We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you want the worst motel ever...come here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Jersey City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Jersey City
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you want the worst motel ever...come here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't even think about coming here. Save yourself the bug bites, the disgust, the feeling of terror, spend a few more bucks for a better place. We were able to check in easily, and didn't get too much attitude from the manager. We stayed in room 21. The door locks only from the outside which was weird and the one lock that was inside was broken. The tv had no remote, and some of the buttons were broken. We got quite a .."surprise"when we turned on the tv too. The room was dirty,we found pieces of hair all around, there was blood or a blood like substance on the bathroom wall, the lamp was broken, we got two cups and no coffee maker. The worst part was a HUGE cobweb on the wall and ceiling in the bathroom. We called the manager and he did absolutely nothing to help and even had the nerve to give us an attitude. We gave the maid a 50¢ tip and an instruction booklet on how to properly clean a room. NEVER coming back here !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank George1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    3
    26
See reviews for
12
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Horrible stayec he for thx giving week to visit family in northbergen this has to be the,worst hotel out there flys dirty the room was,slanted tv was,fuzzy bathroom was fikithy they really need to get a health inspector down there to check out these room never,again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmuller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Sulphur, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Filthy!!!!!!!! half used bottle of shampoo, dirty written on walls, hairball on bed! Broken room phone with food smashed under phone on dresser!! no smoke detector, broken door lock! Had to leave due to filth, and was rufused a refund!!!!

Room Tip: HOJO in Clifton is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place was the worst motel I stayed in. The rooms were dirty, not enough pillows, rooms smell nasty. The sheets, tv, mirrors, and refrig was dirty beyond words. There was flies everywhere. I complain with the front desk manager and they refused to help us and spoke with another manager in the morning and complain and he did not do anything either. Both kept telling me to called the 866# I reserved my motel with and complain. I called the number and they also refused to help me with this matter because the rooms were non refundable. On top of that the tv channels suck and they were one channel of porn (there were kids in both rooms under the age of 15 years old). This is the worst motel and I dont recommend this to no one.

Room Tip: sorry but I am from Delaware and I dont know nothing about New Jersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PETERSBURG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place was a bad choice in a bad area. The room lacked decent air conditioning and had but two threadbare towels, a tv without remote and no hand cloths,glasses, coffee, or any other amenity. I had paid for a room with two queen beds but was given one. W ith only one. The clerk would have argued the matter had I not had the printed confirmation to prove my point. The area is drab, noisy and dangerous. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitor912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I were visiting New York unaware that President Obama was visiting on the same day. we could not book a room, after we were guided to the Starlite Motel Jersey City NJ This was the worst experience of my life. not only was the room dirty and dingy with bugs and blood on the walls, the bathroom was broken. we asked for our money back, management refused and changed our room next to room # 40 a very tall man who said he has lived their for the past 3 yrs. asked us if we were interested in selling drugs for him. Again we complained to the manager and he said "this is NJ next time stay at the Plaza NY". all night people of all sorts come and go from Room #40. if you value your life! don't stay here. it is a nightmare, Creepy,

Room Tip: stay away !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maryd571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

So my best friend, boyfriend and I were all going down to NYC for pride weekend and forgot to book a hotel months in advance. On top of that we were on a limited budget and so of course scoured the internet for cheap deals on rooms.

Well of course anything directly in the city was easily going to cost us over $500 for the 3 nights, so we set our search a little further.... and thats when we found this gem. The price was beyond right, so again we scoured the internet for reviews. We weren't exactly shocked by what we found, I mean c'mon jersey city... and for these cheap rates. But we had little choice but to book... so we did. And the real fun happened when we got there.

So we waited about half an hour in the office while the foreign gentleman finished his phone call in a foreign language so we could be checked in. We received our keys and braced ourselves for what would be our home for the next few nights. What did we find? A dingy, dark, and smelly room that was swampy and sauna like despite the ac running on full blast. We were pretty sure the smell was coming from a dead hooker under the bed (which we didn't check until we were leaving and confirmed there was no hooker after all) There were blood splatters on the wall, reminisces of caution tape in the bathroom and of course no toilet paper. So i marched over to the office and apparently inconvenienced the foreign gentleman once again to get some TP. When i came back to further inspect the room, there was no coffee pot despite having coffee cups and coffee stains on the wall, only 2 towels for the 3 of us (which we left in a neat pile after use hoping to receive clean ones the next day but found them still there ready for a second use when we got back the next day) and of course stains all over the place. The bed smelled like mildew, although we thoroughly inspected for bugs of all types and didn't find any. The tv looked pretty decent so we turned it on to check it out and discovered that channel 3 was on a non stop loop of porn. And not just any porn, but very degrading porn. One actress in one particular scene seemed to be gagging lady gaga's name over and over, and in another scene a woman who was supposed to be a wall (looked like performance art) was calling another woman "a little butt sl*t" as she was forced to do all sorts of the things to two male actors. And then the final straw is the little envelope that says to tip the maid. Well after having to use the same 2 towels all weekend for the 3 of us, and the lack of other services, i was convinced there was no maid. I felt like it was a scam envelope, and if i ignored it that they would assume i didn't see it. Oh but i did see it, and i wanted them to know. So we left them 4 cents ($0.04) and some handouts we got from pride (a flyer advertising a club and a tanning place)

This motel had no redeeming factors. It was as nasty as all the reviews make it out to be, and honestly im not sure why this place hasn't been shut down. But... and there is a huge but... this is exactly why we are booking it again this year. YES you heard me right... i fully recommend this disgusting place to anyone looking for a place to stay that has character and seedy, dirty charm. Dont expect class, or service. Expect a cheap place to stay that will make you feel itchy, and make videos to show all your friends back home the awful place you stayed at. hahah

Room Tip: They're all equally terrible im sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JXander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
2.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Jersey City

Property: Travelodge Jersey City
Address: 881 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307-3938 (Formerly Starlite Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Jersey City 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 4 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Superbowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing