and reminds Ny rather than new jersey.
the hotel is very clean, fine and rooms are very spacious and comfortable. bur the airco is noisy.
the PATH is very convenient to NYC.
we didnt like the cfact that you need to pay for WIFI.

Room Tip: take taxi to airport from the PATH station nearby and not from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    471
    99
    46
    25
See reviews for
409
326
83
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Westin as part of a Wedding Bloc. I was impressed by the quality of the hotel and the location was great. Not much of a view to be had from the rooms, but stepping outside provides gorgeous views of Manhattan. Liked the easy accessibility to downtown Hoboken, which was quite trendy, and the easy access to NYC via the PATH trains.

The room was actually quite comfortable and spacious. I really the quality of the mattress and the K cup maker in the room. I'm not sure when/if I'll ever be in Jersey City again, but if I was to return, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lets get one thing clear. This hotel is in Jersey City...and as far as this reviewer is concerned, that makes no difference whatsoever to the tourist looking to experience NYC for the first time, or the tenth time!
LOCATION - With views across the Hudson to the New York City skyline, It rates for me as an A+ location. It is also situated across the road from the PATH rail service, linking you directly to the Big Apple in less than 10 minutes - Or, if you prefer, take the NJ Transit tram, located just up the street from the Westin, to Exchange Place and get the ferry across to the World Trade Centre location, which is home to the 9/11 memorial. At $6 for the ferry, it's a great way to reach the city.
When I think of New York, I always think of the illuminated skyline and at the Westin, you get a cracking view (even some of the normal rooms have views towards the city), both morning and night.
PRICE - Compared to NYC, it's a million miles better value for money!!! We stayed two nights for £175 ($280) per night - We had a luxurious stay, fantastic facilities and courteous, friendly staff - Exactly the type of service you would expect from a quality establishment. Spend that kind of money in the heart of the city and you'll be lucky to get clean sheets!!!! ;)
HOTEL - Westin is part of the Starwood group of hotels, which includes Sheraton amoung others and is synonymous with quality. The Westin Jersey City is no different. The bed size in our hotel room was California King - i.e. really big.
The standard rooms are generously sized, perfect for a couple looking for sprawl and comfort.
The pillows and duvets are fantastic quality and the matresses, at least in my opinion, are the perfect combination of firm and soft.
The hotel staff were all super friendly, as you would expect in the USA (best customer service in the world hands down) - They knew the various crafts, from food service and menus to cocktails, beers and facilities. It's always nice to know you are in capable hands.

Overall, the hotel is spot on. You get luxurious quality at a fraction of the price, a stones throw from the city with the best views in town. And only 20 mins from Newark Liberty Airport.

What better way to start, enjoy and finish your stay in New York city.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a room with a view - When you get to check-in, ask nicely if there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian8Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely and comfortable rooms - I was upgraded to a suite on the 12th floor which was amazing. The views over the Hudson to Manhattan are fantastic from some rooms (but you get no views from others). The bar was lovely, with a nice atmosphere and great service. The restaurant had a very good menu and a really nice ambience (maybe too noisy for some but I loved it) Overall, great hotel, couldn't fault it & was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilsbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of our tour of Canada and USA east coast cities.
We wanted a good hotel at sensible price for New York city. We therefore asked the N.Y. discussion forum on TA. They advised the Westin on Newport and they were spot on.
It is just across the water from Manhattan so you get great skyline views. It is just 2 stops on the subway from W.T.C. The subway is just a very short walk away. And,the subway is in a nice landscaped area. The road between the hotel and the subway was very quiet and there is a nice large marina. There are also a number of good restaurants near the hotel
The only failure we had was on Saturday night a local bar/restaurant in the side street next to the hotel was playing loud music until 2.15 am. When I complained they apologised and the hotel called
the police
I would have no problelm comprehending this hotel to any one

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAM1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location and infinitely better value than staying in Manhattan. The rooms are spacious, clean and well presented, although the service at breakfast should have been better. The Starwoods reward card got me into a 21st floor room which had a great view towards the island.

One of the additional up sides... some autographs and pictures with the SF 49ers who happened to be staying there overnight. A great bunch of guys who were happy to stick it to the NY (Jets) sack exchange 34-0!

I certainly will be back with the wife and kids. I feel that this is a hotel chain going places... and not resting on the laurels of past performance (as I've experienced in other international hotels).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelCritic558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location. Just a short walk to the PATH station and a short ride to Manhattan. Stayed here with my mom and sisters for a girls weekend. It was a nice break from the busy streets of Times Square. Great beds...slept like a rock. We loved the coffee in the room, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing